User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 52
  2. Negative: 14 out of 52

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 31, 2022
    7
    The acting done by the cast is top notch and really sells the experience, but the gameplay mechanics itself hinders it from truly shining. You'd be hard pressed unraveling the full mystery without resorting to clicking on random faces and objects just to progress. It's a shame how finicky the system for searching for new clips can be, because there really is something good here.
  2. Sep 6, 2022
    10
    I’m so shocked by This game, and I think I can’t find any astonishing experience like this from any other game. I will give it 10/10, a deserved masterpiece which recommended to art and movie lovers.
  3. Sep 12, 2022
    9
    FMV games are a controversial lot due to their nature - is it a movie or a game?
    Immortality presents an interesting project with quite a large scope: you will experience, through rehearsals, behind the scenes snippets and actual recordings, three movies starring Marissa Marcel, an actress whose films never released.
    Although it takes some time to get going, you'll quickly get into
    FMV games are a controversial lot due to their nature - is it a movie or a game?
    Immortality presents an interesting project with quite a large scope: you will experience, through rehearsals, behind the scenes snippets and actual recordings, three movies starring Marissa Marcel, an actress whose films never released.
    Although it takes some time to get going, you'll quickly get into rhythm as you search additional clips and piece together the secrets behind Ambrosio, Minsky and Two of Everything, three unique films with shocking and mysterious happenings.
    Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2022
    10
    I love this game. The mistery, the movies, the characters, everything absorbed me and obsessed me. Recording 3 full movies, extremely well-acted and with a great plot, just as the backdrop of a bigger mistery is mindblowing.
  5. Aug 31, 2022
    10
    Took awhile to get into but this game is amazing. Really enjoying it as a good chill game.
  6. Sep 3, 2022
    8
    Really good story and gets really creepy around halfway into the game, not a lot of gameplay so if u come in looking for a lot of gameplay then it's not for you
  7. Aug 31, 2022
    10
    a masterpiece of a game from the legendary FMV games studio. I still remember all of their games and I will remember this game forever the mystery is just incredible and unexpected
  8. Sep 15, 2022
    9
    A unique and well-crafted experience that will provide a memorable thrill. The theme is a gradual revelation of the inner life of the cutest girl you never knew. Manon Gage gives a riveting performance as the mysterious Marissa Marcel; her wonderfully expressive face drew me in and charmed me at first. I won't talk about the rest for fear of spoiling your fun.

    Gameplay (best with X-Box
    A unique and well-crafted experience that will provide a memorable thrill. The theme is a gradual revelation of the inner life of the cutest girl you never knew. Manon Gage gives a riveting performance as the mysterious Marissa Marcel; her wonderfully expressive face drew me in and charmed me at first. I won't talk about the rest for fear of spoiling your fun.

    Gameplay (best with X-Box controller) involves sorting through numerous film clips to develop Marissa's story and then a deeper dive into forces that drive her behavior in mysterious directions. It can be completed in ten hours or so if you know a few tricks: (1) read the intro and take notes; (2) rewind every clip before watching; (3) when the controller vibrates, be ready to fiddle with the left stick to access hidden content which is in every clip; (4) pay a lot of attention to hairstyles; (5) in each clip, select Marissa's face to open the next; (6) you know you're done when a certain somebody's face fills the whole screen.

    You can't sit back and enjoy the ride, but you won't soon forget this trip!
    Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2022
    5
    I have one big problem with this game. It lacks meaningful interactivity. I was able to see credits roll in under 2 hours by just clicking on random things and scrubbing through videos without paying attention to anything.

    This game does not have enough skill checks to make you think your way through the game and solve it. You can literally "beat" the game without understanding
    I have one big problem with this game. It lacks meaningful interactivity. I was able to see credits roll in under 2 hours by just clicking on random things and scrubbing through videos without paying attention to anything.

