RAGE Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1717 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An action game set in a post-apocalyptic landscape jam-packed with driving and shooting, created by John Carmack and the rest of the Doom crew.
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Rage - Gamespot Exclusive E3 Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 32
  2. Negative: 1 out of 32
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    In terms of RAGEs story, there is a lot of wasted potential in this otherwise brilliant shooter. The same could be said for the technical side of things, as RAGE undoubtedly looks good, but far from brilliant, "thanks" to its multiplatform-roots. Nevertheless: id's newest IP offers great atmosphere, spot-on gunplay, cool weapons, funny vehicle-combat and solid graphics; that leaves us hoping for Carmack's promised texture-patch.
  2. Oct 13, 2011
    86
    A must have for both fans of FPS and sandbox games because it succeeds in both genres. An addictive and furiously violent videogame that will be breathtaking for every action fan.
  3. Oct 6, 2011
    85
    It may lack the open-world versatility of S.T.A.L.K.E.R and Fallout 3, the weapon diversity and sheer madness of Borderlands, yet it manages to provide thrilling corridor action and surprisingly well crafted racing that reasserts id's lofty position in the studio charts.
  4. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Technically, Rage excels. The shooter mechanics are fantastic and the enemies vary in their tactics. However, the game starts to drag towards the (sudden) end, and the save system irritates.
  5. Oct 31, 2011
    80
    Rage won't change the FPS landscape, but it's beautiful to see in motion and a bombastic delight to play. [Dec 2011, p.52]
  6. Oct 21, 2011
    70
    I wasn't expecting miracles - the word "revolution" hasn't been associated with id Software for a long time. But still I was expecting an 8/10 game and even during E3 it seemed Rage would be just that. Unfortunatelly sometimes things simply don't work that way. Various flaws of the game - beginning with a fairly short single player, ending with technical issues - don't allow me to call it a well made product. I had fun, but that's not enough to praise a game that doesn't belong on a shelf labeled "hit".
  7. 45
    The threadbare story is filled with pointless motivations, poorly realised characters and bad dialogue - so cross out 'wanting to know what happens at the end'. The way the game challenges you is by simply sending more of the same at you and hoping you run out of ammo. It doesn't have story, it doesn't have gameplay - so why would you keep playing?

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    A thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the gameA thoroughly enjoyable game. It has all the plus points - good gameplay, impressive graphics, great music. I cannot wait to complete the game with all the possible side quests. John Carmack has given one more winner. Expand
  2. Oct 8, 2011
    9
    I have to say that i'm truly astounded by the ratings of 0 and 1 here,after 25 hours of game time so far not had any issue's,game runs veryI have to say that i'm truly astounded by the ratings of 0 and 1 here,after 25 hours of game time so far not had any issue's,game runs very smoothly,no tearing or missing textures and 65fps. The game is beautiful as far as the graphics go,so much attention to detail,sound is wonderful and music is grand,control is a breeze and never had a single crash,very similar to Borderlands so i'm very happy as that is a favourite of mine,RAGE just feels like an extension of Borderlands if truth be told,this is more than i could have hoped for and works perfectly on my GT 440,for me this works perfectly and couldn't ask for more and certainly looks better than the 360 and ps3 versions as the pc doesn't have the same restrictions,a class act and i'm sure will get even better with more content and indeed a patch or two but for me it works great so a patch isn't required,90 % from me and yes am an indie developer and been playing hundred's of games since 1978. Expand
  3. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    First of all, I'd like to point out that I have not finished the story yet as I've not got much time for gaming lately, but have been spendingFirst of all, I'd like to point out that I have not finished the story yet as I've not got much time for gaming lately, but have been spending considerable hours with the game.

    When the game first launched, I read about all those texture popping issues, and then there was issues with people with AMD GPUs not being able to play the game due to lack ( which IMO is caused by technonoobs that tried to max the game with a crappy HD5570 2GB ddr3) .

    The former issue was OK and didn't hinder gameplay and was just annoying, mostly fixed with the 1st update, yet still occurs slightly in some areas, but the latter problem regarding AMD GPUs......Im a bit skeptical as I myself is a proud owner of a Radeon 6950 GPU and is currently playing the game at50fps++ with 8*MSAA.

    Graphics are great, would look better if the colors are more intensive,
    characters are ok, story ( so far) is meeting my expectations and gameplay elements are not bad, the only problem I have now is with it's annoying saving system that doesn't auto save or not allow you to save between 2 intervals in some areas/missions which is a bit annoying if you die.
    Expand
  4. Nov 25, 2011
    5
    I am a big fan of Bethesda, so this game was a bit of a disappointment. Instead of an open world, it is quite linear. It still is some fun,I am a big fan of Bethesda, so this game was a bit of a disappointment. Instead of an open world, it is quite linear. It still is some fun, but not compared to other games out there. If you want to skip the driving, go with Fallout New Vagas. Want vehicles? Borderlands. Don't bother with this one. Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    3
    The game doesn't adapt to the PC that it is running on. Even with low graphic settings it still had issues running on a computer that runsThe game doesn't adapt to the PC that it is running on. Even with low graphic settings it still had issues running on a computer that runs every other game perfectly fine. The game play is substandard. Bad physics, bad driving (even though the game is heavily based in driving), and the story line isn't grasping like other games of the genre. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    1
    Baddest optimisation ever. I didnt got it to work on my i7 930, Corsair C4 2x2GB, HIS Radeon HD6950.
    I was trying update drivers, change
    Baddest optimisation ever. I didnt got it to work on my i7 930, Corsair C4 2x2GB, HIS Radeon HD6950.
    I was trying update drivers, change config files, use patches. No way for start campaign.
    Carmack fully change my minds about ID Software. This fail means more then Doom 3 previously.
    Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2012
    0
    The game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I'veThe game doesn't work, it runs smooth but textures are bugged, spent two days trying everything, it won't work for me. I kinda feel like I've been stolen, we should all bring them to court and get our money back, you can't get stuff that doesn't work on the market and steal peoples money like that, this should not be legal... Expand

See all 685 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.