Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 13, 2013
    85
    This little game of making games is sure to leave it's mark in history with it's witty marketing campaign, which seriously kicked pirate booty. The game itself is really funny little game for a couple of nights, although after the campaign there's only little to keep you entertained. [June 2013]
  2. May 14, 2013
    84
    For the price of a cup of coffee you can pick this game up – don’t be one of the 97% that pirated it. Game Dev Tycoon is the one Tycoon title worth buying now that it’s on Steam.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    80
    What is it like to start with a few thousand dollars and end up in an office full of people producing multi-million gaming hits? This game lets you find out and makes it worth your while. [Nov 2013]
  4. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 5, 2013
    78
    If you thought that game developing is a game, you’ve guessed right! Now you will probably start to appreciate more the developers of your favorite games and realize the obstacles they face. [June 2013]
  5. Sep 12, 2013
    75
    If you liked Game Dev Story, you're probably going to like this one. It's not a huge evolution from that game, but still adds it's own vision and depth to the concept.
  6. The better the game, the more money the company made; the more money the company made, the better games.
  7. Oct 18, 2013
    70
    A very relaxing game title suffering from a light stereotype, and maybe an over-simplification, but at the end of a day it's a magic combination of a casual strategy game and a witty summary of the game industry history.
  8. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Making your own games is quite fun, but you don’t get a lot of feedback as a developer. Despite its old-school look it is a good game. However, if it looked better it would be more attractive as a game.
  9. Sep 17, 2013
    70
    Overall, Game Dev Tycoon has taken over my weeknights and weekends with no hesitation on my part. If you liked Game Dev Story, The Sims or any others in the sim genre, this will keep your addiction going on for a while.
  10. Sep 4, 2013
    70
    Game Dev Tycoon has some nice bells and whistles and the social commentary and satire on the video game industry is charming at times. The game “has its moments” and “I liked it.” but it still has a limited amount of content that will keep the players coming back for more, and even when they do come back, it will take a while to get into the meat and potatoes of the experience. Still, that first play through was one enjoyable ride down video game history lane.
  11. PC PowerPlay
    Jun 23, 2013
    70
    Far from a perfect sim, but as a commentary on the industry we follow and love, it's enough to give you pause for thought. [July 2013, p.90]
  12. May 16, 2013
    70
    Game Dev Tycoon is a fun simulation, perfectly targeted to the (retro-)gaming enthusiast. Some of its mechanics, though, are somewhat simplistic and not 100% coherent, making the overall experience less brilliant than it could have been.
  13. Games Master UK
    Oct 20, 2013
    68
    It's hard to get attached to your creations when they're represented by numbers alone. [Dec 2013, p.73]
  14. Sep 24, 2013
    67
    In other words, unless you're really desperate for a game development simulator and you don't have a mobile gaming device, you can definitely pass on Game Dev Tycoon.
  15. Sep 16, 2014
    65
    Taking into account the quite low price and the almost non-existent technical requirements, Game Dev Tycoon is a good and above all original game, albeit without great pretensions.
  16. Aug 29, 2013
    65
    Game Dev Tycoon is a simple, but extremely funny and entertaining game. It would be far superior just adding certain technical improvements and gameplay components. Those responsible should continue to develop this original idea. They could achieve a great title just by implementing a few changes and adding some content. A really nice offer.
  17. May 22, 2013
    60
    Game Dev Tycoon is an enjoyable tycoon game with too simplistic and sometimes obscure mechanics. Buy it if you want to explore the dev side of the videogame industry.
  18. May 21, 2013
    60
    It's a difficult case. There's a boatload of good ideas in Game Dev Tycoon which expand one of my favorite mobile games ever – Game Dev Story – to a huge degree. They alone should have made for a far superior experience. Sadly, there's no effective way to channel all the tools the game gives you to produce the perfect videogame. Come on, Game Dev Tycoon, give me some spreadsheets, show me what made my successes and missteps what they became. In short: Talk to me!
  19. May 10, 2013
    50
    While I appreciate the perspective Game Dev Tycoon has given me on game development, from indie studios in debt to huge studios juggling multiple projects, it was never the game's sim elements that had me returning. It offers a pleasant walk down memory lane of past consoles and technology, but that's about it.
  20. May 13, 2013
    40
    The problem is not that Game Dev Tycoon is a Game Dev Story-clone; the problem is that the game neither brings anything new to the table nor manages to live up to its role model.
  21. May 12, 2014
    30
    However, I don't really think Tycoon really wants to be more than ‘a glimpse' at video game production, and any attempt to comment on the industry from this dull, monotonous experience fails to hit its mark.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1024 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    I could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on aI could play this game for hours and days. Hard to master as it has a unique mathematical algorithm to rate the games you make based on a number of different variety of mixing. The only problem is... the algorithm can be touchy and picky once you starts combining genres and other 'devices' to a certain topic. So it makes it a bit difficult to get around, but once you get the hang of it, you might be playing it more and more. Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2013
    2
    I really didn't like this game. You can make all kinds of improvements to your game engine and become focuses on making great games in aI really didn't like this game. You can make all kinds of improvements to your game engine and become focuses on making great games in a certain genre but the game penalizes you harshly for repeating genre combinations. So I make a great fantasy role playing game and it gets amazing reviews, I improve my game engine with things like rich backstory, character development, and other aspects pertinent to role playing games but when I make another fantasy role playing game it gives me terrible scores because I'm repeating myself. This isn't at all similar to what game development is like. The fact that I have to go from fantasy role playing games to making a casual virtual pet game for kids in order to have success is ridiculous. If any of this game was reality, companies like Bioware, Blizzard, and Maxis would have tanked after their first game. I'm sorry, but the mechanics in this game are ridiculous and it just makes the game feel clunky and broken. Full Review »
  3. May 14, 2013
    3
    Nice theme but poorly executed.
    Here is a quote from a wiki about the games most important mechanic the review score of your game:
    "... Good
    Nice theme but poorly executed.
    Here is a quote from a wiki about the games most important mechanic the review score of your game:
    "... Good quality game DOES NOT MEAN good reviews.
    In this game, you compete EXCLUSIVELY against your own previous high score ....Therefore, in order to get good a review score, you need to perform slightly better than your previous high score....."

    Which means the worst thing you could do is making the most awesome game ever because you will have a hard time beating yourself afterwards.

    Which makes the game pointless.
    Full Review »