Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 27, 2021
    80
    Probably wait for a decent sale… but certainly worth a look if you enjoyed the original GTA (or the sequel).
  2. Sep 14, 2021
    80
    If Rustler suffers from anything, it’s just that it sometimes doesn’t quite know what it’s trying to be. Most of the time, it seems to be specifically trying to parody GTA, and it plays a just like the early top-down games from said series. The tone is a bit off-beat, though, with all the jokes, pop culture, and poking of fun. It might not be perfectly cohesive, but whether you’re here for the jokes or because you like games where you can be on the wrong side of the law, there is definitely something here for you. So if you aren’t easily offended by the copious amounts of cursing, blood, and violence, you should definitely give Rustler a go. Pull that guard off his horse, ride off, and don’t look back!
  3. Aug 31, 2021
    78
    Rustler finally arrives on PCs and consoles. If you are passionate and remember with joy the very first GTAs and have a heart close to the atmosphere and genius of groups like Monty Python, Rustler is right what it does for you.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 23, 2021
    Rustler is a brilliant and fun-filled game that is inspired by GTA but renews itself with great originality. [Early Access Score = 70]
  2. Feb 21, 2021
    Most of Rustler's mechanisms are directly inspired by the first GTA games. This, combined with the games Monty Python-inspired sense of humor, result in a truly unique blend. Some aspects, like the lack of manual or even checkpoint saves, might be a bit "too hardcore for today's world", but its Early Access status means that feedback can be received and that any shortcomings can be remedied. [Early Access review]
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10
  1. Sep 1, 2021
    3
    Criminally untapped potential for "comedic medieval". Boring missions, tone of stupid decisions, awful combat model and just bare bonesCriminally untapped potential for "comedic medieval". Boring missions, tone of stupid decisions, awful combat model and just bare bones gameplay. Constant appeal to Monty Python isn't funny and clever guys, y'know? Full Review »
  2. Oct 1, 2021
    8
    Thanks to this game I feel like I felt 20 years ago with gta 2. Different games, but same vibes. I enjoyed dum.b humour, medieval jokes,Thanks to this game I feel like I felt 20 years ago with gta 2. Different games, but same vibes. I enjoyed dum.b humour, medieval jokes, easter eggs. Stu.pid but so funny. Combat is okay, not great but it doesn't seem broken or cheap. Different weapons act differently.
    Missions are very simple, repetitive, but I just enjoyed the plot.
    Full Review »