Hunted: The Demon's Forge Image
Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 132 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in a dark fantasy world, Hunted: The Demon's Forge is an unforgettable cooperative action game, pitting you and your partner against waves of vicious enemies. Taking control of either E'lara, a ranged weapon expert, or Caddoc, a master swordsman, you must use a variety of weapons,Set in a dark fantasy world, Hunted: The Demon's Forge is an unforgettable cooperative action game, pitting you and your partner against waves of vicious enemies. Taking control of either E'lara, a ranged weapon expert, or Caddoc, a master swordsman, you must use a variety of weapons, powerful spells, and cover tactics to battle your way through menacing dungeons, overgrown ruins, and downtrodden towns. Discover secrets and complete co-op-based puzzles whilst exploring the sinister world to discover answers to the game’s deep, dark mysteries. The dark ages have become corrupted. Heinous creatures have emerged from underground. Townsfolk across the land are disappearing. Upon the promise of their fortune in gold, mercenaries E’lara and Caddoc take on the daunting task of discovering where the innocent villagers have been taken. Their journey will lead them on a dark and twisted path where they will encounter death, slavery, and sacrifice. Travel deep within the world of Kala Moor...and to the secrets of The Demon's Forge. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Hunted: The Demon's Forge - The World of Hunted Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Jun 5, 2011
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  2. Jun 14, 2011
    70
    A game with good ideas and a great cooperative experience, although it is not that polished and has some minor flaws in control and design. A mediocre title when played solo, but great when played with a friend.
  3. Jul 3, 2011
    70
    Proves that a co-op combat-based RPG can work and, while it's not perfect, it's definitely worth a look.
  4. Jun 17, 2011
    65
    Development of cooperative games is a contemporary standard. A gamer aware of the fact that he or she can play the game with a friend, brother, father or a stranger on the other side of the planet is a happy gamer. Even if sometimes it turns out that the game isn't as good when played alone. That's why it's hard to grade Hunted: The Demon's Forge – I had a good time, but I'm aware of all the imperfections of this game.
  5. Jun 22, 2011
    60
    An action game in the Trojan horse of an RPG. There are better co-op experiences, but if you've already played those, Hunted will entertain for a little while.
  6. Jun 9, 2011
    55
    With its derivative world and characters, it's at best a guilty pleasure but probably isn't worth your time unless you can find it at a bargain bin price.
  7. Jun 4, 2011
    45
    Hunted: The Demon's Forge buries its rock-solid ideas under a mound of execution blunders.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 61
  2. Negative: 13 out of 61
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. I particularly liked the game when it was doing good stuff with the graphics and the gameplay and the story and the sound, etAwesome game. I particularly liked the game when it was doing good stuff with the graphics and the gameplay and the story and the sound, et cetera, et cetera. All in all, easy game of the year for me. Expand
  2. Jun 5, 2011
    9
    Hi,
    i'm rating a 9 because, this game is definitely more than the reviews show us.
    Yes this game is not perfect. The graphic is nothing
    Hi,
    i'm rating a 9 because, this game is definitely more than the reviews show us.

    Yes this game is not perfect. The graphic is nothing special. A typical console-porting.
    Some Bugs are existent, too. Like buggy interaction-points, or your AI-partner stands still...
    But all gameplay-bugs were able to be solved by reloading the last checkpoint.

    Some other users complain about graphic-issues, or that the game is not starting.
    I had no problems: insert the dvd into a well installed win7-system and its working.

    To the positive aspects:
    this game is just FUN. Looking at E'lara is much more than 5 minutes satisfaction :-)
    Okay serious now: compared to Gears of War or Resident Evil 5 - you coop-partner (AI) is not worse.
    When you're playing E'lara, Caddoc makes his job pretty good.
    He fights in the first line, he revives you immediately (usually), and he gives you magical boosts just in time.

    But much more fun, this game is in coop-play with your friend. I have to mention, that some people have here problems, too: matchmaking via gamespy or something is not working, they say.
    Well - i play via hamachi (LAN-client) and its working perfect !!!

    Playing with a buddy is something special. Its working perfect, we hat no lost connection or something else. But its a little bit harder, because both players are always looking for potions and armory :-)

    After a playthrough it's recommended to try the crucible editor. For me as PC-Player it's a little bit weird.
    a typical console-thing.... too. Its a simple sandbox-editor.... looks like memory or something.

