Punch Club Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 121 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Train hard, fight crocodiles and find love. Earn your place in the Punch Club ranks, and discover who brutally murdered your father, in this choose your own adventure boxing management tycoon.
  • Developer: Lazy Bear Games
  • Genre(s): Sports, Simulation, Virtual, Individual, Combat, Career, Boxing / Martial Arts
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jan 14, 2016
    90
    Lazy Bear Games have created a retro themed-world that is wonderfully entertaining and simply must be experienced by gamers far and wide.
  2. Jan 24, 2016
    80
    The final score-card on Punch Club is that it packs a huge amount of game into a tiny little package. This game, despite its cutesy appearance, is actually a pretty deep and sophisticated recreation of a struggling fighter’s life.
  3. Apr 6, 2016
    80
    Punch Club is not a game for everyone. Fans of the genre will love it, but a certain repetitiveness makes it not recommended to those looking for adrenaline and action in a videogame.
  4. Jan 22, 2016
    75
    Truly an homage to the glorious eighties, Punch Club is an interesting project with a good challenge level, partially ruined by passive fights and a repetitive campaign.
  5. Apr 6, 2016
    70
    25% point-and-click and 75% sports manager that starts out light-footed and turns into a heavy slugger towards the end.
  6. Jan 22, 2016
    70
    While it wasn’t at all what I expected, I found myself enjoying it more than I probably would have, had it been the brawler I anticipated.
  7. Feb 4, 2016
    40
    In a nutshell, Punch Club acted like a stamina-fueled boxer and wore me down. Over time I found myself loathing the training process I originally felt happy progressing in. What started as a fun progression from nobody to star became a tedious task of increasing numbers that may or may not affect the outcome of a fight.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Jan 18, 2016
    10
    Nice game! RPG with elements of the sandbox. FIGHT CLUB in 16 bits! Nearly.
    Well it is killing time. It's nice to kick ass to those who stand
    Nice game! RPG with elements of the sandbox. FIGHT CLUB in 16 bits! Nearly.
    Well it is killing time. It's nice to kick ass to those who stand in your way a champion!
    Better some AAA projects (you know ;D).
    Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2016
    9
    Awsome RPG , Retro Graphics , Very Good Gameplay , Stadistics Like The Sims , i love this game , im the day 49 with 4 of strenght , 5Awsome RPG , Retro Graphics , Very Good Gameplay , Stadistics Like The Sims , i love this game , im the day 49 with 4 of strenght , 5 agilty and its a little difficult , 9/10 Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2016
    9
    Love it! A great combination of tycoon&rpg&strategy. After hundreds of fights, I still enjoy watching how the opponents are being crushed :)Love it! A great combination of tycoon&rpg&strategy. After hundreds of fights, I still enjoy watching how the opponents are being crushed :) The story created from pieces of all those Rocky-like movies produced in 80's, is exaggeratedly elementary, but it makes you smile a lot! The game is not so simple though, it took me about 10 hours to complete 80% of the game, and now I'm already thinking of re-starting my journey. Collapse
  4. Mar 14, 2016
    5
    This is a game that does so many things right, but what it does poorly is what I remember most. The simple gist is that you are a youngThis is a game that does so many things right, but what it does poorly is what I remember most. The simple gist is that you are a young fighter trying to rise up to the top of the ranks to find your fathers killer. If that sounds heavy, it's not. The game instead is littered with apt pop culture and movie references from things like Rocky, Fight Club, Pulp Fiction and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles to name a few. I found them to be cheesy but not unwelcomed. The problem is that those "references" become the story. Instead of meeting Tyler Durden in a cool easter egg like way, he is a quest giving NPC. By quest I mean he offers a ladder based set of fights to partake in. He is only one of many NPC's that offer the same. The fights themselves are kinda broken at least with the version I played back in January. It is far too easy to beat opponents once you learn to exploit simple game breaking mechanics. All in all you have to maintain 3 stats. Each of those stats has a talent tree, and each talent tree has abilities that you use in fights. Early on this was a very interesting system that seemed to offer quite a bit of diversity...After a 4-5 hours in though, you realize it really doesn't. This game is just simply poorly balanced. What held my attention though was not the fighting but the style. It sports a wonderful modern retro presentation with great 8-16 bit style graphics and the music to go with it. Neither are ground breaking, but for people that like those aesthetics it's a fun world to be in. The story though.....I wanted so much to enjoy this story. All the weird people you meet and work for. All the movie referenced scenes. All the zaniness that could have been so much more instead stay well past their welcome. The latter third especially. I honestly almost didn't complete it but I wanted to see the ending! The second to last section of this game is an infuriating waste of time. Having to balance funds, fame and stats to keep going. This is by far the most tedious portion of the game. The game is still lazily trying to be cute with its movie ties but I hated it for doing that while I was just being a robotic button pusher on the other side of the screen. Then I found the ending. Let's just sum it up to say - I wish Bob Newhart would just pop up and tell me it was all a dream. This is such a lazy non ending with absolutely 0% effort or care. It's not funny it's not clever. It's pure garbage and I spent 12 hours of my life to see it. 5/10 Expand
  5. Jan 17, 2016
    5
    Poor gameplay that ends in about 8 hours in game, lots of, I'm sorry, but insanely idiotic developer's decisions, no auto combats or forcePoor gameplay that ends in about 8 hours in game, lots of, I'm sorry, but insanely idiotic developer's decisions, no auto combats or force fight finish (that gives you tonns of annoying moments), lack of musics, bad skill system that never gives you that feel "Yeah, I've become more powerful", no in combat controls, a lot of bugs and... I don't really want to continue it, The game is just... meh. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2016
    5
    I spent the weekend playing Punch Club. While the game starts off fairly fun, the amount of grinding involved in the game quicly becomesI spent the weekend playing Punch Club. While the game starts off fairly fun, the amount of grinding involved in the game quicly becomes apparent and show's Punch Club's true nature.

