Sorcerer King Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 49 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Your Kingdom is the final hope against the malevolent Sorcerer King's quest to become a god and destroy the world in this asymmetrical 4X fantasy strategy title.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sorcerer King - Cinematic Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Jul 20, 2015
    95
    Tried and true mechanics combine with flexible customization and an interesting asymmetric challenge to create a fun, challenging game. Worth playing for both newcomers and fantasy TBS veterans alike. A dash of humor and sense of progress make the time fly by.
  2. Aug 16, 2015
    85
    Sorcerer King offers a nice strategic balance, and the feeling of carving a swath through a landscape already dominated by your enemy gives the game a fun, challenging feel.
  3. Jul 24, 2015
    82
    Stardock hits it out of the park with Sorcerer King. Turn-based strategy at its finest.
  4. Aug 10, 2015
    75
    Sorcerer King’s fatalistic themes are tied cleverly in to its mechanics, resulting in the first game in the Elemental series that really feels like it has a distinct identity.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Sep 9, 2015
    70
    An interesting take on a classic genre, with some great writing and variably rich worlds to explore. [Sept 2015, p.62]
  6. Aug 27, 2015
    70
    In the end though, I put more time into each of the Age of Wonders III expansion packs than I put into Sorcerer King, because they were just better games.
  7. CD-Action
    Oct 17, 2015
    40
    I honestly don’t know who was the intended target group for Sorcerer King. There’s almost nothing fresh in this game to attract those who avoided 4X strategies and the genre’s veterans will snarl with disgust and return to much more complex Age of Wonders III. [10/2015, p.66]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 21
  2. Negative: 11 out of 21
  1. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    Brilliant. It's as if they took Fallen Enchantress and fixed everything that was wrong with it. The UI makes MUCH more sense, it's intuitiveBrilliant. It's as if they took Fallen Enchantress and fixed everything that was wrong with it. The UI makes MUCH more sense, it's intuitive now. Crafting is fun. The doomsday clock adds excitement to lengthy campaign games. The map looks better now. No bugs or crashes after hours of play.

    Finally the tactical maps are much more fun. They look better and play better.

    I'm recommending this one to my friends. If you like fantasy strategy games, do yourself a favour and try this one.

    I notice there's a few very negative reviews out there - it might be that some people are still "punishing" stardock for the buggy mess they released last time. It's been known to happen before.

    Keep an open mind, and try this for yourself. It's currently my favorite strategy game.
    Expand
  2. Jul 21, 2015
    10
    Had a lot of fun even though this is not my normal go to game type. I don't normally like turned based strategy but am a huge fantasy fan andHad a lot of fun even though this is not my normal go to game type. I don't normally like turned based strategy but am a huge fantasy fan and this game hit the spot. Expand
  3. Jul 16, 2015
    10
    I love the turn based 4x style game. I have played all of the stardock variations. And this one is simply brilliant. You have lost the war,I love the turn based 4x style game. I have played all of the stardock variations. And this one is simply brilliant. You have lost the war, now it is time to ensure you don't cease to exist. While the Sorcerer King is busy trying to destroy the shards in order to ascend to godhood you have to build your rag tag empire up out of the muck and not only prevent it happening but take him down. This game has the "just-one-more-turn" factor in spades. I have spent over 60 hours on it already and most of that was during beta development. If you enjoy fantasy 4x games then this is a must-get game. It is not difficult to get into it but the replay value is enormous and each time the game feels different. Different adversaries, different heroes and magic all make sure that the game has a great deal of variation. Expand
  4. Jul 23, 2015
    4
    Once again I should have ignored the reviewers and listened to the owners/players. The concept is nice, but the rest of the game is weak, AIOnce again I should have ignored the reviewers and listened to the owners/players. The concept is nice, but the rest of the game is weak, AI is non-existent, graphics are primitive and show seams in places. I do like not having to juggle 50 different cities aka AWIII, but at the same time, what you do with the cities, how they progress feels very weak and lethargic and I guess very static.

    I'm still playing but as time goes on not totally sure I have the interest.

    I like the crafting thing, to a point. I like where it can be applied as it relates to the heroes, but I really feel like outfitting every darn soldier piece and knight and all also. There should be some more automated way of dealing with the rest of your armies. What feels a bit weak about the crafting however is that you really aren't seeking out any particular materials, you just randomly acquire them, and then even more randomly see new things you can craft. There's no mental connection between "Ah, I must get some of THIS.... so I can make ...THAT."

    None at all.

    Doomsday clock, no big issue as it turns out, a spell can wipe much of it out every few turns. The maps, even the random big ones, feel cramped, like the first civilization on the iPad.. no hexes here, blocky.

    Fallen Enchantress from a few years back, I thought, had far superior graphics and game play. This feels a bit like a ported iPhone app in many respects.
    Expand
  5. Feb 2, 2018
    3
    A pale and cut reincarnation of Fallen Enchantress. Doesn't worth to play, not speaking to buy.
    Previous commentators already said that - no
    A pale and cut reincarnation of Fallen Enchantress. Doesn't worth to play, not speaking to buy.
    Previous commentators already said that - no control over other races(you play humans all the time), no custom units, and idiotic crafting system. Such a disappointment
    Play warlock 2 better, or good old FE
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2016
    2
    I dont understand why this game was made. This is basically a phone version of Fallen Enchantress. They cut half of the features from FallenI dont understand why this game was made. This is basically a phone version of Fallen Enchantress. They cut half of the features from Fallen Enchantress (cant control races, make your own race, create units, etc) and they added absolutely nothing new aside from some items here and there while also cutting others. Graphics are not improved in any way. AI is not improved. Story is an afterthought (though even the old games are weak in story). There are fewer heroes now which is fine but makes the start and mid-game very slow. That is basically all there is to say about this game. It almost feels like something from the SNES era. Why they decided to go down this route is beyond me but this hurt the franchise reputation. Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2015
    0
    I saw 3 minutes of this and knew exactly what this is. Its a redo of Fallen Enchantress because the moron that runs Stardock is incapable ofI saw 3 minutes of this and knew exactly what this is. Its a redo of Fallen Enchantress because the moron that runs Stardock is incapable of hiring anyone that is creative or knows anything about AI. Shame on you Stardock and my vow to keep you out of my wallet forever more still stands strong! Expand

See all 21 User Reviews