    This game does not have enough skill checks to make you think your way through the game and solve it. You can literally "beat" the game without understanding anything. It just fell flat for me.
    Expand
  10. Sep 4, 2022
    0
    The whole thing is disgusting. An incredibly primitive community is presented on the screen. Actors? Maybe from porn movies. The product looks like a primitive, mediocre "movies" for fans of trivial Netflix series and other cesspools. Awful.
  11. Sep 6, 2022
    4
    Awful, and to call this a 'game' is stretching the truth. And to call this a 'game' is stretching the truth, it's an interactive movie (and not a very good one). Avoid.
  12. Sep 3, 2022
    7
    WARNING: THIS IS NOT A VIDEOGAME NOR A INTERACTIVE COMMERCIAL MOVIE.
    Can't even say if this is a movie. Well maybe technically? I don't know. Once defined this , I could say if you expect something related to obamaflix blackhomo crap streaming something its not the case either.
    This is more a concept ,artcinema, performance, theater, related. Is like a bunch of very short films just
    WARNING: THIS IS NOT A VIDEOGAME NOR A INTERACTIVE COMMERCIAL MOVIE.
    Can't even say if this is a movie. Well maybe technically? I don't know. Once defined this , I could say if you expect something related to obamaflix blackhomo crap streaming something its not the case either.
    This is more a concept ,artcinema, performance, theater, related. Is like a bunch of very short films just related to the main actress somehow that varies from boring to odd to eerie ,with a lot of symbolism. The interaction with this short firms is quite odd too and lead to anothers and cannot be accessed in a main menu or something. But this is a part of the whole experience.
    This is not for everybody besides art lovers , actor and director students and related.
    I cannot rate this production as Im not an expert in the area so I just throw a 7 just giving the benefit of their work.
    Expand
  13. Sep 7, 2022
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is not even close to being a game... dreadful.
    If you enjoy going through old dreary footage of old clips then it's a winner
    Expand
  14. Sep 4, 2022
    6
    [PL]
    6/10 - Niezła
    (po graniu 12h i ukończeniu gry) Fajne emocje, reszta raczej skopana. Ciekawe doświadczenie, fatalna "gra". Bardzo specyficzna gra - niby interaktywny film, a tak naprawdę to nie do końca. Świetnie zagrane sceny, fajnie stylizowane, bardzo ładne. Gameplay bardzo nieprzystępny, słaby, choć intrygująco wpływa na poznawanie historii i występujących postaci
    [PL]
    6/10 - Niezła
    (po graniu 12h i ukończeniu gry)
    Fajne emocje, reszta raczej skopana. Ciekawe doświadczenie, fatalna "gra".

    Bardzo specyficzna gra - niby interaktywny film, a tak naprawdę to nie do końca.
    Świetnie zagrane sceny, fajnie stylizowane, bardzo ładne.

    Gameplay bardzo nieprzystępny, słaby, choć intrygująco wpływa na poznawanie historii i występujących postaci
    Niestety, na początku bardzo łatwo poczuć się zagubionym i odbić się od gry. Gdzieś po 2h grania zaczyna budzić jakieś zainteresowanie.
    Nieprzyjazny, fatalny tutorial atakujący dużą ilością tekstu. Najlepiej zignorować, spojrzeć na ustawienia sterowania i gdzieś obczaić, co oznacza buczenie i jak w nie wejść.

    Gdy nauczymy się w to grać, to odkrywanie wszystkiego jest całkiem fajne.
    Fabuła mnie nie porwała, ale postacie i towarzyszące im emocje już tak.

    Niesatysfakcjonujące zakończenie. Po prostu jakieś tam jest. Można je odkryć i nadal nie rozumieć o co chodzi, więc najlepiej grać dalej.
    Expand
  15. Sep 10, 2022
    3
    I hated this game. I’m giving it 3 for presentation and a creative concept. It is not fun to play. It does not provide enough progression to keep you hooked. The gameplay loop is too random and repetitive. Not interactive enough. Also the scrub controls did not work well on a laptop touchpad.
  16. Sep 30, 2022
    6
    It's well filmed with a lot of attention to detail and decent commitment from the actors (mostly, there are times when 'scenes' cut and it feels like the acting continues).

