Sorcerer King Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Your Kingdom is the final hope against the malevolent Sorcerer King's quest to become a god and destroy the world in this asymmetrical 4X fantasy strategy title.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sorcerer King - Cinematic Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Jul 20, 2015
    95
    Tried and true mechanics combine with flexible customization and an interesting asymmetric challenge to create a fun, challenging game. Worth playing for both newcomers and fantasy TBS veterans alike. A dash of humor and sense of progress make the time fly by.
  2. Aug 16, 2015
    85
    Sorcerer King offers a nice strategic balance, and the feeling of carving a swath through a landscape already dominated by your enemy gives the game a fun, challenging feel.
  3. Jul 24, 2015
    82
    Stardock hits it out of the park with Sorcerer King. Turn-based strategy at its finest.
  4. Aug 10, 2015
    75
    Sorcerer King’s fatalistic themes are tied cleverly in to its mechanics, resulting in the first game in the Elemental series that really feels like it has a distinct identity.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 9, 2015
    70
    An interesting take on a classic genre, with some great writing and variably rich worlds to explore. [Sept 2015, p.62]
  6. Aug 27, 2015
    70
    In the end though, I put more time into each of the Age of Wonders III expansion packs than I put into Sorcerer King, because they were just better games.
  7. CD-Action
    Oct 17, 2015
    40
    I honestly don’t know who was the intended target group for Sorcerer King. There’s almost nothing fresh in this game to attract those who avoided 4X strategies and the genre’s veterans will snarl with disgust and return to much more complex Age of Wonders III. [10/2015, p.66]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Jul 16, 2015
    10
    I love the turn based 4x style game. I have played all of the stardock variations. And this one is simply brilliant. You have lost the war,I love the turn based 4x style game. I have played all of the stardock variations. And this one is simply brilliant. You have lost the war, now it is time to ensure you don't cease to exist. While the Sorcerer King is busy trying to destroy the shards in order to ascend to godhood you have to build your rag tag empire up out of the muck and not only prevent it happening but take him down. This game has the "just-one-more-turn" factor in spades. I have spent over 60 hours on it already and most of that was during beta development. If you enjoy fantasy 4x games then this is a must-get game. It is not difficult to get into it but the replay value is enormous and each time the game feels different. Different adversaries, different heroes and magic all make sure that the game has a great deal of variation. Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2015
    10
    This game is fantastic. Learning how to play, and surviving under the pressure of sorcerer king is a different kind of fun at first place.This game is fantastic. Learning how to play, and surviving under the pressure of sorcerer king is a different kind of fun at first place. The quests have humors, and the choices are tricky. I like the part that the troops can only get stronger by surviving. Thanks. Expand
  3. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    Had a lot of fun even though this is not my normal go to game type. I don't normally like turned based strategy but am a huge fantasy fan andHad a lot of fun even though this is not my normal go to game type. I don't normally like turned based strategy but am a huge fantasy fan and this game hit the spot. Expand
  4. Jul 21, 2015
    4
    Good concept but (like most of the recent Stardock titles) failed execution. You can see the reused assets from Fallen Enchantress...even theGood concept but (like most of the recent Stardock titles) failed execution. You can see the reused assets from Fallen Enchantress...even the glitches are still there.

    It is a very boring 4x fantasy game, even inferior to Fallen Enchantress as they removed what made that game interesting for the sake of streamlined gameplay. Tactical combat is devoid of any tactics, and the strategy element is devoid of any strategy. You just go from quest to quest collecting loot and leveling your champions (the only thing remotely interesting in this game) and pressing NEXT turn after turn. I fell asleep many times while playing the game, expecting something interesting to happen.

    I have no expectations the game will be better by the launch, such is the state it is now.
    Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2015
    4
    (This review based on the 1.0 release day version) The game is designed to give you a great initial impression in the opening acts, but after(This review based on the 1.0 release day version) The game is designed to give you a great initial impression in the opening acts, but after beating the game for the first time and having figured out how the game works, issues like the narrow scope, lack of replayability the many balance issues and iffy design choices will become apparent. Somehow, Stardock has managed to produce a game that ends up feeling lesser than its predecessors (Fallen Enchantress/Legendary Heroes) despite the fresh coat of paint over what is fundamentally the same base game. Expand
  6. Jul 16, 2015
    2
    I gave it less time than I normally would a 4x game as they are not a very good game format; legendary heroes changed my mind on that last andI gave it less time than I normally would a 4x game as they are not a very good game format; legendary heroes changed my mind on that last and I had hoped this would be a continuation on the work, it has some familiar options and other mimickery, but dissapointed me rather quick.

    This game adopts most aspects of civilization in reguards to city building and turns, it has a main character and as such makes use of rpg elements; the main game is simplified and the ui is more limited, the loot system imediatly turned me off.

    The grafix are undetailed, mediocre and bland unmemorable thing.

    I enjoy legendary heroes now and then, this game I will give a good go one more time to be fair, mabey I played too little to see it properly, some effort went into it, just seemed watered down.
    Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2015
    0
    I saw 3 minutes of this and knew exactly what this is. Its a redo of Fallen Enchantress because the moron that runs Stardock is incapable ofI saw 3 minutes of this and knew exactly what this is. Its a redo of Fallen Enchantress because the moron that runs Stardock is incapable of hiring anyone that is creative or knows anything about AI. Shame on you Stardock and my vow to keep you out of my wallet forever more still stands strong! Expand

See all 21 User Reviews