Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Feb 12, 2020
    90
    SD Gundam G Generation Cross Rays is as over-the-top as you’d expect from a semi-political mech game where teen pilots bite off more than they can chew. Every mode and option is there for the player to immerse themselves into this experience, and I simply couldn’t get enough of it. I hope to see more of the SD Gundam G series come west, but for now, this is the perfect introduction for those who haven’t played it yet.
  2. Dec 31, 2019
    82
    Don't let first impressions deter you away from Cross Rays, as you will be delightfully surprised at the amount of content and eye-candy it possesses.
  3. Dec 5, 2019
    79
    Four eras from the Gundam multiverse (Mobile Suit Gundam Wing, SEED, 00 and Iron-Blooded Orphans) in this last chapter of a 20+ years long turn-based strategy games saga. Long, full of contents and a little bit bland in the graphics compartment.
  4. Dec 30, 2019
    75
    Cross Rays still has room to improve for both presentation and gameplay elements, but the new changes result in a better game. In an era where many Gundam games are failing to improve over their predecessor, seeing Cross Rays try and succeed to be a better game is a much-needed sight. Hopefully the team at Tom Create keeps the trend going with the next one, because they have the foundation needed to create something special, especially if they make it a crossover entry.
  5. 70
    So while SD Gundam G Generation Cross Days may not be for everyone, I would definitely recommend it to fans of the series and fans of turned based tactics. With all of the series and side stories available to play, not to mention the sheer number of available units, there is more than enough to keep you busy for a long while... and this is just the start. This one has a season pass, and the promise of adding even more suggests that this game may well become a hobby in its own right.
  6. Dec 9, 2019
    70
    SD Gundam G Generation Cross Rays is a solid turn-based strategy game with many different campaigns, but the series and characters included are not the most popular ones.
  7. Dec 3, 2019
    70
    It’s a bit of an odd title, but one that should be relished by Gundam diehards and fans of more casual turn-based strategy alike. Now, if Bandai Namco can start cutting through some of the licensing nightmare so we can get a full Western release of a proper Super Robot Wars title, we’ll be well on our way to a gaming paradise.
  8. Jan 3, 2020
    60
    This game’s high potential is squandered by poor localization and presentation. I could let it go with that usual “fans are gonna love it” cliché, but fans don’t deserve such a badly explained game. It’s like getting a beautiful model kit as a present, with only a hammer to assemble it.
  9. Dec 13, 2019
    60
    It's a game that fans of the series will still most likely enjoy, but outside of that fandom others might find it tough going. Its presentation in cut scenes may make up for a lot of flaws, but those who prioritise gameplay mechanics over story will find their attention draining fast.
  10. Dec 18, 2019
    50
    I found the game very enjoyable in short game-play sessions. The drawn-out missions did play a part in the playability of the game but as luck would have it, I am such a huge Gundam fan I stuck with it. This title does feature Partial Controller support but as the interactions were limited, I found using the mouse and keyboard quicker and more fluid.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 12
  3. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. Jan 8, 2020
    10
    It good i have lots of fun playing this games the ost is good you shod buy it.
  2. Dec 9, 2019
    9
    It's a Gundam utopia for Gundam's fan like me. Superb animation fighting scene, and the OST music in the scene making me even more hype intoIt's a Gundam utopia for Gundam's fan like me. Superb animation fighting scene, and the OST music in the scene making me even more hype into the game story. It's the GUndam's game I am waiting for so long to exist. I will spend tons of hours in those high customize features and enjoy several Gundam tales.

    But it's may not take a hit to those who are new to Gundam and also who hate a complex customize features in game. Also remind that it dose not contain any UC Gundam series.
    Full Review »
  3. May 10, 2022
    8
    Cross Rays is a solid tactical RPG. The graphics are decent and the soundtrack is excellent. The UI could use more streamlining. CustomizationCross Rays is a solid tactical RPG. The graphics are decent and the soundtrack is excellent. The UI could use more streamlining. Customization options are excellent and the unlocking of new mobile suits and pilots is addicting. Cross Rays stays true to the source material.

    However, I find it odd that the Universal Century (UC) timeline was not included and that there is no 1440P resolution option. Also, the game randomly crashes sometimes when performing an action or right after watching an animation. Some of the missions are too long lasting up to an hour.

    Overall, Cross Rays is a fun and addicting tactical RPG and a love letter to Gundam fans! Thank you Bandai Namco for bringing Cross Rays to the West!
    Full Review »