Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 24, 2020
    90
    Iron Danger is a fun game that takes us to fantasy Finland and lets us play with time. This is a surprisingly good combination before you take interactive environments and the vibrant art style into account. If you want to play a fantasy RPG that’s lighter on the RP and heavier on G(ameplay), try this one out.
  2. Mar 23, 2020
    90
    From its inception to the execution, Iron Danger showcases a rare, coherent vision where everything comes together to form a unified experience, not least because of truly novel gameplay that holds it all together. I’m afraid that Iron Danger has spoiled other games in its genre for me. I can no longer imagine playing formulaic fantasy tropes with rigid combat and eternally repeated, tired systems.
  3. Mar 24, 2020
    84
    An intriguing tactical game with an excellent time manipulation mechanic that transforms each battle into a dance of perfectly choreographed moves. Some repetitiveness after the mid point of the campaign and the uneven framerate in larger battles are small blemishes on an otherwise quality game.
  4. Mar 25, 2020
    83
    Iron Danger feels like a breath of fresh air for CRPGs. While not a perfect game, its unique, time-based combat system is a pure joy to play with and worth the price of admission alone.
  5. Mar 23, 2020
    83
    If Iron Danger was the third game from a veteran indie studio, I’d be impressed. It’s Action Squad Studios’ first outing. I’m blown away. While it can occasionally be rough around the edges, I can’t wait to see what they do next.
  6. Mar 25, 2020
    80
    All things considered, Iron Danger is a great game. It may lack the sweeping epic scope of others and the marketing budget of a AAA game, but it lacks none of the quality. It’s a fun romp in fantasy Finland, setting stuff on fire and slinging spells left and right. It’s like 2001’s Achron that actually works!
  7. Mar 24, 2020
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. Mar 24, 2020
    76
    Daedalic's take on tactical combat is unique and refreshing, making for a robust gameplay that is also enriched by an interesting setting inspired by Finnish folklore.
  9. Mar 23, 2020
    76
    Of the many ingredients of Iron Danger, the combat system is for sure the best designed and comes across as fresh and most interesting. I can't say the same for the RPG and narrative components though: not bad, but not excellent either.
  10. Mar 23, 2020
    75
    Quotation forthcoming.
  11. Mar 23, 2020
    75
    Iron Danger is an interesting story of a young woman who obtains magical powers from a shard impaling her. The tactical combat and ARPG mechanics make for clever gameplay and a lack of grinding, although some fights are frustrating. The story itself is good, but the ending drags it down a lot by leaving you unsatisfied and wanting more.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 15 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Mar 25, 2020
    9
    Iron Danger – fancy tactical story RPG with time loops

    (This is a short excerpt of my longer review, that you can read here:
    Iron Danger – fancy tactical story RPG with time loops

    (This is a short excerpt of my longer review, that you can read here: https://zapzockt.de/en/iron-danger-review-test/ )

    Iron Danger is great fun, if you like tactics and planning turn-based strategy fights down to the last detail. Because of the time travel mechanism, this is also possible for not so experienced tacticians, maybe you have to rewind 2-3 times more, but with a little bit of trial and error, I was able to find a solution in every fight.

    I really like the story of Iron Danger. It offers some surprises and twists and turns. It has many thrilling, but also some sad and grim moments. The story is easy to follow and the main characters also have some personality. Especially Kipuna has quickly become dear to my heart.

    Since the game has a wide range of functions, the controls are correspondingly complex. But both the skill selection, like the control of the characters in the world and the extensive options of the time travel function are technically well implemented.

    Depending on how you play, Iron Danger offers 10-20 hours of play, which brings the purchase price in the reasonable to acceptable range. For my taste, the game could offer another game mode or any other features that would provide replay value.

    I am also a bit disappointed with the role-playing possibilities offered by Iron Danger. Here a lot more would have been possible, a small inventory system, some equipment and maybe a few basic values for level-ups. And the game would have been even more appealing for RPG fans on the one hand and on the other hand, it might have resulted in increased replay value. Chances were missed here, which could have been implemented with relatively little effort.

    In its present form, you play through the story once, which is also a totally good experience. But then a new run-through isn’t that exciting anymore, because there are only a few decisions, hardly any character-individualization and although the story is exciting and of high quality, it is also very linear. There is a lack of branching and real decisions, that would have been beneficial for the game.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 28, 2020
    10
    After half an hour, I was already hooked—great fun without getting frustrated, I can always fix my mistakes.
  3. Mar 25, 2020
    9
    The game has found the perfect middle ground between real-time action and turn-based combat. It is difficult to some degree but openheartedlyThe game has found the perfect middle ground between real-time action and turn-based combat. It is difficult to some degree but openheartedly fair. While it is lacking an open world, story branches and an inventory system (which it doesn't need), this is understandable since the core team is much smaller than those of any up-to-date RPGs. Why bother with extra stuff when you have a time-manipulating mechanic which is a total killer?

    The optimization might have been better though.
    Full Review »