Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Aug 28, 2018
    71
    Social commentary delivered with baseball bat subtlety, Not Tonight owes a huge debt to Papers, Please, but finds its own voice in the bit-parts of post-Brexit Britain.
  2. games(TM)
    Oct 4, 2018
    70
    A flawed but enjoyable rework of Papers, Please. [Issue#205, p.84]
  3. CD-Action
    Jan 9, 2019
    65
    The developers took on a difficult subject and tripped. They managed to conjure a proper dystopian setting, but the story is too shallow to make a proper impression. [11/2018, p.79]
  4. Sep 3, 2018
    65
    Not Tonight is Papers, Please-like set in a post-Brexit GB; it sounds good, but it misses some points.
  5. Sep 11, 2018
    60
    It’s hard to recommend Not Tonight, which is a shame as I like the idea. If the execution had been better, this could have been a great game. As it is, it’s a competent clone of a better game.
  6. Aug 18, 2018
    60
    Not Tonight proves that the Papers Please formula can work in a less soviet setting, but the experience is slightly diminished by the transplant. Yet it’s eccentricities remain endearing, with characters, landscapes and a haunting sound of muffled music that will be rambling around my skull for a little while yet.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Sep 13, 2018
    9
    This game feels like Papers Pleas and plays similar to Papers Pleas. Game play is easy and story is rich.
  2. Aug 9, 2020
    8
    This game takes care of my "Papers, Please" fix - since Lucas Pope apparently is never updating the game to run on 64 bits machines or theThis game takes care of my "Papers, Please" fix - since Lucas Pope apparently is never updating the game to run on 64 bits machines or the Nintendo Switch. I love these kind of pseudo-emulation games, and the story is not bad. I love the fact that I can take this on the go. Full Review »
  3. Feb 6, 2020
    10
    Ya love this, its come out on Switch too and i have it on PC but think it might work better on Switch due to the buttons. Also switch versionYa love this, its come out on Switch too and i have it on PC but think it might work better on Switch due to the buttons. Also switch version has all dlc i dont have the PC Dlc yet but probably will. Full Review »