S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 773 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The story of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky brings the players one year prior to the events of the original S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game in 2011. A group of stalkers has for the first time reached the very heart of the Zone - Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, and brings about a cataclysm on the brink of aThe story of S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Clear Sky brings the players one year prior to the events of the original S.T.A.L.K.E.R. game in 2011. A group of stalkers has for the first time reached the very heart of the Zone - Chernobyl Nuclear Power Plant, and brings about a cataclysm on the brink of a catastrophe. An immense blow-out of anomalous energy changes the Zone. There are no more reliable and relatively safe roads. The entire levels vanish in the outbursts of anomalies. Stalkers and even expeditions die or end up sealed on the lost territories. New areas, which remained unknown since the time of the Zone emergence, appear on the Zone map. The Zone continues to shake with blowouts. The Zone is unstable. The anomalous activity is at its maximum. Changes of the Zone map known to stalkers shake the fragile balance of forces in the Zone. Among the groupings, there flare up hostilities for the new territories, artefact fields and spheres of influence. There are no more old enemies or friends - now everyone is for himself. The Factions War has started between the groupings. [Deep Silver] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. games(TM)
    90
    Clear Sky chiefly succeeds because it transforms grim fantasy into a startlingly real-world experience. [Oct 2008, p.108]
  2. Clear Sky may not be as action-orientated, polished and visually stunning as Crysis or other “Hollywood-Shooters”, but it definitely has got its very own charm, that it’s easy to fall for. In short: Who liked the original Chernobyl Lost, will love Clear Sky!
  3. This is a truly dark game that has a compelling and mysterious story. You will be on the edge of your seat as the mystery gradually unfolds. The game breaking bugs of the initial release, and the need to mod the game, severely affect the rating of what would otherwise be a very good game.
  4. Though its release is marred by a number of bugs, Clear Skies is ultimately a worthy addition to your library. Casual gamers will find it harder to enjoy than those who are more hardcore, but there is still fun to be had in the hollowed-out, desolate locales of the Zone for those with the patience and a penchant for challenging gameplay.
  5. Edge Magazine
    70
    As easy to misunderstand as it is to break, it again turns the best and worse of PC gaming into something extraordinary. [Oct 2008, p.94]
  6. Clear Sky has a lot of potential - as does the S.T.A.L.K.E.R. franchise - and is a worthwhile game to add to your collection because of its fair price but until the insane amount of gremlins is addressed in a patch it will always be a failure in the eyes of the fans.
  7. But Clear Sky takes everything that I loved about Chernobyl—the mature storyline, the nerve-wracking underground laboratories and the rewarding combat—and muddies them with a litany of bugs and bad design to the point that it overwhelms its more redeeming qualities.

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 136
  2. Negative: 32 out of 136
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    Wrost optimalizing game, in Stalker games. But its my favourite. Contains a lot of bug, but i don't care. I liked the fractions in the game.Wrost optimalizing game, in Stalker games. But its my favourite. Contains a lot of bug, but i don't care. I liked the fractions in the game. The game have a lots of gametime. Expand
  2. NealO.
    Sep 24, 2008
    10
    Wow, this is seriously the best post-apocalyptic game ever, except maybe Fallout 3 when it comes out. if you do not like the setting of the Wow, this is seriously the best post-apocalyptic game ever, except maybe Fallout 3 when it comes out. if you do not like the setting of the Zone, may be fested upon by a bull cockatoo on meth. 11/10 for everything, especially the new customization system, except the graphics, although that can be overlooked. Expand
  3. Toni
    Jan 20, 2009
    9
    I don't understand why people talk about this game like it is biggest s*it they ever seen/play. How much as I can see, no one of them I don't understand why people talk about this game like it is biggest s*it they ever seen/play. How much as I can see, no one of them ever pass that great game. Because, if they did, things would be diffrent. My personal opinion is that, those bugs in game(and there are not so much of them) doesn't matter, if the story and the gameplay are great!!! There are many details in the game. And they are all awesome, especialy weapons...The same thing is about S.T.A.L.K.E.R. SoC... Both games are "open world" and u can actually pass it on many, many, diffrent ways. All of ya who still think that game doesn't worth playing ... try passing more than 1 hour of gameplay. Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2021
    7
    было лишним вводить группировки абсолютно ненужная механика
  5. May 23, 2021
    6
    Alguna vez que otra oí hablar o vi en Steam esta trilogía ( por el momento) y siempre me llamó la atención, Yo como fan de Metro no podíaAlguna vez que otra oí hablar o vi en Steam esta trilogía ( por el momento) y siempre me llamó la atención, Yo como fan de Metro no podía dejar pasar este título y más después de haber jugado a Escape from Tarkov, me encontré con un juego muy de nicho... pero no del todo pulido.

