Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 31, 2023
    83
    Despite some of the issues, The Cosmic Shake is a very fun game that satisfies both fans of SpongeBob and of platformers, and is another contender in the list of games that are licensed by other forms of media that are actually genuinely solid in their own right, rather than merely taking advantage of name recognition. For anyone that has previously played Battle for Bikini Bottom or is generally interested in a 3D platformer full of cartoon shenanigans, then SpongeBob SquarePants: The Cosmic Shake might just be worth losing a boating license for.
  2. Feb 1, 2023
    80
    Have you ever wondered, what would’ve happened, if you gave a multiverse unlocking tool to an infantile sponge? Well, even though SpongeBob SquarePants: The Cosmic Shake doesn’t really reinvent the basic formula of its predecessor, it at least aims to answer that very question! This vibrantly colourful collection of teleportation-requiring adventures of the inseparable duo surely brings back a ton of memories. Get ready, because SpongeBob, Patrick, and the Bikini Bottom gang are back with a multiuniversal bang and a whole bunch of wishing bubbles.
  3. Jan 30, 2023
    80
    Purple Lamp has created one of, if not the best, SpongeBob SquarePants video games to date, and if you're a fan of the series, it's worth giving this one a look because it will undoubtedly give you a few laughs and fill you with tons of warm nostalgia.
  4. Feb 6, 2023
    75
    A consistent evolution of Rehydrated with an extra ton of fan service, but without challenging gameplay.
  5. Jan 30, 2023
    75
    SpongeBob SquarePants: The Cosmic Shake is a solid game that will make series fans happy and surprise the more casual ones. The action in the levels meanders a bit, and the platforming can be a little rough, but the majority of the action is good. The multitude of secrets to uncover give the game some real legs after you complete the campaign. If future entries are handled by this developer, SpongeBob fans will have some good stuff to look forward to in the years to come.
  6. Jan 30, 2023
    75
    While fairly short and easy, SpongeBob SquarePants: The Cosmic Shake does a good job of bringing the cartoon world to life with good writing, fun platforming, and colorful, varied levels.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33
  1. Feb 2, 2023
    7
    Ah Ok, I new Spongebob game, nice, i think. This game has some problems but man, is funny really really funny to tell the real what i reallyAh Ok, I new Spongebob game, nice, i think. This game has some problems but man, is funny really really funny to tell the real what i really think, it is a good surprise. I would never image something like this Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2023
    7
    While the main campaign of SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS: THE COSMIC SHAKE was quite enjoyable, it felt lacking in many areas. To start with theWhile the main campaign of SPONGEBOB SQUAREPANTS: THE COSMIC SHAKE was quite enjoyable, it felt lacking in many areas. To start with the positives, it has a very in depth and complex gambling minigame where you play poker with Patrick and many of the other fun cast members you meet along your journey. This is the only positive unfortunately because the fun cast of characters is actually only okay.
    To start with the negatives, I actually lied about there being a gambling mini game, there is none. This is a major blow to me as a spongbob fan as we all know spongebob is well known for his horrible gamlbing addiction.
    Overall, it's a fine return to form but lacks in certain areas that could be improved in the next game. Prime example: gun play is overall lacking and the weapon balance really needs to be adjusted more often in order to compensate for causal and competitive play. Still better than the previous entry, Spongebob Aquarepants: Truth or Square. but needs to be enhanced further.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 8, 2023
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Great game! It fixed most of the errors of the first part. I also really liked the fact that there is no need to look for shovels scattered throughout the location for plot advancement. The graphics have become much better compared to the first part. The music has also become more complex and advanced, I can't help but praise the developers for it. And yes, finally SpongeBob is fighting with someone normal, and not with robots (already tired of so many games). As for the disadvantages: it was disappointing that you can only control SpongeBob. Due to the reduced number of playable characters, SpongeBob becomes too strong and pumped up compared to the first part (looks a little silly) In particular, I can attribute the number of locations to the disadvantages. I think it would be possible to do one or two more. Well, as it is, the game is beautiful, head and shoulders above the first part. And I personally thank the developers for the release on the Nintendo Switch platform) Full Review »