Sunless Sea Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Take the helm of your customised steamship and set sail for the unknown. Sunless Sea is a 2D game of discovery, survival and loneliness set in the Victorian Gothic universe of Fallen London.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Sunless Sea - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 10, 2015
    100
    It's not earned easily, but if you are proficient in English and you also have patience to get in picture in a fantastical world, your reward will be a true treasure among current games. [Issue#250]
  2. Mar 10, 2015
    90
    An extremely good game which just doesn’t feel properly finished. It’s not quite a final draft. It’s still damned good fun though.
  3. Feb 23, 2015
    88
    Sunless Sea is a game for a very specific audience. It requires a patient player who loves reading and has a big imagination. But if this is you, then you'll know how does it feel to long for the open sea while remaining seated in your room.
  4. Feb 9, 2015
    80
    Indeed, one of the best things about Sunless Sea, apart from its beautifully crafted elder-horror stories, fantastically drawn artwork and generally creepy atmosphere, is the feeling that the decisions you make within the game are shaping the narrative, and that by playing, you are writing yourself into that story.
  5. Mar 3, 2015
    80
    Sunless Sea is a little darker and less cheerful than its already morbid sister Fallen London, but it’s no less delightful.
  6. Feb 11, 2015
    80
    Wonderful writing resting on top of infirm foundations. Almost a classic, Sunless Sea falls a few leagues short of its final destination.
  7. Feb 18, 2015
    60
    I don’t want to sound too down on Sunless Sea. Sadly though, it’s one of those games that I respect and appreciate more than I enjoy and one that I find it easier to recommend than to actually play.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 35
  2. Negative: 8 out of 35
  1. Mar 1, 2015
    10
    After spending more then 150 hours in this game I can confidently say: "It's a masterpiece"
    This game is a well-balanced story driven RPG
    After spending more then 150 hours in this game I can confidently say: "It's a masterpiece"
    This game is a well-balanced story driven RPG with rogue-like elements, real-time battles and a ton of well-written text. Truely, I never seen such huge amounts of text in games for a long time.
    Th most similar game for Sunless Sea would be Vangers. It's only thin piece of steel between you and unforgiven world.
    Expand
  2. Sep 25, 2017
    10
    One of my favourite games of all time. It's famously harsh and keen to kill you, which is part of the dark humour. It's a humour style thatOne of my favourite games of all time. It's famously harsh and keen to kill you, which is part of the dark humour. It's a humour style that won't work for everyone, but if you recognise and appreciate their references then it'll reward you in spades. Strongly recommend getting the Zubmariner DLC too - it's playable inside the main game story, and gives you many advantages once you've gained the ability to scour the surface, the Unterzee and the sea bed too.