    A "boxing sim" in the loosest terms possible. You are a struggling street fighter on a quest to avenge your murdered father. The game is pretty simple, work to earn money, use that money to buy food and access to the local gym and train your stats.

    I wouldn't have nearly as many problems with Punch Club's level of grind if it weren't for the awful decision to include stat regression as a game mechanic. If you are not constantly training your character, their stats will decrease and by quite a bit. Even when you are TRAINING every new day your stats will decrease, so even if you spent 24 hours in the gym, the second it's a new day, you'll lose progress.

    This in itself wouldn't be such a big deal if you could continue to build your stats at a speedy pace, the issue with this game though, is while you will eventually have access to some limited new equipment to train, none of it is ever really better then the older stuff. You'd think as the game progresses, you'd be able to unlock better gear to really get into shape, but that isn't the reality.

    The game takes inspiration from classic movies like Rocky, even going as far as taking names and character concepts from the movies. There's even plot point that closely resembles the films. What the game actually lacks are the amazing movie training montages.

    I think that this was a real missed oppertunity for the developers. There should have been some sort of training montage mechanic that allowed you to really boost your stats. I don't know why they didn't include it, as it would have fit in really well.

    The game also misses the chance to grow your character in other ways. You'll never buy better clothes for yourself, or cars, or nicer homes. You'll always take the bus, or walk and while you may "move into" nice homes, they aren't yours and you get changed by your promoter to live there.

    In the end, while Punch Club has some cool ideas and concepts, it focuses too much on the numbers and not enough on fun and campiness of the actual movie genre they were trying to emulate. If they would have fleshed the game out a little more, added more for the player to do, it would have been much better.
    Expand
  7. Jan 10, 2018
    2
    The game is rigged so you always have to grind. All of your stats decrease every day if you don't train. It gets so dumb that at the end ofThe game is rigged so you always have to grind. All of your stats decrease every day if you don't train. It gets so dumb that at the end of the game you loose 20% of a level per day and you can possibly get about 20%-25, so you can only raise your stat by about 1-5%

    Also the ending fight glitched out.
    I just got the credits screen and it kicked me back to the main menu, if I try to go back and redo it just freezes on the fight scene.

    On top of that the dev refuses to fix the GOG version. Apparently it's because of the pirate copies originating from the GOG version of the game.
    Expand

See all 23 User Reviews