Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 12, 2021
    80
    Falling somewhere between Dark Souls and Shadow of the Colossus, Shattered offers a huge, beautiful world full of secrets and shortcuts that’s a joy to explore, and adds platforming sequences to the mix. The game has a lot going for it, but it’s also full of bugs (minor but very numerous) and most of its bosses are rather bland. [04/2021, p.42]
  2. Feb 26, 2021
    79
    With its great art and world design Shattered draws you in. But the fighting system as well as some bugs dampen the spirits. Having said that, this is a decent souls-like.
  3. Feb 21, 2021
    75
    If there’s something appealing about the rougher, more ambitious project that calls to you, Shattered may well be worth taking the punt on. I can’t help but look at my time spent with Shattered fondly. It may not be a masterpiece, but its zeal is undeniable.
  4. 70
    In my 24-hour playthrough to the end of Shattered something came up that I have not experienced in any other souls like. I met a trader that traded in items I never saw or found. I also picked up multiple items that I found no purpose for, despite retracing steps to try and understand why they existed. These may be legacy concepts, gone on the full release. But it was interesting and added a level of bizarre mystique that left me to retravel the game’s path once I had seen an ending, in search of something more. And that appeal to go back despite the games flaws says something more than I can put into words.
  5. Feb 17, 2021
    70
    The biggest criticism that we can make to the title, it is its battles, rigid and imprecise when it is necessary to destroy the basic enemies (of which the bestiary is not very large), which you will have ample opportunity - or even the obligation - to do during your game, Shattered based like his fathers on a system of souls to be collected to improve his character.
  6. Mar 29, 2021
    65
    I really wanted to like Shattered – Tale of the Forgotten King, and there are definitely aspects of this game that are praiseworthy, but it wore me down through the constant repetition of fighting the same enemies with the same tactics and the frequent feeling of not knowing where exactly I was or where I was supposed to go. I’m sure there’s more to discover than I did by the time I found my way to a bad ending and the closing credits, but I don’t think I’ll be able to bring myself to dive back in and uncover it.
  7. Feb 17, 2021
    65
    Simultaneously engrossing while desperately in need of focus and polish, Shattered is a hard game to recommend in its current state. But its strengths will make it worth a look for fans of Souls-likes when more of its issues are ironed out.
  8. May 29, 2021
    60
    Shattered – Tale of the Forgotten King has so many things going for it. It looks absolutely stunning with its protagonist filled with jagged edges, its melancholic soundtrack with its twangy acoustic guitars, and the story behind its creation is super sweet and inspiring. However, this is a game that has been in early access for nearly two years. Steam is full of players offering suggestions in their reviews of what needs improving, but a lot of these repeated suggestions have not been taken on. Shattered needed to be worked on a bit more before it was smashed into pieces and served up to its audience.
  9. Mar 7, 2021
    50
    Shattered - Tale of the Forgotten King is a game set in a beautiful, stylised world that is sadly too opaque and flawed to recommend.
  10. Feb 21, 2021
    50
    Its visuals can be striking, but that's about all I can remember about my time with it. At this point, I've played plenty of Soulslikes. The ones that I did enjoy tried to play around with the formula in some way. But Shattered doesn't reinvent the wheel or even try to gussy it up. It's just a so-so Soulslike that tries to stand out by having the same aesthetic as The Corpse Bride. And that's simply not enough.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jun 29, 2021
    8
    Game has a great sense of scale and a really nice aesthetic, the combat is ok, not too great, but not horrible, the lore is dense and you areGame has a great sense of scale and a really nice aesthetic, the combat is ok, not too great, but not horrible, the lore is dense and you are compelling to explore the world trying to understand wth is going on, the game took me almost 20 hour to finish it, and have 5 different endings, it's is a nice addition to the souls like genre, my only complain is that's sometimes the game is too vague for his own good Full Review »