User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 90
  2. Negative: 32 out of 90

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 6, 2021
    3
    Extremely lazy port of what could be a great game. Literally pain to play if you do not have PS4 controller (even is you have XBox one). Avoid at all costs - play PS4 version if possible.
  2. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    this was an excellent game for PS4 but the pc port they completely messed it up. The game is unplayable because of cumbersome keyboard and mouse bindings which make any move or action impossible. Plus they left original PS4 button icons which generate a lot of confusion and completely undermine the gameplay. I have asked for a refund immediately
  3. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    a beautiful game totally ruined by awful controls and awkward mappings for the PC version
  4. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    I really don't understand why they ported the game in such a bad state. Game Controls are a complete disasters! They should tell me how are we supposed to play the game whis way? It's a nightmare. And every pop-up which keeps appearing on the screen refers to the console version key bindings, you will be blown away and stop playing it because it's annoying. Graphics is also very bad andI really don't understand why they ported the game in such a bad state. Game Controls are a complete disasters! They should tell me how are we supposed to play the game whis way? It's a nightmare. And every pop-up which keeps appearing on the screen refers to the console version key bindings, you will be blown away and stop playing it because it's annoying. Graphics is also very bad and not optimized. Textures are dull and seem from a game released in 2009-2010 Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2021
    4
    Not understanding all the hype.Gamplay is mediocre ,poor dodge frames ,artificial difficulty with bosses and enemies dealing either too much dps or have too much hp even though you can be way above their level .Graphics and animations are super dated for a relatively recent release. Boss fights are nothing to remember since they all have repetitive attack moves and lazy level design .NiohNot understanding all the hype.Gamplay is mediocre ,poor dodge frames ,artificial difficulty with bosses and enemies dealing either too much dps or have too much hp even though you can be way above their level .Graphics and animations are super dated for a relatively recent release. Boss fights are nothing to remember since they all have repetitive attack moves and lazy level design .Nioh 1 was great ,this just feels like a recycled version of nioh .I'm not even sure why this was compared to dark souls or sekiro for that matter since they had memorable boss fights with interesting lore and fair difficulty. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2021
    0
    The game is totally unplayable on PC, control mapping is totally for PS users, why the dev team can offer such a game for PC users ? Play this game on PC is a nightmare, you must have to remember all keys in option menu in such a hardcore action game...
  7. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    Can't believe the critics gave those high scores to this terrible PC port. Did they really test the PC version of Nioh 2? I don't think so. That was my biggest mistake to buy this game, as no workaround is viable to play the game devastated by unintelligible and illogical button mappings. The heart of Nioh 2 should be its top notch and fast gameplay, but by no means you will be able toCan't believe the critics gave those high scores to this terrible PC port. Did they really test the PC version of Nioh 2? I don't think so. That was my biggest mistake to buy this game, as no workaround is viable to play the game devastated by unintelligible and illogical button mappings. The heart of Nioh 2 should be its top notch and fast gameplay, but by no means you will be able to perform any action or move, because button mappings is totally f*cked up. I don't know if developers realized what they did, because it's unacceptable to release a game like that. Refund is the only solution Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2021
    1
    Nioh 2 on PC in a few words: "how to destroy an excellent game".

    Visually it is unimpressive, dated graphics, badly optimised, few graphics options. No DLSS (it was promised). It doesn't look like a pc game, rather a flat console game from 2011 or 2012. Gameplay is demolished by inconvenient key assignments so that your game experience will be non-existent as you won't be able to
    Nioh 2 on PC in a few words: "how to destroy an excellent game".

