User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 58 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 58
  2. Negative: 16 out of 58
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillJ.
    Mar 10, 2006
    5
    The game starts out as a very promising survival horror fps. The farm at the beginning and the zombie-infested cornfields are oozing with terrifying ambience. However, once you've played through the beginning, you've basically seen all the game has to offer. The rest of the game is repetitive and boring. You wade through sewers and wander around city streets which are infested The game starts out as a very promising survival horror fps. The farm at the beginning and the zombie-infested cornfields are oozing with terrifying ambience. However, once you've played through the beginning, you've basically seen all the game has to offer. The rest of the game is repetitive and boring. You wade through sewers and wander around city streets which are infested by almost identical zombies. There are only a total of four different enemies in the game: standard zombies, crawling zombies, melee weapon wielding zombies and diseased zombies. You spend your time bashing and shooting these four enemy types and completing simple objectives such as providing cover for a friend or looking for keys. This gets old very quickly but playing through the game doesn't take long either. The graphics are quite dated but on the other hand, the game should run even on slower pc:s. The sounds aren't excellent but they aren't bad either. The game has a basic multiplayer deathmatch which doesn't offer anything new and a way too easy co-op mode in which you kill waves of zombies with your teammates. You won't find many servers for this game since it isn't all that popular. In conclusion, road to fiddler's green is a big disappointment. A boring zombie shooter you'll play through in one night and never play again. Unless you're a really hardcore zombie fan the game is not worth your money. Expand
  2. FelipeH.
    May 11, 2006
    5
    I expected a lot more from this game, i mean, sometimes it get boring, when this could be a great scary game , but it doesnt , the guns sucks (exep for the sniper and the axe)and ths zombies are easy to avoid. Its not
  3. GurraGreat
    May 3, 2008
    5
    The game was not as scary as I had expected. They did the best job in the beginning of the game where you had to walk through the cornfields. After a while when you got into the city though, the game started to get boring and repetetive. However, even if there was bad gameplay the graphics were excelent and didn't require a computer whith the best graphic card.
  4. GratefulDead
    Nov 6, 2005
    7
    Overall an "OK" FPS. I finished the single-player in about 8-10 hours (seriously..no cheats). Yes, there are some flaws... especially with the 'head shots". I put 5 head-shots into one zombie at fairly close range before it went down (a glitch IMO). The average fps player probably won't like it...but IMO, any 'zombie fan' will be drooling to get it. There's Overall an "OK" FPS. I finished the single-player in about 8-10 hours (seriously..no cheats). Yes, there are some flaws... especially with the 'head shots". I put 5 head-shots into one zombie at fairly close range before it went down (a glitch IMO). The average fps player probably won't like it...but IMO, any 'zombie fan' will be drooling to get it. There's nothing else like it. There are no 'super weapons'...(which, for this game, is good)..the best weapon being the M-16 (or sniper rifle at a distance). There were a few moments when I 'jumped' ...but otherwise its predictable. Hey, its not DOOM3...the ONLY monsters are ZOMBIES. A flashlight (like Doom3) would have been nice to have at times. The missions are predictable...get the key to open this, go here to open this before you can continue, etc... but they were interesting...some 'sniper' missions (to help Otis) and the heavy machine-gun level to mow down ranks of zombies...always fun. I doubt there will be any expansions for this game, which is too bad. I like the multi-player games...but the maps for "invasion" should have been bigger, with MORE zombies ...and allowing the use of sniper rifles, etc.. I really liked the game. It has some flaws, and could have been 'tweaked' a bit, but I'ld recommend it to my friends. Fragging daemons and aliens are OK..but there's nothing like blasting hordes of flesh-eating zombies ! Expand
  5. KevinH
    Oct 31, 2005
    6
    Great looking game, flawed weapons system (4 shots to the head with a .22 should kill anything, living or dead), overall a decent game for the money, good for avid fans of the genre, just don't expect a FPS equivalent to Half-life 2 or Doom 3.
  6. JoeyM.
    Nov 27, 2005
    7
    I've got pretty mixed feelings about this game. On one hand, it's clearly not "up to date", the graphics (from the Unreal Engine) are pretty plain and you'll see redundant textures and actors, the targeting is far from perfect, some levels are even taken from other games (the hospital level looks very much like the one in SOF2) and its very very linear levels. But on the I've got pretty mixed feelings about this game. On one hand, it's clearly not "up to date", the graphics (from the Unreal Engine) are pretty plain and you'll see redundant textures and actors, the targeting is far from perfect, some levels are even taken from other games (the hospital level looks very much like the one in SOF2) and its very very linear levels. But on the other hand, boy! This game is fun! Maybe it's blasting the zombies away (or just parts of them hehehe) or the fact that it runs very smoothly on standard PC's, or maybe the shocks you'll probably have when turning around and facing the teeths of a corpse which wants to eat your brain? I really don't know. So technicaly, this game would have required a little more work, that's for sure. But it's still a very entertaining and bloody game which won't give you the creeps, but a couple of frights here and there and a fair portion of massive zombie massacre action. Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2013
    6
    Seriously,what´s wrong with this people? The multiplayer is just like Counter Strike (yeah,i compared it to Counter strike,deal with it) the story might be chessy, but its a ton of fun. The only problem is the price,but you can download it free on mediafire,so there is no excuse for hating this game
  8. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    a good zombie game, with a really nice story and gameplay...the multiplayer is kinda fun too...i dont understand why is soo underrated but aniway, you should try this game just for fun..7 from me
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 3 out of 4
  1. Paradoxically, any brilliance and beauty lie in the raw, unpolished stylized realism and mostly clever reworking of elements found in the film.
  2. Computer Games Magazine
    40
    Anyone shelling out for Land of the Dead is in grave danger of buyer's remorse. [Feb 2006, p.64]
  3. PC Gamer
    40
    Road also boasts snore-rific multiplay that adds nothing. Even if the game's selling for less than its $19.99 M.S.R.P., leave it to rot. [Mar 2006, p.51]