Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 8, 2017
    85
    The release of .hack//G.U. Last Recode is a celebration of what I consider to be CyberConnect2’s greatest achievement in gaming thus far. It’s an excellent way for newcomers to experience one of the most underrated JRPGs in the lengthy and excellent catalogue of PS2 games. As for those like myself who loved the original- a chance to say hello to some old friends and finally erase that last bit of regret that’s been lingering all these years.
  2. Nov 28, 2017
    80
    .hack//G.U. has remained one of my all-time favorite games for many years, and Last Recode is a wonderful way to reintroduce gamers to this terrific universe. Players both old and new will be able to find something to love about this classic ensemble of games, but for me, the most exciting aspect of Last Recode is a minor conversation players can have with the character Piros the 3rd at the end of Reconnection. As a graphics artist for CC Corp, Piros lets slip that a new project is already underway. While Last Recode is currently the best way for players to experience the world of .hack, the promise of a possible future for the long-absent franchise is the best gift of all.
  3. Nov 6, 2017
    75
    Last Recode turned out to be something that I looked forward to playing at the end of the day. It has a fantastic story with some great worldbuilding, colorful characters, and includes all three original games alongside a newer, fourth volume to carry on the story. The combat became a bit samey and grindy after a while, but I still enjoyed it, and am assuming I will continue to enjoy it throughout the next three volumes I’m going to play.
  4. Jan 16, 2018
    70
    .hack//G.U. Last Recode is really for the fans. The ability to go through the whole trilogy with overpowered characters is perfect for those who want to reminisce without the grind, and the bonus fourth episode adds a natural closure to the series. It becomes a little harder for new fans to get used to some of the JRPG tropes and the meandering pace of the first episode, but things pick up later, so it's worthwhile to stick with it. All in all, those interested in a title that most likely influenced other anime like Sword Art Online should definitely check out .hack//G.U. Last Recode.
  5. Nov 3, 2017
    70
    .hack//G.U. Last Recode is a fascinating novelty, but makes a better impression as a time capsule than a compelling video game in 2017.
  6. Nov 10, 2017
    60
    .hack//G.U. was a flawed but ultimately entertaining JRPG when it rolled out on PlayStation 2 and the same can be said about Last Recode. The story is adequate enough to keep you interested and it helps it’s populated with a fun and highly diverse cast of characters. Unfortunately, you have to weigh your interest for an intriguing story against the dated gameplay. Even in the later parts of the game, the combat remains stale and repetitive to a degree of anguish, with the idea of environmental variety being non-existent. There are quite a few side quests to partake in, some with their own unique quirks, but they are based on a system that will have a tough time holding your attention. It helps that the new volume concludes things in a more satisfying manner, but it should have been a more fleshed-out piece of content, especially considering it will last most players only a handful of hours. At the end of the day, if you can put up with all of the baggage, and there’s a lot of it, you’ll find a world worth venturing.
  7. Nov 17, 2017
    55
    hack//G.U. Last Recode's intended audience is almost certainly established fans. It's a solid remaster that looks great and runs smoothly. But it's still a dated JRPG that dominates dozens of hours with sub-par combat and repetitive beats. If you have never experienced The World, it's unlikely that Last Recode will pull you in. For those that never wanted to log out, it's a decent way to reconnect.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. May 8, 2020
    10
    This is one of the best RPG games you really need to get. I have played it in 2019 and I totally loved it. It has allot of Anime feeling in itThis is one of the best RPG games you really need to get. I have played it in 2019 and I totally loved it. It has allot of Anime feeling in it and the gameplay is kinda amazing. If you love RPG games and you love watching .hack anime then this game is a totally must have / play in your collection. Full Review »
  2. Feb 4, 2019
    10
    This is honestly, truthfully, one of the greatest games I've ever played for five minutes. I simply can't get enough of that main menu. It'sThis is honestly, truthfully, one of the greatest games I've ever played for five minutes. I simply can't get enough of that main menu. It's so good everything else should be Thanos snapped since they can't compare to how good dat menu is B)

    I give this game five bags of popcorn out of five
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 4, 2019
    10
    The game is good & very fun. Never played anything like it at all. With its deep, intricate story, and well fleshed our characters, I wish itThe game is good & very fun. Never played anything like it at all. With its deep, intricate story, and well fleshed our characters, I wish it had more recognition. Simply astounding. 10/10 Full Review »