    Gráficamente no envejeció muy bien y personalmente recomiendo instalar algún Mod gráfico para ver todo más nítido y disfrutar así más del juego, la ambientación es buena y más hablando de la época que era y logra transmitir lo que el mundo quiere que sientas.

    En el Gameplay hay un factor que falla y que siendo un juego survival de tiros es inaceptable, el gunplay de este título esta muy por debajo de lo esperado, si bien tiene las mecánicas y unas ideas la ejecución es muy mejorable.

    La banda sonora es casi inexistente pero lo solventa con un sonido del entorno aceptable y envolvente.

    La historia no termina de enganchar a nadie, parece una escusa para avanzar durante la partida.

    Definitivamente es un juego que recomiendo si te gusta este estilo de juegos, pero no os voy a engañar puede ser el peor a elegir.
    Expand
  6. Mar 22, 2012
    5
    To start with the positive: The part about Clear Sky, mainly the first part of the game, including the swamps, the fraction itself, theTo start with the positive: The part about Clear Sky, mainly the first part of the game, including the swamps, the fraction itself, the ambiance, the first Clear Sky missions, etc, was very well done. I even felt surprised at how GSC Game World managed to add something so different from their previous title to the same world, without messing it up. That, along with fixing a big part of that buggy game-play from SoC, was what amazed me at first, when I played through the swamps. I guess what I felt about the game at that point was: "This is going to be really good!" However, it turned out not to be so. That feeling quickly turned into "Whoa, that was fast, leaving this place, I wonder when I'll get back here", ever since I left the swamps. Too bad for me though, cause I never did! It seems that you barely ever have any time to explore the world, since you're always headed for the next mission, often because someone is calling out for help; they taught you not to ignore those calls way in the beginning, and that along with my experience from playing SoC, where every choice you make matters, I haven't ignored a single one. This resulted in me being paced to the next part of the main quest, rather than exploring the world. I can't even tell you whether it's even worth exploring!

    What else is, the storytelling; it's REALLY bad. The whole story was basically neglected. There are holes in the story between SoC and this game the size that you could drive a truck right through them! It doesn't even seem to be an attempt to be mystical; it really just seems to have been forgotten. I don't want to spoil it for any of you who might actually play it, but the ending isn't any better. So, all that, along with a ton of other relatively small issues (they would be big in other games), my conclusion comes to this: The game most of all seems like a spin-off from Shadow of Chernobyl, an attempt to get some easy money out from the players who like the first title. The story is not worth much, and neither is much of the rest of the game, if you play it after having tried the original, in which case all I would say is good about it, is the fact that it feels a lot like the original game in some ways, however, the lack of an even decent story overshadows it. GSC Game World really had a big shot at filling out a bunch of [u]very[u/] interesting holes in the original story, but they failed miserably in doing so. If you miss SoC so much, that you just need to go back, this won't be much to find, unless you can live with the disappointing story. In that case, the slightly improved graphics and features (PDA, Upgrade-system, Faction-wars) might make up for some of it. Thank you for reading through this. It was done in a very short time, but I don't feel like I owe it to this game, sadly, what a big chance wasted...
    Expand
  7. AcadianReviewer
    Sep 7, 2008
    0
    -Incomplete Graphics and bad physics engine. -Cost is too high for game. -Storyline is so weak it can even hold a job. -Blue Screens if the -Incomplete Graphics and bad physics engine. -Cost is too high for game. -Storyline is so weak it can even hold a job. -Blue Screens if the player wants advanced features. Expand

See all 136 User Reviews