Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Jan 28, 2021
    84
    An inventive Souls-meets-roguelike that frustrates and delights in equal measure.
  2. Edge Magazine
    Feb 25, 2021
    80
    Combat is impressively muscular for a game that presents like a top-down dungeon crawler. [Issue#356, p.102]
  3. Jan 28, 2021
    80
    Gods Will Fall is a well-focused action-oriented dungeon-crawling soulslike with procedural generation. Only the procedural generation is on the difficulty, allowing for developers Clever Beans to have handcrafted each dungeon in a stunning hand-brushed art style and have each playthrough feel that bit different, as the increased difficulty of a particular dungeon brings new creatures, paths, and opportunities. While not perfect, some things like the rather barren overworld as well as some bugs standing out, the character development, emergent storytelling and tight combat does more than enough to let this stand out.
  4. Jan 29, 2021
    78
    Only the combat system is not precise and varied enough for me, a little more fine-tuning would have been necessary here. But that makes up for the charming indie game with charm and its unique graphic style.
  5. Feb 1, 2021
    75
    Despite a sliding scale of difficulty and cheap boss tactics, Gods Will Fall has the improbable ability to endear itself to those it hurts most. Both masochists and newcomers alike will find something to love in this short, but challenging, Celtic ass-kicker.
  6. Feb 23, 2021
    70
    A charming top-down dungeon crawler without quite enough challenge or content. Gods Will Fall is worth grabbing on sale, even if you won’t ever be worshipping it.
  7. Feb 2, 2021
    70
    I’m positive the developer will be ironing out any kinks mentioned here and by other players, so I’m sure that in six months this will be a much more enjoyable experience; for now, Gods Will Fall falters slightly. I still really enjoyed my time with this one, but only after I brought out my controller and chose characters that didn’t walk at the speed of snail. There is so much potential here, so if you’re not sold yet, please either check it out on console or keep this one on your radar and revisit in a few months. Gods Will Fall has solid bones, and with a little more love and attention, it will achieve the greatness it seeks.
  8. Jan 29, 2021
    68
    Gods Will Fall has terrific gameplay ideas, but the graphics and some technical hiccups hold back its quality.
  9. Feb 1, 2021
    65
    Gods Will Fall is a fresh and original new approach on action RPG and roguelite genres, but after a few hours it becomes too repetitive. However, the first steps are surprising and visually convinces with a very personal artistic design.
  10. Jan 31, 2021
    65
    Gods Will Fall is steeped in good ideas, but would have gained a lot by taking them further. Equipped with an effective artistic direction, unique bosses and dungeons, and a link mechanic that works, the game manages to make us want to play and replay in order to meet the proposed challenge, and manage to defeat the ten deities present. The proposed experience is therefore pleasant, and the studio really holds something. Sadly, Gods Will Fall constantly seems on restraint, leaving a lingering impression of superficiality and repetitiveness.
  11. Feb 12, 2021
    60
    The combat is visceral and perfectly fine in total, and the sense of accomplishment when defeating a boss is always high. Nevertheless, Gods Will Fall is one of the most basic roguelikes with almost non-existent randomization, having a hard time to convince us to come back after the unavoidable numerous defeats.
  12. Jan 28, 2021
    60
    The bottom line is that that's too much gambling for me to motivate me permanently, even if the fights themselves are implemented quite nicely.
  13. Feb 1, 2021
    50
    With some godly patchwork, Gods Will Fall could reach new heights. As it stands, though, it falls long before its eponymous gods ever truly have a chance to.
  14. Feb 24, 2021
    40
    Gods Will Fall has some striking visuals and the randomly-generated characters with their varied stories and abilities are great, but the frustrating, sloggy combat, repetitive nature of play, and the lack of any sort of exploration or value in the hub area is disappointing. The developers have already released a road map for more content in the future, but let’s hope they polish the combat first.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jan 28, 2021
    Gods Will Fall is full of good ideas, such as its combat system, balancing the benefits of taking certain risks, the evolution of our warriors, the management of the group based on external factors and how I advise them or the dedicated design to the various dungeons. However, its failures in the collision system, an enemy AI that can be improved, some crashes and the possibility that it will unbalance its difficulty too soon, dilute the good feelings that it transmits in its first bars.
  2. Jan 29, 2021
    This is a special game. I am horrible at it, and it, in turn, is horrible to me, and yet I keep pushing on, returning to Gods Will Fall again and again. [Eurogamer Recommended]
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 4 out of 8
  1. Feb 1, 2021
    1
    The control's. god soo soooo awful.

    you cant use the mouse at all. 2 hands on the key board. its very confusing to have two hands on the
    The control's. god soo soooo awful.

    you cant use the mouse at all.

    2 hands on the key board. its very confusing to have two hands on the key board trying to operate controls for these characters its awkward as hell. like playing a early 1990's floppy disk 2 player game.

    might be better on a console using a controller. but i just cant i deleted it and got a refund. it was just horrid.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 31, 2021
    5
    I really wanted to love this game. Love the gods premise and the graphics look awesome, but a game that it's all about the combat, to be soI really wanted to love this game. Love the gods premise and the graphics look awesome, but a game that it's all about the combat, to be so clunky it just kills it. Full Review »