Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 980 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: PAYDAY 2 is a four-player co-op shooter that has you sporting the masks of the original PAYDAY gang – Dallas, Hoxton, Wolf and Chains – as they hit on Washington D.C. for an epic crime rampage. The new CRIMENET network offers a vast array of dynamic contracts - choose anything from small-time store rips, cyber-crime or major bank vaults for that lucrative PAYDAY. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    95
    Payday 2 is a Co Op game. While it might have benefitted with a cool story arc for a single player mode the game offers a great outing with 3 other friends for an experience that will keep having you come back for more. Payday is simply put the improved, polished and closest experience you’ll find to robbing an actual bank. It’s just legal.
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    86
    The many missions and unlockables also offer plenty of food for many hours raid pleasure.
  3. Aug 18, 2013
    83
    As it stands right now, Payday 2, while it won’t be for everyone, is a lot of fun. Although the stealth mechanics are basic, there’s enough strategic depth and teamwork required so that stealthing missions can be challenging, and extremely satisfying when successful.
  4. Aug 13, 2013
    80
    If you have some friends to play a shooter with, this is a great choice. It's not perfect, but is bigger and better than the previous one, which means even more fun.
  5. Aug 26, 2013
    80
    The bottom line is that I’m complaining because the action, the gunplay, the visuals, the demanding teamwork, the ultimate sense of gratification from leveling up and mastering the levels are all pretty much unparalleled, even if they could have been situated into a better gameplay structure. Payday 2 is a wonderful shooter that stands alone in a genre full of me-toos, wanna-bes, and coulda-beens.
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    79
    Smart co-op shooting slightly undermined by poor stealth mechanics and dogged insistence on withholding the best toys.
  7. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    The disappointing Payday 2 is a sequel in the loosest sense of the word, with minor and unsuccessful updates to the gameplay, hindered with uninspired scenarios and terrible AI.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 60 out of 287
  1. Aug 13, 2013
    10
    So much fun coop. Huge improvement on the first one and the replay value is insane with the map changing geometry, I got 40 hours clocked up on just the 6 heists that are in the beta! For the price you pay you cant go wrong! Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    This game is awesome, the graphics have been improved a lot and other features like putting bodies in bags make this gamer exiting. This is a good game, the price es good only 30 dollars and you will have a lot of fun playing with your friends. There are people who say that the game closes all the time and crashes, but it doesn't happen often just one time after playing five hours if this happens again. I remain you that all new games that are released suffer this kind of problems but then are fixed and the games become good to play. Overkill is making efforts releasing many updating for the improvement of the game to solve these issues described above. For these people who say that the game is not worthy let me tell you that all of you are wrong. Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    Im enjoying it as much as I have with left for dead 2, the co-op is priceless, not only have I been searching for co-op games, but I have found one that has rpg elements Expand
  4. Nov 8, 2013
    8
    The game is just amazing...I can't find another word to describe this hell of a game.The crazy soundtrack which is playing during heists will keep you plugged in literally!Also the game is kept updated almost every week.We have events and news almost all the time.If you are in the official steam group then your news for this game will come faster.Good game. Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    If you enjoyed left for deads co-op focus and overall design goals but thought that the survivors should have been robbing banks and pulling off other high stakes heists then this is the game for you.

    Plenty of mission variety with branching paths, player customization it's all here and it works.

    The only faults I can think of are that the vote kick system and other host tools can be easily abused all together more humanity's flaws then the games. Easily worth the price.
    Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2013
    6
    In short: Payday 2 has it's charm, as well as it's issues.
    PROS: Concept, fun co-op, sound, skill-trees, dynamic map parts, shooting, level
    of customization.
    CONS: AI, lag, no host migration, losing connections, random loot, partial hitboxes, forced dynamic shadows, sound bugs, no cloaker.
    If those issues were fixed, would give it an 8. With 10 more heists and overkill 145+ difficulty, it's a 9. Such a shame it's not there, at least not yet.
    Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2014
    0
    From launch until Death Wish I loved this game, me and a group of friends (we aren't very good) we quickly playing Overkill heists which felt wrong - but this was patched and knocked us down to Hard loud heists and Overkill stealth heists. We were fine with this because we were having fun.

    The Death Wish patch has ruined stealth, in my opinion (although it is echoed on Steam forums) and although the loud heists are relatively unaffected by the latest patch, I feel like I am only getting half of the game now, so for now I have sidelined the game and am hoping for a patch to correct what they have done. I would love to rate this game 9, possibly even the full 10, but that was a couple of days ago and this is now.

    Current state: Awful
    Expand

See all 287 User Reviews