    The technical skill isn't matched by the storytelling however which feels very gimmicky once the curtains are pulled back. The deconstructed narrative and repetitive gameplay mechanics involved in piecing it together
    It's well filmed with a lot of attention to detail and decent commitment from the actors (mostly, there are times when 'scenes' cut and it feels like the acting continues).

    The technical skill isn't matched by the storytelling however which feels very gimmicky once the curtains are pulled back. The deconstructed narrative and repetitive gameplay mechanics involved in piecing it together is pretty frustrating.

    It's an interesting experiment for sure. I'm glad there are people trying to push the medium. However to me it feels both too amateur for cinephiles and too cinematic for gamers.
    Expand
  17. Oct 6, 2022
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Immortality at its core is a great concept, held back back by incredibly random and ambiguous gameplay choices. The acting is what holds everything together, but it's still only a base layer that needed something more to keep me more than mildly interested. I really wish the dark and twisted side of this game was put more front and center, as it's by far the most interesting part.

    Ultimately what the game boils down to is 3 slightly better than average movies, linked together by random button pressing. If you were looking for a more involved inspect-and-discover like Sam Barlow's last couple games, you may be left disappointed, as this is more of an interactive movie and less of a puzzle needing to be solved.
    Expand
  18. Sep 9, 2022
    0
    A cualquier cosa le llaman juego hoy en día... Lo peor es que como película es más que mediocre.
  19. Sep 19, 2022
    10
    Immortality is a love letter to film and art nerds, with more than enough quality acting and story content to engage just about anyone. If you love a good mystery, have an interest in film or art, or are simply looking for a good way to waste a few days, this is the game for you.

    This is really one of the most unique and ambitious games I've ever played. The acting is top notch, the
    Immortality is a love letter to film and art nerds, with more than enough quality acting and story content to engage just about anyone. If you love a good mystery, have an interest in film or art, or are simply looking for a good way to waste a few days, this is the game for you.

    This is really one of the most unique and ambitious games I've ever played. The acting is top notch, the story is engrossing, and the gameplay is unique. There's a truly impressive amount of content to be discovered. It's a riveting experience unlike almost any other game. Finding a new clip is extremely satisfying and unraveling the mystery will throw you through so many different emotions. This game definitely isn't for the prude or faint of heart, but if you're willing, this is absolutely worth a playthrough. The non-linear storytelling works very well with the mystery format. It truly does feel like you're unwinding a lost piece of history.

    One of my favorite elements (although admittedly a minor thing and not something that everyone would appreciate) is the use of different cameras and editing techniques within each of the Marissa's films. It really gives each of the movies a unique feel and does a good job of grounding them in the time period in which they were supposedly produced.

    Overall, I can see why some people might not appreciate this game (specifically if you're prudish/uncomfortable with nudity --although this is DEFINITELY NOT pornography, like some other reviews have suggested). Whether or not you appreciate this game will probably come down to the individual, although I have a feeling that this will be a cult classic for many, many years.

    This is an incredible experience for film, art, and mystery enthusiasts.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Oct 5, 2022
    50
    How do you even critique this? The actors are brilliant, the production quality as well, but the game feels random at times and offers very poor gameplay.
  2. Sep 16, 2022
    85
    Immortality is a love letter to a certain way of making and intending cinema, but it’s also an almost perfect experiment that aims to blend the languages of cinema and video game into a single one.
  3. Some writers have described “Immortality” as being about burnout or auteurism (the final few scenes can be read as evidence for that theory). But that’s not quite right, akin to saying Star Wars is about space. Artistry does not grant privileged access to decency or good nature. That is what the game is, not what it is about. It’s text, not subtext. For so long as “Immortality” uses that as a starting point to probe further, it is a high water mark for gaming in 2022. When the characters are allowed to be people — not vampires nor aliens nor angels but people who are tired, embarrassed, horny, funny, naive, voyeuristic, creepy and more — each frame’s richness is its own reward.