User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 121 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 121
  2. Negative: 18 out of 121

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 9, 2021
    0
    Not to speak ill of anime fans, but is there a reason that they're such suckers for bad gameplay, story, pacing, really bad everything? Man, I really want to find the thing that's worth respecting here but I'm coming up less than short. Scarlet Nexus is both the worst video game of the year and the worst anime of the year. God, I am so embarrassed for anyone who enjoys this.
  2. Jun 28, 2021
    3
    PS 3 budget game that is released in 2021 and costs 60 $. Small, linear and faceless locations, boring, unpolished and repetitive gameplay that makes you lose all interest in it during prologue. Story plot is primitive and too trivial to get into, made for your typical mediocre anime fan base that rates stuff based on amount of girls and katana's. Most dialogues / cutscenes arePS 3 budget game that is released in 2021 and costs 60 $. Small, linear and faceless locations, boring, unpolished and repetitive gameplay that makes you lose all interest in it during prologue. Story plot is primitive and too trivial to get into, made for your typical mediocre anime fan base that rates stuff based on amount of girls and katana's. Most dialogues / cutscenes are unnecessary, and even though they are fully voiced they are made in a cheap way of animated comic.
    Gray and shameless cash grab.
    Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2021
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is no way to lock the enemy properly. It just keeps removing the lock at random.
    Old locations are empty, so there is no way to farm for resources to get a better weapon really fast. The resource I need just won't drop so I'm stuck with one of the worst weapons and I can't even upgrade it. There is also a ton of cosmetic items in the store I can't get for the same reason. Disappointed!
    The combat is fun and all, but the plot... oh man. The plot is just not doing it for me.
    - Hey, I've just killed your father. Imma kill you as well!
    - Let's just talk it out.
    Like, really? Really? Come on! And after the fight he be like "Oh no, she is escaping!". And wouldn't even follow or capture her.
    Imagine meeting a killer of your father irl. I bet you'd be more like 9S when he saw A2.
    Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2021
    0
    keyboard controls? forget about it they are so trash jesus crist

    controler controls? more playble than keyboard but they still so bad, its like they dotn respond to my "comands" i say to dodge it just stand still attacking its so bad.

    its sad ebcouse the game its fun but with no good controls theres no game here
  5. Jul 22, 2021
    0
    I preordered a dexulue version for ps4 pro with nvme drive.
    1. The plot is not related to the action at all.
    2. The action is like tedious work, assignments, like anything else but not a game. 3. when i play chapter 12, kasuna, i feel like vomiting, literally. You have to finsh 4 bosses at once, without any savedata points. I played it with 3 hours. Then, you need to deal with Karen,
    I preordered a dexulue version for ps4 pro with nvme drive.
    1. The plot is not related to the action at all.
    2. The action is like tedious work, assignments, like anything else but not a game.
    3. when i play chapter 12, kasuna, i feel like vomiting, literally. You have to finsh 4 bosses at once, without any savedata points. I played it with 3 hours. Then, you need to deal with Karen, another 3 hours meaningless. I need to hardly guess what I supposed to do by the game designers. Some are just cofusing. I am in an easy mode, and I am suspicious if so. I spent whole day meaninglessly.
    4. The plot is totally boring, and the action is pretty hard to control.
    5. The ps4 pro version is blur compare to other platforms. I know the game designers can unlock it to 4k, or at least optimize it, but they choose to lock the 1080, to promote ps5. I know this because my fan on ps4 pro didn't run fast. It makes me angry and disappoint.
    6. I regret to buy this game. I swear I will never preorder any game by capcom again. This is totally not worth any dollars, not to mention $80. I am really regretted.
    7. I have no fun to play this game. It just makes me anxious, it's ike a tedious assignment, homework back to high school, and the latter would be even better than this. Instead playing this game, it is much easier to read some books about philosophy and math, or do some school homework. The money is not worth at all.
    Despite all these cons, there are some pros:
    1. musics. During the snow mountain, the music is good.
    2. The whole game is at least playable, not like something like code vein.
    Some games are not games, they are just programs. I feel tortured playing this game. I didn't feel engaged at all. Not recommended.
    Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2021
    1
    The story, music, characters desing and visual are pretty good... However... the gameplay is terrible. I love hack and slash games. Bayonetta, Devil May Cry, Nier Automata, Astral Chain and even Kingdom Hearts... if love those, avoid this... for real.

    There isn't air combos, neither and only one ground combo. The "dodge" doesn't cancel attack animations, doesn't work when it's required
    The story, music, characters desing and visual are pretty good... However... the gameplay is terrible. I love hack and slash games. Bayonetta, Devil May Cry, Nier Automata, Astral Chain and even Kingdom Hearts... if love those, avoid this... for real.