    Visually it is unimpressive, dated graphics, badly optimised, few graphics options. No DLSS (it was promised). It doesn't look like a pc game, rather a flat console game from 2011 or 2012. Gameplay is demolished by inconvenient key assignments so that your game experience will be non-existent as you won't be able to perform the great majority of actions just because you only have 2 hands and 10 fingers, while producers think we are octopuses with many tentacles. Don't play it on PC. If you want to play it, do it on PS4
    Expand
  9. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    unless they release a patch (which I doubt) the game is totally unplayable on PC because keyboards/mouse controls are a tragedy. You will find tons of moves suggesting to press RT+B+Y (playstation) or similar different combination and you will have to press impossible key combinations to make them work on PC, like Shift or CAP or E and 1+4 all together! Imagine that in the middle of theunless they release a patch (which I doubt) the game is totally unplayable on PC because keyboards/mouse controls are a tragedy. You will find tons of moves suggesting to press RT+B+Y (playstation) or similar different combination and you will have to press impossible key combinations to make them work on PC, like Shift or CAP or E and 1+4 all together! Imagine that in the middle of the action while fighting a boss or tons of monsters, when a minimum mistake can make the difference between your life and your death...this is 100% deal breaking. Dunno why they have been so indolent not to care about that when porting the game. That should have been the most important aspect of a game like Nioh, completely based on those types of mechanics. For this defect, you will not even be able to complete the training because controls will give you strong headaches Expand
  10. Feb 6, 2021
    0
    Cons:
    -even if you change the key bindings this pc port from ps4 is a total mess to play
    -every action on screen refers to the ps4 buttons and is highly distracting -it's a very very lazy port, they didn't care about graphics which is just mediocre, not about optimization (barely 45 fps at 4k with my rtx 3070), nor about gameplay totally annihilated by troublesome controls -the game is
    Cons:
    -even if you change the key bindings this pc port from ps4 is a total mess to play
    -every action on screen refers to the ps4 buttons and is highly distracting
    -it's a very very lazy port, they didn't care about graphics which is just mediocre, not about optimization (barely 45 fps at 4k with my rtx 3070), nor about gameplay totally annihilated by troublesome controls
    -the game is very hard, you will be killed again and again...but this wouldn't have been a problem
    if the controls had been fine, which are not unfortunately
    -enemies are recycled, no variety

    Pros:
    -the level of challenge of this game, the quantity of moves, but that ascpect is totally annihilated by the bad controls, it makes a huge difference like rating a game 10 rather than 0. If you play it, you can understand what I mean. What a shame, with more attention that could have been a beautiful game also on PC. But the choices they did and their indolence wasted this unlucky port
    Expand
  11. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    I wish I never bought this game but I did. What can I say about it? Bad graphics, high system requirements, bad optimization, bad controls all ruined my gaming experience. The game can't be played, any combo is a nightmare as keyboards controls are not practical to use and even using a separate controller is uneffective as the game bombed me all the time with all those playstation strangeI wish I never bought this game but I did. What can I say about it? Bad graphics, high system requirements, bad optimization, bad controls all ruined my gaming experience. The game can't be played, any combo is a nightmare as keyboards controls are not practical to use and even using a separate controller is uneffective as the game bombed me all the time with all those playstation strange icons. Battles are a lose - lose result all the time because of weird stupid controls. On top of that, game can't be even paused! If you press Esc on your keyboard the game continues to run and enemies continue to kill you. Asked for a complete refund on steam Expand
  12. Feb 6, 2021
    2
    I spent 59 euros to buy the PC version of this game on Steam but was totally disappointed. The game is unplayable, controls are mapped in such a way that you will not be able to play it at all. I spent hours trying to change them but no solution was possible because they are made with console version in mind. Playing this game on PC is like a pain in the a.s.s., the only thing I could doI spent 59 euros to buy the PC version of this game on Steam but was totally disappointed. The game is unplayable, controls are mapped in such a way that you will not be able to play it at all. I spent hours trying to change them but no solution was possible because they are made with console version in mind. Playing this game on PC is like a pain in the a.s.s., the only thing I could do was to abort the game and ask for a refund. Team Ninja what the hell did you do with this PC port??? Expand
  13. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    Una porquería de optimización injugable los controles muy mal team ninja una falta de respeto
  14. Feb 9, 2021
    1
    nioh 2 is even harder than 1 in bad way which is about fairness. almost all of monsters punch you like a infighter boxing man but you die by their two shots or three shots. but you are not like that monsters. kodama collecting is more stressful than 1 too. cause if you don't collect kodamas in every chapters, this game is more insanely harder and harder. what a freaking game system.
