Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Mar 23, 2018
    74
    Ghost of a Tale is an ambitious and charming indie adventure which does not reach its full potential. The main character Tilo is one of the cutest animated video game characters we have seen in a long time and the fantasy setting looks absolutely stunning. Unfortunately, the game can make you feel pretty helpless at times, since hints are rare and finding your way through castle Dieruin takes a lot of patience.
  2. Mar 19, 2018
    72
    A gorgeous looking stealth with some RPG elements and too many mechanical simplifications. Worth a try, if you're searching for something simple.
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 19, 2018
    71
    A stunning world of beautifully animated characters, let down by dated design and limited resources. [May 2018, p.80]
  4. Mar 20, 2018
    70
    Ghost of a Tale is a game created as a great labyrinthine dungeon, puzzles, traps, stealth, and a charismatic protagonist in a macabre and gray medieval world. SeithCG's first job is reminiscent of classic adventures, but it also needs better optimization, technical polishing and several better decisions.
  5. Mar 16, 2018
    70
    Ghost of a Tale is a wonderful, original and full of details fable. However, It's the first project from a novice developer. The game has bugs and some design failures that stains the experience.
  6. Apr 30, 2018
    65
    A beautiful adventure with a weak story rife with boring fetch quests and pointless sneaking.
  7. Mar 24, 2018
    65
    Ghost of a Tale is a gorgeous, fun adventure that can occasionally be bogged down by frustrating and repetitive mechanics and it's come a long way since entering Early Access in 2016.
  8. Mar 14, 2019
    60
    Ghost of a Tale is heavily influenced by the Souls series, and one would wonder why? It definitely suffers from tons of issues and technical difficulties, and unless you are a hardocre Stealth fan, you'll probably have a hard time enjoying its beautiful (but full of technical issues) visuals and appealing (but full of cliches) story.
  9. Apr 10, 2018
    60
    Ghost of a Tale is a charming and often funny experience surrounding an adorable mouse and scary rats, but the simplistic stealth mechanics are not enough to keep the initial surge of excitement going for more than a few hours.
  10. Apr 4, 2018
    55
    Quotation forthcoming.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 15, 2018
    Weather its bugs and lacklustre stealth, and Ghost of a Tale is a quietly ravishing potted epic with a serious subtext. [Recommended]
  2. Gosh, it could be a lot better, but I really enjoy playing what it is.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 86
  2. Negative: 7 out of 86
  1. Mar 18, 2018
    9
    This is an absolutely amazing game. The gorgeous art style, sound design, the idea of a stealth game playing as a mouse, how great theThis is an absolutely amazing game. The gorgeous art style, sound design, the idea of a stealth game playing as a mouse, how great the controls feel, etc.. As a result, Ghost of a Tale is very addictive - at least I'm always curious what's next, want to explore new areas and so on. Despite what some people are saying this is actually a pretty big game considering its price and that most of it was done by just one person. When people say "you play mostly in a keep", they're ignoring things like the forest areas (which have amazing vegetation detail), as well as catacombs and sewers beneath the keep. It's all designed in a bit of a maze-like manner too, so it will probably take you a couple of hours to find your way around.

    I can't comment how long the game is because unfortunately, the dev seems to have taken a page out of CD Projekt Red's playbook (reminds me a lot of the Witcher 2 release) and decided to release something that's only mostly finished but still quite buggy. So after encountering yet another possible quest bug, I've stopped playing (about 10 hours into the game) and will wait for 2-3 weeks until hopefully all major issues have been addressed. Kind of begs the question why if the game has been 5 years in development, they weren't fixed before the release. You only get one chance to make a first impression, after all. And while I'm willing to turn a blind eye to these issues since 95% of the game is done and stunning and I already feel like I've gotten my money's worth, not everybody may be as forgiving.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 20, 2018
    8
    I like stealth games and good adventure - and this game ticks all the right boxes for me. There were few main selling points for me here:I like stealth games and good adventure - and this game ticks all the right boxes for me. There were few main selling points for me here:

    Its immersive adventure in beautiful, very detailed world. The world design borrows heavily from first Dark Souls game, and as much as I love that game I dare to say here it is much more cleverly designed, with lots of hidden secret passages and details put into it.

    The games is focused heavily on exploration, finding things and avoiding enemies. No minimaps, quest markers and other horrible modern stuff - the game feels old school in that manner and I loved it. This plays like a stealth/puzzle solving game, but it feels like a puzzle game in the same way that Looking Glass games felt - not in a way of point and click adventures (but there were few riddles to solve on the way).

    You can save game only in "safe" spots - very cool concept and works perfectly. The experience is "casualised" a bit here and there - the game gets easier as it progresses and allows you to obtain hints and maps for money. This does not ruin the fun, but removes lot of frustration associated with being "stuck" for too long. You will get stuck once in a while anyway, do not worry. My only complaint is that I would remove some hints for secondary quests - they are optional anyway so no need to make it too easy, especially since you can figure out everything when you pay enough attention to the world and the dialogues.

    The stealth system is quite original and works very well. It is totally unrealistic and a bit too easy, but it all fits perfectly with cartoonish style of the game.

    Unfortunately the game is not perfect and I need to address few things:

    The experience quality drops significantly in last third of the game. The attention to detail and level of polish of the first few hours of the game are not carried through the whole playthrough. (which is a case for most games actually...)

    The game tries to throw too much fetch quests at player at some point (they really should have cut out some of the quests from the game) and it also tries to take more "cinematic" approach at the end which it fails to do, exposing many design limitations. There is a moment when you start getting that indie game feeling, that some obvious things are missing due to limited budget and resources.

    The game also throws more and more dialogue lines at the player as story progresses and the quality of that aspect also drops a lot, the later conversations drag for too long and are quite uninspired. I would also do the ending differently, but thats a minor thing. I wasnt that much into story anyway, I liked the lore and some characters very very much, but found a whole main story a bit bland and too complex for its own sake.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2018
    10
    Magnifique jeux, avec des personnages très attachants, des animations juste parfaites.
    Quand on sait que ce jeux a été fait par une personne
    Magnifique jeux, avec des personnages très attachants, des animations juste parfaites.
    Quand on sait que ce jeux a été fait par une personne seule, avec seulement 50'000€ de budget, on se dit que certains gros studio devraient en prendre de la graine!!!
    Full Review »