Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Sep 14, 2020
    90
    Spellbreak deserves a place among the other Battle Royale greats. It breaks away from the others in the genre and does so with amazing polish, thoughtful design, and is most importantly just so much fun to play.
  2. Sep 15, 2020
    85
    Spellbreak is a unique, fast-paced Battle Royalke that takes a few risks which mostly pay off. It needs some work in fringe areas like cosmetics and levelling, but the gameplay is solid.
  3. Oct 7, 2020
    80
    The potential to grow into something superb is there, but even in its current state, Spellbreak is a great breath of fresh air for the genre. The game should find an audience with fans of battle royale or new people who are fed up with the gun-toting nature of them, or for those who are simply looking for something a little magical to dip their wands into.
  4. 80
    Spellbreak is a good battle-royale with great combat. It's graphics and world-design won't "wow" anyone, but the ability to dish out devastating magical destruction in chaotic duals is unlike anything else currently on the market.
  5. Sep 30, 2020
    80
    Spellbreak could be a huge hit if it was capable of filling out games with players, rather than bots. Even still, Proletariat’s fantastic sound design, music, gameplay mechanics, and art style creates a hugely immersive experience for the player; comfortably satisfying a player’s desire to experience games shaped around elemental magic. It’s a shame that such an incredibly rewarding experience is marred by bot-heavy games.
  6. Sep 22, 2020
    80
    Spellbreak's greatest achievement is making each game feel truly different because of the depth and variety of its combat, creating many different situations. Taking cover and shooting doesn't solve everything: in every second of a fight we have numerous options and strategies to adopt, and each one will take the fight on a different side.
  7. Sep 18, 2020
    80
    Spellbreak is a refreshing burst of magical fresh air for the battle royale genre thanks to its captivating combat and flashy style, but its map has room to improve.
  8. Sep 16, 2020
    80
    The Battle Royal scene has now a strong contender. Gorgeous graphics, fast pacing gameplay and explosions, explosions everywhere. Slinging spells has never been this fun.
  9. Sep 14, 2020
    80
    Will you like Spellbreak? It’s hard to say. If you want frantic building and hecticly fast paced combat engagements, Spellbreak might not be the main game for you - though I’d urge you to try it. If you’re tired of dying before you can figure out where your enemy is, or not having enough mobility to collect yourself when ambushed then I 100% recommend you taking a look at Spellbreak. It’s probably my first battle royale experience that doesn’t end after 45 minutes of frustration and keeps me playing match after match. Give it a go - I don’t think you’ll regret it.
  10. Sep 13, 2020
    80
    Spellbreak’s fast-paced, high-flying, explosive fantasy combat makes for a battle royale that anyone can enjoy.
  11. Sep 10, 2020
    80
    Spellbreak is exactly what you want a fantasy-themed magical battle royale to be. You can soar through the skies, cast powerful spells, and combine elements to devastating effect. The combat is fast, chaotic, and absolutely epic. Playing Spellbreak is like taking control of a superhero or powerful anime character.
  12. Sep 8, 2020
    80
    Spellbound is a fun battle royale game that substitutes guns for elemental powers and magic. You'll want to think strategically to pair the best gauntlets with the best runes. Take on other enemies in a squad of three to prove you are the best battlemages out there.
  13. Sep 8, 2020
    80
    The combat is so engaging that I'd often go out of my way to join battles I had no business joining in on – much to the chagrin of my teammates. Landing a deadly lightning strike on your foe, or sending a fiery shockwave through the enemy squad is just too empowering to pass up. Spellbreak has quickly become my go-to battle royale, and I'm excited to see what the future holds for this magical title.
  14. Sep 24, 2020
    70
    Here’s hoping the game gets enough attention from players and receives the support to make it truly shine.
  15. Sep 7, 2020
    70
    Hopefully the development teams are listening to the players, because while it's a highly recommendable game right now, Spellbreak has the potential to become a great one.
  16. Sep 6, 2020
    65
    Yet another Battle Royale in an already overcrowded market.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 155 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 155
  1. Sep 5, 2020
    10
    There's never been a pvp game I've been this sunk into in my decades of gaming. It takes so many things I love, and combines them together toThere's never been a pvp game I've been this sunk into in my decades of gaming. It takes so many things I love, and combines them together to create combinations of gameplay, the likes of which I've never seen. There's so much high flying gameplay it's been incredibly memorable to play it over the years.


    For context, I've been playing this game since early stages of closed pre-alpha in 2018, been an active part the community and game feedback.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2020
    7
    A lot of potential held down by a poor launch. They decided to launch the game without any user account management, with squads only, and aA lot of potential held down by a poor launch. They decided to launch the game without any user account management, with squads only, and a LOT of gamebreaking bugs. Outside of those issues, the game is fun.. it feels incomplete and lacks polish of other big BR games like Fortnite, but the core gameplay is fun.

    IF the game manages to increase polish and very quickly implement some online game basics (account management, etc...) then it has a chance at being something special. I really enjoy the gameplay, so I hope that they improve.

    A few notes:

    The sound design is pretty terrible and needs work. No player sounds, no voice, no interactions when hitting ground after a jump etc... the lack of sound makes it feel very hollow and not impactful, especially while taking damage.

    The art style is nice but still a bit blurry.. could be improved over time. They need to make this game as beautiful as possible. It's lovely but can still look smoother/cleaner.

    The Battle-Pass system will probably make or break the game (if the lack of account management and bugs do not break it first). It will NEED to have a good amount of unique skins and other cosmetics in each battlepass to make it worth buying and grinding out, and seasons will need to be different enough from eachother. Fortnite does a wonderful job of their battlepass worth and pacing, which is why it's on top in addition to it's gameplay polish. Other games like Apex and Dauntless have lackluster passes, and are dying off quickly.

    Up to Proletariat how the game goes... but I am hopeful it improves
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 5, 2020
    7
    I like the idea of a battle royale game with magic but I have a few suggestions.
    1. Make different game modes, maybe even non battle royale
    I like the idea of a battle royale game with magic but I have a few suggestions.
    1. Make different game modes, maybe even non battle royale ones!
    2. Allow users to log out of their Spellbreak account so they can log into another one!
    3. Put an alert in the compass in the direction of someone attacking (ex. Someone east shoots lightning, a red indicator on east appears on the compass for about 5 seconds)
    4. Add a way to revive your teammates, after being exiled, kind of like the reboot card in Fortnite, I recommend calling it a "Resurrection Card" to stick with the medieval vibe!
    5. Add a better way to counteract attacks, it seems that the winner is whoever has the better gauntlet and better click speed, it shouldn't be that way!
    Other than those, great game!
    Full Review »