  15. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    It is a magnificent game with one very serious problem: controls suck. And they suck so much to make the gameplay unpleasant. One of the great pros of Nioh 2 for PS4 was the presence of an impressive number of combos and skills: here in this PC port just forget about them because you won't be able to perform them, key bindings are terrible and they require you to press an innaturalIt is a magnificent game with one very serious problem: controls suck. And they suck so much to make the gameplay unpleasant. One of the great pros of Nioh 2 for PS4 was the presence of an impressive number of combos and skills: here in this PC port just forget about them because you won't be able to perform them, key bindings are terrible and they require you to press an innatural combination of keys, quite often distant and bad-balanced. Having a gamepad doesn't help, it only complicates things as every single action or in-game advice will list PS4 buttons and make combat terrible. You'll die not because you suck in fighting enemies but because controls are terrible, they were designed in such a terrible way I never seen in any video game in my life. My strong advice is not to buy the game and I don't know if such a big problem can be patched...if yes, that would mean to rewrite all the game from scratch, a huge work for any programmer. The question is: why did they port the game like that? They destroyed all the beauty of Nioh 2, making it impossible to play it Expand
  16. Feb 7, 2021
    1
    So, we, pepole live in 2021 when devs live in a whole different dimension. They think that people are born with full sync of Playstation understanding into their one soul and play games accordingly. U know that PC key promts are necessary to understand how to play a game right? On a KEYBOARD? seems not. And how im supposed to remember your controls? by manually writing them on a paper?...So, we, pepole live in 2021 when devs live in a whole different dimension. They think that people are born with full sync of Playstation understanding into their one soul and play games accordingly. U know that PC key promts are necessary to understand how to play a game right? On a KEYBOARD? seems not. And how im supposed to remember your controls? by manually writing them on a paper?... It some sort of a weird torture that u find pleasing? It gets worse when u see a dated graphics that need a monster of a graphic card to run. U just messed up with every step u took. And it seems that u dont care, cuz your only purpose was to sell a game for a second time for PC. And u only care about your PS4 version. U know what? if u treat your players like **** they will treat u the same. Dont by this hell of a game. if it possible play a PS4 version Expand
  17. Feb 7, 2021
    1
    the biggest problem of this atrocious port are controls: keyboard is unusable because you'll find playstation buttons incons everywhere in the game for every single new thing you learn or new skill; controls are not intuitive and you'll have big troubles in accomplishing combos; gamepads are useless too, because any of them will be painful to use as the game was meant to be played withthe biggest problem of this atrocious port are controls: keyboard is unusable because you'll find playstation buttons incons everywhere in the game for every single new thing you learn or new skill; controls are not intuitive and you'll have big troubles in accomplishing combos; gamepads are useless too, because any of them will be painful to use as the game was meant to be played with playstation controller, and any other controller you'll use will get very uncomfortable. All those aspects affect playability in such a manner your only wish is to stop playing the game. Other problems of this port I found: terrible way of pausing the game, you have to press Esc and then in the menu you have to press again G (or other mapped button you wish). This makes for you impossible to glance towards the key bindings in the menu as by only pressing Esc the games doesn't pause itself, the character is freezed but enemies will move and assault you. You will be killed stupidly. Also, visually the game is a step behind in compared to Sekiro, textures are bland and not good to look at, levels design is just average and sluggish. I don't suggest you to buy the game, it's not worth 50+ quids Expand
  18. Feb 7, 2021
    0
    Worst game I ever played, totally uncontrollable. Buttons go crazy on screen, Yokai skills can't be used because controls are crazy and difficult, like someone drunk designed them. Tried 3 different gamepads: Logitech f310, Orda and Gamesir T4 pro but I haven't solved the problem. When trying with mouse and keyboard is even worse and challenging enemies means clear defeat
  19. Feb 9, 2021
    0
    I found it impossible to play the game with such bad keyboard controls. I hope they will be able to patch it soon because progression in the game is stronly jeopardised by that, some combos can't be performed by no means. Graphics is another very week point, it seems very outdated and uninspired
  20. Feb 16, 2021
    1
    **** ****************************************************************************************************************************************************************************
  21. Feb 16, 2021
    0
    Its pure **** ****. Too lazy to use icons for pc and asks u a lot of effort for a **** game like itself.