    There isn't air combos, neither and only one ground combo. The "dodge" doesn't cancel attack animations, doesn't work when it's required and it's far from rewardful.

    Enemies have only two attacks each, easy to see and predict. However, because the commands don't respond, I died couple of times in the first boss because of this.

    Locking the camera to an enemy it's pointless. You will attack backwards or the air because of it...

    As said, the rest of the game looks cool and interesting, but the gameplay is ruining everything to the point I unninstall it.
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2021
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Where are the people standards? for me the game was insufferable, the pros: good characters desing, the story makes sense, music is good, and the playable is fine, but the characters and the narrative are awful, the progession system feels bad and the social interactions feel inhuman IDK "Spoiler alert" if someone kills your father you really would be that forgiving?, Yuito feels like a robot for me, like Kyoka and the stupid **** that try to kill you and you just don't care, then when they text you, you go to they like nothing happend?, it's even worst in the case of Kasane, but this game didn't deserve more words, I didn't expect a great game but I least whish to have fun, and neither of those things happend, If you didn't like Biomutant for sure you don't gonna like this one, the narrative issue together with the main characters makes this game maddening and I don't want even start with the level desing, the character development feels empty and please stop being so indulgent with all the games, if people keep doing that they just gonna get lazy with the things they develop, but for me this game is a hard pass, IDK play divinity 2 or something. Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2021
    3
    Gameplay is ok. The system works fine but is plagued by really bad design choices. Most moves lock you in the animation so no cancel or dodges allowed. The camera can't follow locked enemies properly. Some really basic combat moves are locked with skill points so it gets better after a couple hours but it stays average for an action game.

    Graphics are barely average too. You like the
    Gameplay is ok. The system works fine but is plagued by really bad design choices. Most moves lock you in the animation so no cancel or dodges allowed. The camera can't follow locked enemies properly. Some really basic combat moves are locked with skill points so it gets better after a couple hours but it stays average for an action game.

    Graphics are barely average too. You like the general design or not it's up to you. I don't. Texture quality is really low. The cell shading effect on character is drawn on them so it ignores light and movement. No widescreen support. It looks like a good mobile/switch game.

    Sound is pretty bad. Japanese voices are good as always. English ones are generic low budget anime level. All tracks are elevator music.

    The "RPG" part is really a let down. No character creation. No choices. Small maps and no exploration allowed. The character build system unlocks basic skills you should have from the start, so it feels like making the character complete and not building a play style.
    Story parts are slideshows. Even fights and big events are just still images.
    Expand
  9. Aug 13, 2021
    0
    Отличный сюжет, музыка, визуальная составляющая. Как любитель игр от японских разработчиков доволен полностью. Смотришь аниме и играешь в него 10/10. Отсутствие повестки и геев-негров-трансгендеров 10/10. Красивые, милые и при этом сильные женские персонажи 10/10. Немного показалась боевка деревянной, но я не фанат слешеров, сильно не мешало. В общем прошел на одном дыхании!Отличный сюжет, музыка, визуальная составляющая. Как любитель игр от японских разработчиков доволен полностью. Смотришь аниме и играешь в него 10/10. Отсутствие повестки и геев-негров-трансгендеров 10/10. Красивые, милые и при этом сильные женские персонажи 10/10. Немного показалась боевка деревянной, но я не фанат слешеров, сильно не мешало. В общем прошел на одном дыхании!
  10. Mar 27, 2022
    0
    Scarlet Nexus game is too hardcore, difficulty level doesn't matter,..........
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Feb 17, 2022
    60
    Scarlet Nexus is its own worse enemy. Bandai Namco is trying to fill game's own shoes with engaging fights and JRPG style story narative, but fails to deliver them in a proper way and especially with consistency. And don't try to play the game with keyboard, you do need a controller.
  2. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Sep 3, 2021
    78
    They tried to tell a very epic story on a very limited budget. A contrast like this sometimes really grates on my nerves, but, paradoxically, it’s also a part of Scarlet Nexus’ charm. [Issue#254, p.40]
  3. CD-Action
    Sep 1, 2021
    80
    Scarlet Nexus is all about combat. The fights are spectacular thanks to vibrant cel-shaded graphics, but primarily because the developers skillfully combined a couple of truly explosive ingredients: agile protagonists with psychokinetic talents, well-designed enemies, and the ability to unleash hell using the powers of your AI-controlled companions. As for the game’s downsides, the environments are repetitive and the writers failed to tie up all the loose ends and left some plot holes. [09/2021, p.54]