    I hope inXile will give us an U3-Editor. This could help to revive the community.

    For me, i bought this game twice (for me & my girlfriend), the money was all worth.
    The best coop-play (story-)game after Resident Evil 5.

    CYA
    Expand
  3. Jun 7, 2011
    9
    Alright my first review was harsh and I DID get the multiplayer to work. Everything has changed. This game is great. All the critics who saidAlright my first review was harsh and I DID get the multiplayer to work. Everything has changed. This game is great. All the critics who said otherwise are totally wrong and usually they are. I mean look at the guy at IGN - Ryan Clements. He doesn't know anything about games. Like saying there are several other games with "elves and dragons" better than this. There's nothing like that, especially with co-op, and MMOs don't count since you have to group with a bunch of losers & grind on lame quests. Hunted is good and the characters have really detailed personalities, and good voice actors backing them (BloodRayne and Dante (fron Dante's Inferno). Big and small choices matter in this, and some interesting game mechanics are put to use in relation to those choices. Sure there are some bugs and some things that could have been done a little better, but this is the case with all games. Art in general is never perfect and games never are. If you buy this for singleplayer you won't be happy though. Definitely needs a co-op partner to take advantage of the game.

    Oh and people who say this is like Gears or something are wrong. It's nothing like any of those games. There is a lot of thought put into this game and how combat works for each character. There are a lot of touching moments in the cutscenes too and the story is excellent. The only thing that bothered me was the bad ending. if you go for the good ending this game's story ties up nicely, but it definitely needs a sequel. I hope despite all the negative people that don't know what they are talking about, that this game gets a sequel. It's on my top 10 now.
    Expand
  4. Nov 27, 2011
    7
    If dungeon crawling is your thing, this is definitely worth a go. The Single Player will give your more than 20 hours of gameplay, if youIf dungeon crawling is your thing, this is definitely worth a go. The Single Player will give your more than 20 hours of gameplay, if you decide to explore everything and solve the riddles throughout the game.

    Storywise, it does a good job of keeping things secret until the last possible instance.

    The enemies get tougher gradually, just as your weapons and shields get better, and you get more used to your magic powers. One complaint there is that with only 4 slots for powers per character, I had all 4 slots filled with maxed-out level 2 powers by the middle of the 3rd chapter. And the game unlocks level 3 powers only at the 5th chapter. So you'll be collecting crystals for a long time before you can spend them again.

    The RPG/Fantasy fans with a decent system will have a good amount of fun on this one.
    Expand
  5. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    First off, let me start by saying this game does not deserve all the negative criticism it is getting. Those criticizing the game are eitherFirst off, let me start by saying this game does not deserve all the negative criticism it is getting. Those criticizing the game are either playing on systems below specs or with outdated drivers. With even a semblance of a decent rig, the game will be playable with little/no FPS lag. That being said, this game is definitely not for everyone, and there are some problems with CoOp. If you're looking for the loot-driven randomness of Diablo or Torchlight, this game will disappoint. For what the game is, which is a hack-n-slash based in an RPG setting, Hunted delivers on several fronts. Battles are challenging and exciting, especially on higher difficulties. The dark mood and setting have been very eerie. Do NOT play this game in a dark room at night! The ability system is somewhat simplistic, so it may disappoint "true roleplayers" who are used to games like Dragon Age: Origins or KotOR. This isn't really a drawback, though, since, if you're playing this game, you just want to smash things to bits anyway. For the PC version, I did not find the graphics "dated", as some users have implied, but there can be some texture tearing even when there shouldn't be. To summarize, if you want a game that will help you let off some steam, challenge you (and a friend!) with epic battles, and make you feel like a hero, pick this one up. Just realize that it may not be what you expect it to be, and that there might be some problems which, hopefully, can be solved with some updates in the future. Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    5
    a true waste of time a very very bad game nothing the good here not the combat system not the story or the voice acting every thing isa true waste of time a very very bad game nothing the good here not the combat system not the story or the voice acting every thing is just bad even the graphics are bad Expand
  7. Jul 8, 2011
    0
    total disappointment waste of time , co-op doesn't connect single player is boring , no depth to anything just a button smasher that goestotal disappointment waste of time , co-op doesn't connect single player is boring , no depth to anything just a button smasher that goes nowhere. great if your 9yrs old and a feeling of accomplishment only supplied by smashing buttons nonstop Expand

See all 61 User Reviews