    The game also makes a big deal about playing for permadeath, teasing the idea that it would be detrimental to use Saves and lose your status as a "true" player. I'd advise you to forget that, and use the Save! It's hard enough without completely crushing yourself. Abandon all ideas about finding some cheap stock that's worth a fortune at another port, too; such things are almost totally non-existent, and this isn't Elite. Money will appear as windfalls from unexpected moments in the game's story, as will life-saving food and fuel (although you will also need to buy these!). The game wants you to forget about traditional game ideas and put both feet into being a foolhardy sea captain from a horror story. Be reckless and give yourself to that premise, and the game will pay you back with more (wonderfully well written) stories.
    Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    Been playing games since the 80s, and first game I felt compelled to rate. For sure, it not for everyone, but for me it is stunning,Been playing games since the 80s, and first game I felt compelled to rate. For sure, it not for everyone, but for me it is stunning, Atmospheric, different, addictive. Love the fact that you are going to die at the start, but that helps your descendants (or rivals) to progress. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2015
    8
    This is a highly unusual game to say the least. If you can imagine a sort of mutation of Lovecraft, Ports of Call, Rogue Legacy and FTL withThis is a highly unusual game to say the least. If you can imagine a sort of mutation of Lovecraft, Ports of Call, Rogue Legacy and FTL with undead tourists and sea monsters then you`re getting there. But then it isn`t really like any of those at all either, but something quite particular indeed. Half the time I couldn`t even tell if I was having fun or was being shanghaied into some sort of sociology experiment quite frankly. Crossing the sea takes positively forever, and chances are you`re not making it across even if you`re patient enough to try. So in short the best description I can give of Sunless Sea is that it is a verbose, story generating, nautical legacy rogue-like set in a faux, subterranean 19th century Britain with undeads, pirates, talking rodents, giant crabs, jellyfish, mechanical sharks and other sea dwelling terrors. It could hardly be any weirder if it tried.
    Meanwhile there`s a curious mixture of gloom, literacy and nonsensical absurdism in this game I am unsure if I have seen anywhere before. It`s not exactly funny, not exactly tragic and not exactly dramatic. It just is, like a weird alternative reality full of slightly unsettling things of all kinds. But something is very likely to take a hold of you while playing Sunless Sea whether you like it or not, and whatever it is.
    Mostly it`s desperation and sheer panic of course, as hours of meticulous progress threaten to go down the drain unless you can somehow limp and cannibalize your way back to the relative safety of Fallen London. But on the occasions when you do make it back, preferably with some haul to make the whole thing feel worth it, there`s a potent sense of relief I haven`t experienced too often in video games. There is a distinct visual style as well, and the sound is excellent in every way, as you chug your way nervously around a subterranean ocean called The Unterzee. But it`s the panicked moments when you know you`re gonna be lost at sea, again, which drive you up the wall and right on to starting all over again with the next poor sap you`re gonna drown in an act of overstretch, stupidity, hubris or accident, in the form of your heir. Ideally each drowned sap, erm I mean captain, will build on the fortune of his predecessor until some conclusion to the game can be reached. I have not reached that far yet, but it is an interesting concept and it is well executed in Sunless Sea.
    I would score it higher if it wasn`t for the sense I am getting that the story part of the game crashes a bit with the rogue-like genre. Replayability is all good and well. But who wants to read the same text over and over again? I ended up clicking through most of it because of this, which is a shame because it`s well written stuff. Just not the tenth time. Or the twentieth. And similarly, random events have a bad habit of not seeming very random. Once I got the same one five times in a row within about three minutes. I didn`t want it and dismissed it only to get it again twenty seconds later until I thought it was a bug of some sort. Secondly it seems a bit grindy. This isn`t necessarily a bad thing of course, and at least the game rewards the lost art of patience. But I am having a hell of a time getting any development of my ship going at all, which is sort of a big deal in a nautical rogue-like. The upgrades are expensive, not to mention upgrading the hull, and the one cannon upgrade I did manage to buy was not inherited by my heir as advertized, which felt like the game cheating quite frankly. And the game is hard enough without cheating the player.
    Other than these slight niggles, most of which have more to do with the irrepressible creativity of the designers than any actual flaws with the game, I can`t find a thing to criticize about it.

    Highly recommended if you have the patience to read my review of it. Especially if you like things difficult and slow paced and you enjoy reading.
    Expand
  5. Feb 8, 2015
    6
    You play as the captain of a steamship in a post-retro-fallen-lovecraftian London UK.

    Nice atmospheric game. Correct graphics and sound for
    You play as the captain of a steamship in a post-retro-fallen-lovecraftian London UK.

    Nice atmospheric game. Correct graphics and sound for and indie release. The storytelling is good, a bit confusing at times because of the language used. The game is mainly that storytelling, and a lot of exploration. It can be slow and boring at times because of the sluggish pace.

    Overall a nice indie game, but it sure doesn't deserve the 10's I've seen on several critic/user reviews.

    In mi opinion it deserves: 6.5
    Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2015
    5
    Interesting idea, wonderfully written stories with a lot of choices to be made and a world that initially seems interesting to travel in. TheInteresting idea, wonderfully written stories with a lot of choices to be made and a world that initially seems interesting to travel in. The problem is that after a while (and a couple of captain deaths) the game starts to feel really repetitive and slow. You more or less repeat the things you did with the last captain hopping to progress a bit more. Trade is also limited and upgrades few and far apart. All in all this is better appreciated as a piece of art rather than a game. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2015
    0
    Mediocre flash-tier game that only got high marks because one of the people working on it has a bunch of connections with gaming journos.Mediocre flash-tier game that only got high marks because one of the people working on it has a bunch of connections with gaming journos.

    While this game might seem interesting for the first couple hours, the feeling that quickly sets in isn't terror, but the reality that the game is extremely shallow (geddit?) and far too restrictive when it comes to making progress, forcing the player to grind for a very long time if they want to stop using the starter boat.
    Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Trailers