Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 93 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 93
  2. Negative: 0 out of 93
  1. Edge Magazine
    May 1, 2016
    70
    It's a victory for style over substance, in which style smashes substance's head into a million pieces. [May 2016, p.116]
  2. CD-Action
    May 1, 2016
    70
    Superhot makes everything you do look unbelievably stylish, but offers so little content that three hours with the game was enough for me. It needs more varied enemies, a broader arsenal, larger stages. I believe Superhot’s innovative mechanics can be squeezed for more and I’m looking forward to a sequel. [04/2016, p.54]
  3. Apr 7, 2016
    70
    Superhot isn’t ground-breaking. It’s a fun game with a unique concept and I was fully immersed during my playthrough, but I like to look at the replay value of anything I review, especially when it comes to FPS games. Some people might find it addictive and they might get huge amounts of enjoyment out of playing through the challenges and endless mode, but for me, after playing through some of the after-game content I’m fairly confident that I won’t pick it up again, at least not for a while. Not because it’s a sub-par product but because there’s nothing else for me to gain in playing it.
  4. Apr 6, 2016
    70
    An engaging and different action fix with interesting time stopping mechanics and a bold visual style.
  5. Mar 15, 2016
    70
    Superhot is fun in short bursts thanks to its innovative game design, but it doesn’t last very long.
  6. Mar 9, 2016
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  7. Mar 7, 2016
    70
    The creators came up with a great concept, but they could not build a great game. None the less, the Superhot is a unique shooting experience that will delight all fans of innovative games.
  8. Mar 2, 2016
    70
    It’s more like you’re playing an aperitif for the thing that’s really going to blow your mind and send the genre spinning. Maybe next time.
  9. Mar 2, 2016
    70
    Superhot almost seems like the teaser for a Kickstarter campaign, one that I think I would support, but as a standalone game it is just too thin.
  10. Feb 25, 2016
    70
    The huge Kickstarter success story is now a finished game - with a great concept and solid execution, but it's also too small and short to really engage the player. Constant action drags us forward in neck-breaking pace, only to emphasize this flaw.
  11. Feb 25, 2016
    70
    SUPERHOT is a game with an amazing gameplay mechanic (time), that is also bolstered by an unusual but interesting plot and equally curious art style. Unfortunately, hit detection issues compounded with SUPERHOT’s short-lived Story mode meant that once I’d given the additional modes a try, I was quite happy to put SUPERHOT down and move on.
  12. Feb 25, 2016
    70
    SUPERHOT is an innovative FPS that brings something new to the genre. Time flows only when you move, allowing you to see bullets and dodging and dancing around them, finding the right time to aim your weapon and kill the the bad red guys. The key is moving one step a time. Patience will reward you.
  13. Apr 24, 2016
    68
    My advice is to wait until this game gets a major price cut, check out the whole "time moves when you do concept" (in) one evening, and then think about all of the amazing things that could have been done with that concept and how SUPERHOT wasted the opportunity to do any of them.
  14. Mar 1, 2016
    65
    It’s one of those games that truly falls into two extremes of the quality spectrum. On one hand it introduces a truly fresh time manipulation mechanic which can lead to some intense and utterly satisfying action scenes, no small feat for a game of the FPS genre. On the other hand it offers limited content and an overall feeling that the release version of Superhot is still in its beta phase.
  15. Apr 4, 2016
    60
    Pure gameplay delight exists. And Superhot shows us that it is within our reach. All you have to do is turn a hot idea into a full-fledged game. Meanwhile, you can buy and enjoy an expensive sliver of hope.
  16. 60
    It doesn’t push its ideas as far as it should, but this is a cleverly unique puzzle game that turns normal first person shooters on their head.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Feb 25, 2016
    The overall effect is a good simulation of what it must feel like to have super-speed and recalls some of Quicksilver's memorable scenes in recent X-men movies. But there are a few clever design choices to prevent your superpower from becoming super-overpowering in a gunfight.
  2. I was thoroughly entertained during the couple of hours that the story lasted. It’s brief, yes, but it’s packed with ideas, both in the plotting which is alternately creepy and humorously self-aware, and in terms of level design and modifications to your toolset.
  3. Mar 3, 2016
    With something to work toward and create, the thrill of arranging, executing, and watching back a flawless performance never has to go away.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 530 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 56 out of 530
  1. Feb 26, 2016
    10
    Fresh, innovative, cool.
    Brings real life into a dead FPS genre.
    No more CoD-s and MoH trash please, more indie gems like this please.
    Fresh, innovative, cool.
    Brings real life into a dead FPS genre.
    No more CoD-s and MoH trash please, more indie gems like this please.
    Superhot, supercool, super-addictive, SUPERFUN!
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 27, 2016
    6
    The game is made with care and the retro PC-like environment simulation is a really nice touch. I love how there are a lot of extras andThe game is made with care and the retro PC-like environment simulation is a really nice touch. I love how there are a lot of extras and easter eggs. I wanted to love this game, but unfortunately, once you go past the initial presentation, the rest of the package is lacking. There is just one simple game mechanic that you will master in a few minutes, you'll finish the single player campaign in an hour or two, and the narrative doesn't add much to it other than interrupt the gameplay here and there with the usual postmodernist drivel you've come to expect from pretentious indie game designers. I hope at some point indies start caring about gameplay mechanics and content, and stop giving me unskippable high-school level dissertations about the meaning of life, complete with spelling and gramatical mistakes. But I digress.

    All there is here is a dozen or two of very small maps (often just a single room) where enemies respawn, often just in your face. Since both you and them die in a single hit, there is nothing else to the game. There are a set of challenges after the single player narrative where you revisit the same levels with some additional limitations that don't really change the experience by much.

    Although the mechanic itself is 'innovative', at the end it is just an extremely small bite-sized snack that doesn't last for more than two hours, yet it manages to be repetitive even in that little time. Given what little there is here, I find the price of admission way out of touch. This is really a $5 game at most, not much longer than a tech demo or a vertical slide.

    In addition, the Mac port is terrible: poor performance, a broken v-sync implementation, and not even an option to play fullscreen (Command+F works, but that is just a hidden shortcut and is not present in the game menus).
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2016
    4
    Looks cool as hell, with an eye-catching minimalist aesthetic, and has an amazing core mechanic where the enemies only move when you do,Looks cool as hell, with an eye-catching minimalist aesthetic, and has an amazing core mechanic where the enemies only move when you do, creating a puzzle game rather than what you'd expect from an FPS.

    And... that's it. Yes, nothing else. Story is awful (well, barely exists actually, but what is there is awful), progression is poor and you've seen everything there is to see inside around 20 minutes. You'll have fun for a bit after that with the challenge modes and so on, but you'll get around two hours out of this game before you're totally done with it.

    It's a great proof of concept, but that really is all. Portal 2 understood that a concept is one thing but fleshing it out into a masterful experience is quite another; SUPERHOT definitely does not understand that. If this was expanded on with an exceptional narrative experience and a few more variations on the mechanics (perhaps boss fights and so on?), then you'd be looking at a game of the year candidate. As it is, it's a demo of the year candidate.
    Full Review »