  22. Feb 8, 2021
    0
    It feels rushed. Graphics cannot live up expectations of a 2021 game, it rather looks like a game from five years ago, colors, world and textures look generic. There is also a strong issue concerning playability, moves are very hard to be executed with a keyboard because key bindings are weird and redundant so as you progress the game you realize certain skills are totally out of range,It feels rushed. Graphics cannot live up expectations of a 2021 game, it rather looks like a game from five years ago, colors, world and textures look generic. There is also a strong issue concerning playability, moves are very hard to be executed with a keyboard because key bindings are weird and redundant so as you progress the game you realize certain skills are totally out of range, except in the case you own a ps4 controller + ps4 console. The game plays very unpolished. All the fun is diminished by many setbacks Expand
  23. Feb 13, 2021
    0
    Good graphics, runs like crap sometimes though and the engine gets really slow.

    So satisfying, haven't finished though.
  24. Feb 10, 2021
    0
    I don't understand people rating 10 this rushed port. Did they actually play this game on PC? They did no efforts in making the game beautiful visually, one has the impression to play a game from last decade instead. You don't realize you're playing a PC game, but a rushed console port and all environments seem ordinary and lousy. Not only that, but the game is very demanding, having aI don't understand people rating 10 this rushed port. Did they actually play this game on PC? They did no efforts in making the game beautiful visually, one has the impression to play a game from last decade instead. You don't realize you're playing a PC game, but a rushed console port and all environments seem ordinary and lousy. Not only that, but the game is very demanding, having a 2080ti I barely hit 43 fps on 2160p and this is not acceptable. Controls are bad too, making combos a nighmare to be performed during battles and causing deaths after deaths. Overall, there is nothing I liked from it. Forgettable port and full of issues Expand
  25. Feb 10, 2021
    0
    visally ugly game, empty world, bland sky and water, generic textures. HDR mode is a joke and adds nothing. Controls are 100% for the PS4 version, PC gamers are not considered at all. They didn't care about this port, no effort in working for it. Just like giving PC gamers a PS4 copy of the game with no adjustment. The game feels rough
  26. Feb 20, 2021
    0
    I honestly expected a better port for pc, but it is terribly bad, play the ps4 version if you can because the pc version is horrible.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Feb 25, 2021
    85
    Nioh 2 Complete Edition is not a flawless PC port and is not technically stable, but still delivers for those who never had the chance to try it on PS4.
  2. Feb 21, 2021
    86
    Nioh 2 is more about refining its core gameplay than making radical changes. By adding extra layers of depth to its well-tempered mechanics, it offers a high-quality Action-RPG which retains its unique identity, despite some technical issues. Last but not least, it's a more inviting experience this time around, but as it happens with all Souls-like games, player's commitment is mandatory to progress.
  3. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    Nioh 2 – The Complete Edition is a phenomenal game. And while I would personally recommend getting it on PS4 over PC due to personal circumstances, there really isn’t a whole lot else to say about this game that isn’t some form of praise. If you’re a fan of the original Nioh, or soulslike games in general, this is absolutely something worth picking up. And for those of you who aren’t so accustomed to games like this one? Well, so long as you go in with the right mindset and strive to keep improving yourself, you should end up loving it, too.