Fuel Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 106 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Get fuelled up and prepare to race and explore the world's largest ever racing environment - over 5,000 square miles of spectacular wilderness. Set to revolutionise multi-terrain, multi-vehicle racing, FUEL is a fiercely competitive game without boundaries. On and off-road, two andGet fuelled up and prepare to race and explore the world's largest ever racing environment - over 5,000 square miles of spectacular wilderness. Set to revolutionise multi-terrain, multi-vehicle racing, FUEL is a fiercely competitive game without boundaries. On and off-road, two and four-wheeled vehicles race a massively diverse environment, from scaling the highest snow-capped mountain to racing the deepest arid canyon. In a fictional present, vast swathes of the United States have been ravaged by the extreme effects of accelerated global warming: tornados, brush fires, hurricanes and tsunamis have driven people from their homes leaving huge areas of America abandoned. Now these dangerous areas have created the perfect playground for a new breed of adrenaline junkies who set out to conquer each other, and Mother Nature, in closely fought races. There are over 70 different vehicles with which to take on any challenge that FUEL’s stunning environment throws at you. On-road and off-road bikes, cars, quads, trucks, buggies and dragsters take dangerous short-cuts, perform death-defying jumps and tear through spectacular cross-over points. FUEL's landscape is powered by cutting-edge technology and, using satellite data, features some of the most exciting and inspiring areas of America - including the Grand Canyon, Yosemite National Park, Mount Rainier and much more. In FUEL, if you can see it, you can drive to it, taking any route - on or off-road - that you want. With a draw distance of 40KM, 100,000 miles of roads, tracks and trails and hundreds of race events FUEL’s epic world demands to be explored. [Codmasters] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Play Magazine
    95
    You want Bikes, ATVs, Muscle Cars, SUVs, Buggies, Trucks…they’re all in here, along with every conceivable type of race set across thousands of miles of populated ultra-realistic topography, complete with dynamic weather. And it all looks and plays spectacularly. Unless you’re looking for an authentic hard core sim, there’s no reason you shouldn’t leave right now, and even if you are, a little FUEL might just change your mind.
  2. Edge Magazine
    80
    Even if some of the fundamental stuff has been sacrificed to the creation of this huge world, Fuel still makes it across the finish line on a far-from-empty tank. [July 2009, p.97]
  3. PC Format
    71
    Impressive as the scale and visuals are as a technical achievement, the game itself is little more than a hollow shell. [Aug 2009, p.90]
  4. 14000 square kilometers are not enough to make a good game. Fuel tries to overlap its competitors by taking a sand box approach to the genre, but it fails by offering races that are neither challenging nor thrilling set in enormous and boring open spaces.
  5. This expansive arcade racer may be ambitious, but it doesn't nail all of the basics.
  6. Ten thousand square kilometers of crushing solitude. You drive on a track poorly lit by a full moon, and you desperately long for something interesting to happen. But no, there are no surprises at all.
  7. Total PC Gaming
    40
    FUEL is a big world of promise, but sadly it can't deliver most of them. [Issue#23, p.54]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 8 out of 31
  1. DavidD
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Its just the prfect game. he graphics, how to handle it... Its just perfect. I love it!!!
  2. NicolasG.
    Jul 3, 2009
    10
    This was probably the best game i have ever played. Really easy to handle. Wonderful graphics and good racing! You have to love it!
  3. Buddhamind
    Jul 21, 2009
    9
    FUEL is so badly rated, and maybe objectively there are a lot of points which could be better. Yet I am quite a fan of race games - like more FUEL is so badly rated, and maybe objectively there are a lot of points which could be better. Yet I am quite a fan of race games - like more than a decade - and intuitively this game feels just right. Personally I like to drive the huge open ended world even though it is a bit 'empty'. But the races make everything more than good. Unlike Burnout Paradise which goes way to soon way too fast, FUEL has just exactly the right speed. Maybe in the beginning the cars and bikes are a bit slowy, but I think the programmers want players to focus on steering/ drifting which is exactly what the challenge is in races. Also unlike ANY game I've played before the races have a certain bigness. You're not cramped up in a city, but you're driving these big plains, rolling down mountains is just superbly done. I have not seen anything like this before. So even though there are some theoretical flaws (they're not really obvious or an annoyance while playing like in most games), I find myself just being extremely excited everytime I play, not knowing exactly why. Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    7
    Kudos to Codemasters for making a game map that is 5,560 square miles filled with many western natural exhibits, but with size comes lack ofKudos to Codemasters for making a game map that is 5,560 square miles filled with many western natural exhibits, but with size comes lack of attention to detail. It's quite obvious that only the race tracks were tended to with love and care, but the other 99.5% of the map seems randomly generated with some minor fine tunings. Collisions are terrible, I will crash into a tree even though I'm 5 feet away from it. The redeeming factor is the graphics, they are rather beautiful, but in many areas if you've seen it once, you've seen it all (particularly the rolling plains). Now that the price has gone down, I recommend this as a "free ride" game, but don't expect it to hold your attention for more than an hour or 2 per sitting. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2011
    6
    You've heard others say it... I'll be saying the same. The game is just like an open world... that's it. I just felt so... lonely. Plus theYou've heard others say it... I'll be saying the same. The game is just like an open world... that's it. I just felt so... lonely. Plus the world wasn't really that exciting to explore because it was all the same almost everywhere. I got it on Steam for 5 dollars... now I wish I could trade it for GRID. That was a much better game. It was all on confined race tracks, but each track looked different enough so that it wasn't getting barring. When a game talks about how large it's play area is and all the screen shots look nearly the same, there's something wrong. Expand
  6. Aug 18, 2022
    5
    giant world, slow cars and horrible gameplay...... ............. That's FUEL
    Cars don't even have physics, it looks like an empty box accelerating
  7. Apr 13, 2017
    1
    Une zone de jeu inutilement grande, des graphismes moyens, des temps de chargement innommables, une conduite qui hésite entre le réalisme etUne zone de jeu inutilement grande, des graphismes moyens, des temps de chargement innommables, une conduite qui hésite entre le réalisme et l'arcade, une interface vilaine, des musiques atroces... et ces développeurs qui se foutent de vous lorsque vous terminez 2nd : "rentre chez toi" ! (déjà que je n'aime pas être tutoyé dans un jeu...). Bref Fuel est un désastre et on lui préfèrera sans problème les Motorstorm, des jeux dignes de ce nom, pas des farces vidéoludiques ! Fuel, rentre chez toi donc. Expand

See all 31 User Reviews