Overcooked! Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Overcooked is a chaotic couch co-op cooking game for one to four players. Working as a team, you and your fellow chefs must prepare, cook and serve up a variety of tasty orders before the baying customers storm out in a huff.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Overcooked - Co-op Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Aug 8, 2016
    90
    Overcooked is a game that could lead the return of the good old couch party games. The kitchens in this game can bring a real chaos to your home, but also lots of fun for you and your best friends.
  2. Aug 1, 2016
    86
    One of the most fun and challenging local co-op games ever made, but the single-player experience is less thrilling, making the lack of online play disappointing.
  3. CD-Action
    Oct 14, 2016
    85
    One of the best party games ever made – and I don’t even like cooking. [10/2016, p.65]
  4. Aug 1, 2016
    80
    Overcooked has so much to offer for someone who loves playing games with their friends but, for those of you lone wolves, single player is a little bit of a drag.
  5. Aug 10, 2016
    80
    Overcooked is a very funny game, with a good number of content and a brilliant level design. The lack of online multiplayer is the only real flaw of the work published by Team17.
  6. 80
    While it's not nearly as enjoyable as a solo outing, Overcooked is one of the best party games we've played in years. Just make sure you bring some friends or family along for the ride.
  7. Aug 9, 2016
    70
    The game has a simplistic style but still feels playful and vibrant, with a fun narrative giving the gameplay purpose. I would certainly recommend this game if you like a challenge or playing with friends.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Dec 5, 2016
    10
    It's probably the best co-op game I've played. Most co-op games just require 2 or more people to be playing in the same screen, and that's allIt's probably the best co-op game I've played. Most co-op games just require 2 or more people to be playing in the same screen, and that's all the "co-op" you get. In this case, you really need to comunicate and coordinate with your teammates, or you are screwed.

    I've played together with my wife (who's not a gamer), and with different groups of friends, and always had a blast playing. Great game, it really deserves more attention. The only downside is the lack of multiplayer. Hopefully that will be fixed in the future.
    Expand
  2. Aug 14, 2016
    10
    Very fun game to play with your girlfriend/boyfriend. Even if she/he doesn't like video game in general. Game is very easy to grasp andVery fun game to play with your girlfriend/boyfriend. Even if she/he doesn't like video game in general. Game is very easy to grasp and understand but can be very challenging. I had a lot of laughs moment.
    It is possible to play co op with one on keyboard and one on controller. You can even share a controller for 2 players. Im not sure but i think it should supports a wide range of controller, not only x360. It's nice they thought of this. The music is nice, graphics are cute and it runs perfect on my laptop which is mid/low range gaming laptop (i7 3,20ghz and gtx 860m) This game is meant to be played on local co op only thought. No Solo, no online. So it's very specific. One of the best local co op game experience I ever had, along with Nidhogg.
    Expand
  3. Mar 19, 2017
    10
    Diner Dash has never been this much fun! I'm having a hard time not liking this game because of how loud me and my friends get. Having toDiner Dash has never been this much fun! I'm having a hard time not liking this game because of how loud me and my friends get. Having to shout profanities so that your so-called "friend" would get the dishes out in time just gives the game such charm. I do hope the developer will continue to support this and add new challenges, cooking methods or even add meals-- like with drinks and sidings just to make it more fun to play with Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2016
    9
    Overcooked is a thrilling fast pace chief game, that succeeds at being a fun co-op experience. However it's clunky controls, and missingOvercooked is a thrilling fast pace chief game, that succeeds at being a fun co-op experience. However it's clunky controls, and missing online features really holds the game back from being truly fantastic. I'm begging for more maps and creative game play! Good work TEAM 17, without a doubt one of the funnest indie games this year! Expand
  5. Apr 29, 2018
    9
    A fun party game that is always a great laugh every time I play. Although a better experience with friends, this game can be played on yourA fun party game that is always a great laugh every time I play. Although a better experience with friends, this game can be played on your own by switching between two characters instead of one. Expand
  6. Jul 15, 2019
    8
    Overcooked is a game where you and a friend discover why you are either an amazing team or why the other person is a lazy stupid maggotOvercooked is a game where you and a friend discover why you are either an amazing team or why the other person is a lazy stupid maggot muncher. Ask yourself do you love your SO? Do you respect them and cherish them? Sure ya do... But you won't when THEY CANT MAKE A SINGLE SIMPLE ONION SOUP.....
    https://youtu.be/Gdu9qCb-85Q
    Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2016
    0
    can't redefine keyboard controls.unacceptable.they are very simple,but not being able to redefine them to your needs is not something that cancan't redefine keyboard controls.unacceptable.they are very simple,but not being able to redefine them to your needs is not something that can be accepted in this time and age. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings