Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 4 out of 21
  1. Sep 14, 2016
    45
    ReCore buries a great action platformer beneath layers and layers of open world busywork.
  2. Nov 1, 2016
    40
    Starts with so much promise, but eventually becomes an experience as barren as the desert it's set in. [Issue#256, p.61]
  3. Sep 18, 2016
    40
    In a market where fresh faces are constantly churning out promising new content, seeing a game as sloppy, unpolished and archaic as ReCore being produced by such experienced minds is downright heartbreaking. The game shows promise in its early hours, but after seeing the whole thing, I can’t recommend ReCore in good conscience.
  4. Sep 14, 2016
    40
    The combat, platforming, crafting and customization, even the parts of the story that work were clearly built with care and seem like they'll amount to a really engaging game with a lovable cast of characters and an intriguing world, but the game's rampant problems are just impossible to look past. This game deserved to be so much more.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Sep 12, 2016
    Too much content is missing. The plot is thin; the upgrades aren't meaningful; and the developers clearly ran out of steam (or, who knows, maybe budget) and put out what they'd gotten done in a certain amount of time.
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 146
  2. Negative: 52 out of 146
  1. Sep 14, 2016
    10
    Ignore the 'professional' review sites.
    Once again we have clear evidence how out of touch these sad little 'journalists' are incredibly out
    Ignore the 'professional' review sites.
    Once again we have clear evidence how out of touch these sad little 'journalists' are incredibly out of touch with what makes a good game.

    This is wonderfully polished for a non major studio. It looks gorgeous - the story is pleasant and amusing. Platforming, movement and combat is fun and the core game mechanics are great.

    This game takes you back to some of the glory days of gaming as it successfully mixes multiple genres into an incredibly satisfying package that rewards exploration and collection.

    I can't stop smiling while i play this.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 19, 2016
    9
    Jak 3 and Metroid Prime got together for a spot of tea, and this beautiful gem came out. Although the release of this game was rushed a bit,Jak 3 and Metroid Prime got together for a spot of tea, and this beautiful gem came out. Although the release of this game was rushed a bit, resulting in some unfortunate technical issues (what else is new), the old-school style gameplay more than makes up for these bugs. This is the sort of game that reminds me of why I got into gaming, and gives me hope that there are still developers out there that remember the glory of the PS2/GC era.
    If $40 is too much money for you (it is worth that price), make sure to watch this game and pick it up later for less. Don't let yourself miss this one.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2016
    8
    A charming game with lots of personality. If you liked games like Remember Me or Mirror's Edge, then you'll like this one. Interesting storyA charming game with lots of personality. If you liked games like Remember Me or Mirror's Edge, then you'll like this one. Interesting story and alien world setting. The gameplay is a mix of third person shooter with some light open-world exploration and RPG leveling and crafting. The movement system features jet boots, which allows for interesting movement and traversal. Overall I found the gameplay to be OK, but it gets a bit repetitive with the limited attack options. The PC version of the game is functional but is clearly a console port. There's almost no graphical options and there are some bugs with binding actions to certain keys. The game is also only available on the Windows 10 store. Full Review »