Far Cry 2 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1697 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Caught between two rival factions in war-torn Africa, you are sent to take out "The Jackal," a mysterious character who has rekindled the conflict between the warlords, jeopardizing thousands of lives. In order to fulfil your mission you will have to play the factions against each other,Caught between two rival factions in war-torn Africa, you are sent to take out "The Jackal," a mysterious character who has rekindled the conflict between the warlords, jeopardizing thousands of lives. In order to fulfil your mission you will have to play the factions against each other, identify and exploit your their weaknesses, and neutralize their superior numbers and firepower with surprise, subversion, cunning and, of course, brute force. Real-time story telling, systemic auto-healing, minimal in-game interface are just few of the features that make you feel the tension of being alone against barbarous warlords that threaten thousands of innocent lives. Choose from a wide range of weapons to make your way to your primary target. Meet the fight head-on with your machine-gun, go berserk with your machete or make stealth kills as a Sniper. If you feel that the atmosphere is not warm enough, light up your flamethrower and let your enemies and everything around them feel the heat. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. PC PowerPlay
    100
    The unique setting, brilliant AI and palpable atmosphere, make Far Cry 2 a quintessential PC gaming experience. [Dec 2008, p.63]
  2. After playing Far Cry 2, I'm simply unable to go back to straight and simple first-person shooters. This game has executed my expectations. [Nov 2008, p.62]
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    90
    Unusual in that a first person shooter shows you the fictitious African country where real crimes against the civil population are fought in the name of profit. An intense experience in all aspects. [Nov 2008]
  4. It has its shortcomings, but it still makes its mark as one of the best releases of the year, at this point. The graphics and setting alone make it a real stand-out, and I like the fact that Ubisoft tried to go after something a bit more unique in a genre that is known for rampant replication.
  5. Edge Magazine
    80
    Combat is thrilling – each weapon packing a solid, vicious blast; movement suggesting heft and momentum. [Dec 2008, p.80]
  6. Visually impressive and ambitious but ultimately falls short of the hype. Attempts very hard to immerse you in a realistic sandbox world but fails to be anything but a simple, repetitive shooter. Driving across beautiful but lifeless world while fighting infinitely respawning enemies to complete unimaginative missions for people who all try to kill you can be summed up as beautiful but disappointing.
  7. In 2007, Ubisoft sent to Africa a whole team of Far Cry 2 developers so they could record sounds, take pictures and soak in the spirit of "Heart of Darkness". Judging by the promotional videos, the guys had the time of their lives. It's a pity that the game fails to convey even the tiniest fracture of their emotions.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    An island for me to do lots of funny or crazy things thats one of what i need.Although it may takes a feel of bore as time passes by.Seek forAn island for me to do lots of funny or crazy things thats one of what i need.Although it may takes a feel of bore as time passes by.Seek for diamonds or just sit into a car to drive casualy,complete quests of two opposite forces-a good game. Expand
  2. DanB.
    Oct 26, 2008
    9
    Yes, some of it is repetitive. But it is huge, and the milaria isnt that bad. It more forces you to do a underground mission once in a while Yes, some of it is repetitive. But it is huge, and the milaria isnt that bad. It more forces you to do a underground mission once in a while to get more pills. The map is huge and I was surprised as to how well the over all game played. I expected many bugs and even some fatal ones that once encountered Id be pissed about. I wasn't hit by the marketing, I read about the game before ti was releaced and noticed it behind the counter of gamestop the day it was released and picked it up while getting Fable 2. The variety of guns is great, there are enough ways og getting about, and every mission is different. Expand
  3. JohnS.
    Nov 1, 2008
    8
    I dont understand why people give this game a bad rating. The graphics are excellent, sound is very good, and story is okay. But the enemies I dont understand why people give this game a bad rating. The graphics are excellent, sound is very good, and story is okay. But the enemies are a little mind less but that really doesn't make a difference unless you play on hard (I play on medium) This game is enjoyable. Expand
  4. BinaryS.
    Nov 2, 2008
    6
    First off, I'd like to say that I feel like the critic reviewers are either liars or totally incompetent. The high scoring of this game First off, I'd like to say that I feel like the critic reviewers are either liars or totally incompetent. The high scoring of this game is a shame and I hope more and more gamers take note of which magazines can be trusted to give a fair review and which are obviously in the pocket of the massive, unregulated gaming industry. As far as the game goes - it's a buggy piece of crap and other USER reviewers did a better job describing it's weaknesses than I ever could. I'll just say that this game wasn't fun to play at all and I had to stop since it wasn't worth reloading after it started randomly crashing to the desktop. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    4
    Bought it after seeing some positive videos on the tube. I regretted it. The graphics are absolutely stunning but the game per se is terrible.Bought it after seeing some positive videos on the tube. I regretted it. The graphics are absolutely stunning but the game per se is terrible. Far Cry 2 is basically a terrific map with a terrible game spawning sporadically. Expand
  6. jordano
    Jan 11, 2009
    3
    Once you get past the unique setting and the stunning graphics, you find a frustrating and mediocre shooter with a bland story. Your missions Once you get past the unique setting and the stunning graphics, you find a frustrating and mediocre shooter with a bland story. Your missions require you to drive (or bus!) all over the map, which by itself is alright, but once you take into account the fact that every ten seconds you're getting attacked by a random patrol jeep or clearing yet another road block, the game slows to a grind. The missions are essentially the same thing over and over, so when you think about the fact that you have to battle your way to each generic mission in a story you don't really care about through several uninteresting fights at forty or fifty thousand guard posts along the way, the game quickly loses it's sheen. I think the main problem is that the developers tried to combine a sand box style game with straight forward shooter elements. In a shooter, constant combat is exactly what you want, but in a sandbox game, it's nice to be able to explore or travel to and from missions without getting attacked or feeling like you have to creep along the road and around each outpost. This game is not worth the time or the money. I would recommend passing it up for a legitimate title. Expand
  7. FredWhatever
    Oct 17, 2008
    0
    In case nobody noticed, the two critical reviews of this game which are being displayed on the main page are written by the same person, andIn case nobody noticed, the two critical reviews of this game which are being displayed on the main page are written by the same person, and almost quote each other.

    For all the site admin bitch about user ballot-stuffing, it seems they're content to let PC Gamer do it. Probably because PC Gamer pays for the space and we don't.
    Expand

See all 507 User Reviews