Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 23, 2019
    90
    A jam-packed episode that touches on difficult subjects but still has a lot of heart.
  2. Sep 13, 2019
    89
    ‘Faith’ is a great episode, possibly my favourite of Life is Strange 2, and undoubtedly one of the most thematically strong. There are a number of great choices, and the only sequence which felt a little unnecessary, was the hospital section at the beginning, which for me only waylaid getting to the important parts of the episode. But in general the discussion of faith, parenthood, and Christianity is precise, prompting the player as to where they want to place their faith, while at the same time, questioning whether repentance, and forgiveness as a concept, are achievable.
  3. Aug 29, 2019
    85
    With Episode 4, Life is Strange 2 gets more difficult choices, current topics, and new characters. Dontnod keeps us glued to the screen.
  4. Aug 27, 2019
    85
    The wolf brothers have faced a lot since they left Seattle, but “Faith” ups the ante in one of the best episodes so far, even if it could do with just a bit more gameplay.
  5. Aug 22, 2019
    85
    Undoubtedly the best of the four episodes, Faith emanates a lot of emotions while depicting society with a sharp critical eye. Despite imperfections in certain animations and a curious bug at the end, the title is a very refined work, both in terms of graphics and a sublime soundtrack which is full of melancholy. I can't wait to see what happens next.
  6. Sep 4, 2019
    82
    The fourth episode of Life is Strange 2 is intense, powerful, dramatic: the most interesting of all.
  7. Sep 15, 2019
    80
    This Episode 4 is probably the most hard-hitting episod from Life Is Strange 2. A black, dark world is now shiwing in plain sight right before Sean’s eyes and now we’re expecting a very strong finish. Great story-telling.
  8. Sep 3, 2019
    80
    The fourth entry in the series is enjoyable and worth most people's time. I question how much it has added to the characters and story beyond fixing the issue introduced in Episode 3. Even the newly introduced characters feel anticlimactic. I'd almost call this entry filler. In truth, describing Episode 4 to fence-sitters won't sell the series, and those who've bought in up to this point will have little reason to turn away from the penultimate installment. I just wish it had a bit more of a wolf's bite.
  9. Aug 29, 2019
    80
    Episode 4 sets up Life is Strange 2 for a strong landing. Sean and Daniel will finally be reaching the end of their tale, whether it leads to a happy ending or not. Faith is the best episode in Life is Strange 2 since the first and holds the promise of a memorable final episode.
  10. Aug 22, 2019
    80
    This fourth episode of Life is Strange 2 throws a lot of punches. And, again, as it is perfectly written and performed, it's a successful way to continue the story of Sean and Daniel, and wait for the end, coming in December.
  11. Aug 26, 2019
    70
    The supernatural collides with reality under the guise of radical religion in a way that feels too cliche, but spending more time with Sean and his confidants remains a delight. Whether you're heading into the final episode in much the same place you were at the beginning--or under the chilling implications of a certain late game choice--watching Daniel wrap his arms around Sean in either circumstance exemplifies what makes the series work so well. Your Sean can be kind or standoffish, thieving or righteous, but your actions don't change the love and adoration between the Diaz brothers--and that love is still the heart and soul of Life Is Strange 2.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 22, 2019
    So far, Life Is Strange 2 has been quietly very good, even with its missteps. With a believable sibling relationship anchoring the series, it's a very different game from the original Life Is Strange, and I think it's all the better for it. Episode 4 in particular is the second best episode in the series so far, resting next to its excellent introductory episode. I'm looking forward to seeing the conclusion of these brothers' heart wrenching tale. Hopefully they finally get their happy ending, or something close to it, but something tells me they maybe won't.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 29
  2. Negative: 16 out of 29
  1. Aug 23, 2019
    7
    EPISODE 4:
    So in the previous episode review i said that Dontnod Entertainment needed to step up with the writing and it does feel like they
    EPISODE 4:
    So in the previous episode review i said that Dontnod Entertainment needed to step up with the writing and it does feel like they are trying harder although it is the penultimate episode of the series and they got just one more episode to go but this episode is a improvement Compared to the other ones so you start at the hospital after the incident and make a hell of a long way to a church yes i know its the stereotypical story of an evil cult that did some brainwashing but again it is better than the other two episodes this episode addresses more racism and how Sean never gives up and always forgives his brother the episode was a lot better although they did pull the stereotypical evil cult story (which was cheap trick) the story line did improve and i was really enjoying the episode overall Dontnod Entertainment finally started to work harder on the writing but its a shame its the penultimate episode and it means that the final episode has to be a lot better to compensate for the other average so so so ones so this brings me to the final score i give episode 4 a 7 out of 10
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 22, 2019
    9
    Really good episode, so much feelings for Sean, he touched me, his writing is really good.
    Daniel is unlikable as hell since 2 episodes now
    Really good episode, so much feelings for Sean, he touched me, his writing is really good.
    Daniel is unlikable as hell since 2 episodes now ... One hug and "i'm sorry" for 2 months of coma and one destroyed eye, then we can f**k off ... very realistic i guess ?

    Sean is saving this season for me, i'll play Ep.5 for sean and nothing else
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 3, 2019
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Terrible just a joke lmao skip it it's funny how stupid it is please save yourself the regret Full Review »