Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. 90
    The escalating panic of the automated guide over the tannoy system adds some narrative cohesion to the puzzles and environments that keep getting stranger. But, in all honesty, if Superliminal had no narrative, I’d still love it.
  2. Nov 20, 2019
    87
    An original gameplay mechanic is hard to come by, and these shapeshifting puzzles feel like nothing else. The parts of the game that are derivative aren’t bad, just second best. The parts of the game that are original are extraordinary. And which aspect is more important? Though it may be cliché to say it, Superliminal is more than the sum of its parts. It’s a clever game and the more I play it, the more I think about it, and the more I love it. That’s worth a whole lot.
  3. Nov 26, 2019
    85
    A refreshing and inventive addition to the puzzle genre.
  4. Nov 12, 2019
    85
    Portal meets The Stanley Parable in a game that, although may fall short in some aspects, offers one of the most imaginative and surprising experiences of 2019. A true hidden gem for the puzzle lovers as well as a video game design masterclass.
  5. Dec 16, 2019
    80
    It might not be the toughest puzzler out there or the most highly polished, and it is true that some puzzles do tend to repeat themselves. None of that matters, however, because this is such a thoroughly unique experience that everyone should taste. The first day this came out, a clip of it went viral and reached the front page of Reddit. It wasn't a speedrun or glitch or anything like that. It was just someone playing the game. That's the kind of novelty this title has, and it is absolutely worth your time to go out and experience it for yourself.
  6. Dec 12, 2019
    80
    Compared to other puzzle games, Superliminal doesn’t necessarily feel like it stands out. However, its use of perspective is incredibly well-executed, and provides a nice mental exercise for those willing to give it a try.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Dec 5, 2019
    80
    It spits you out, head spinning, with a message about overcoming failure through unorthodox thinking; one last surprise in a game that encourages you to readjust your perspective in every sense. [Issue#340, p.118]
  8. Nov 25, 2019
    80
    Superliminal freshens up the whole puzzle game genre through its unique brain twisters based on weird shenanigans with perspective. You will be fascinated by this game long after you’ve finished its lamentably short story.
  9. Nov 14, 2019
    80
    Have you ever had that uncanny sensation of waking up from a dream when, in reality, you are still dreaming? That disorienting feeling is the sensation that Superliminal pursues with astounding flair.
  10. Nov 12, 2019
    80
    Superliminal's satisfying every time a puzzle clicks. It sounds obvious, but that's the most redeeming trait a puzzle game can have. Sometimes it'll take you by surprise, sometimes you'll train your eye to see it coming. But analyzing a situation, exploring possibilities, and approaching it from unique angles never fails to be rewarding. Is that enough to offset the realization that you're starting from obtuse and working backward toward logical? It all depends on your perspective.
  11. Nov 12, 2019
    80
    An excellent puzzle game with a fun sense of humour, and an important and surprising message behind it.
  12. Nov 24, 2019
    78
    For people who value games based mainly on the cost-to-game ratio, Superliminal is definitely a flop.
  13. Nov 22, 2019
    75
    When Superliminal’s mechanics work, I felt like I was participating in a magic trick, but when they didn’t I felt like the developers were playing a trick on me. I was both amused and frustrated while playing Superliminal, but didn’t think much about the game after its credit’s rolled. Like a fading dream, Superliminal is also a bit ephemeral.
  14. Nov 15, 2019
    75
    The puzzles here are very original and truly amazing, although some of that freshness is lost as you walk through the levels.
  15. Superliminal plays with your perceptions while you play with it.
  16. Nov 20, 2019
    72
    Even if it ultimately means we might only look at certain aspects of its design or specific puzzles versus the story and setting to remember and recall as time goes on, Superliminal is still an experience worth seeking out.
  17. Nov 18, 2019
    71
    Superliminal has a fantastic concept, but its puzzles are quite irregular. Some of them are excellent, while some others are not very inspired. If you like this type of first person puzzle-based adventure, though, you should give it a try.
  18. Dec 12, 2019
    70
    A well-built puzzle game, certainly appreciated by fans of the genre, but unable to rival the sacred monsters of the category in terms of inspiration, originality and the power of the story.
  19. Nov 25, 2019
    70
    Superliminal is an interesting work creating an engaging atmosphere, able to capture the player and accompany him, almost unconsciously, towards the end of the journey. And the finale moral will leave a mark in many players.
  20. Nov 20, 2019
    70
    Superliminal plays with perspective in order to offer a game entirely based on the altered perception of reality. The depth of the puzzles is fluctuating and the longevity is not particularly extensive, but remains overall a pleasant experience to enjoy.
  21. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    Rather than repetition, Superliminal wants to keep you guessing until the very end. It might not be for someone who is brand new to the genre, but veterans will spend a memorable afternoon trying to wake up from this hard day’s night.
  22. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    Superliminal is fun. It may not be challenging, and it might not have a deeper message behind it, but it’s a hell of a ride – and on many levels it’s a technical masterpiece. Actually that description makes it sound like a Marvel film, so I guess that means I can recommend it to pretty much anyone unless you’re Martin Scorsese or Francis Ford Coppola.
  23. CD-Action
    Jan 15, 2020
    65
    The moment when the puzzles get really interesting, the game unfortunately starts to wrap itself up. A fun but short experience. [02/2020, p.67]
  24. Nov 13, 2019
    65
    While bringing to life a really refreshing concept with some well-thinked enigmas and a great atmosphere, Superliminal fails to be that crazy game that we've been expecting. Instead of that, it is a really cool but short game that is unfortunately often imprecise.
  25. Nov 12, 2019
    60
    Superliminal has a unique concept for a puzzle game and nice and trippy visuals to accompany it, but alas, that’s the majority of what it has going for it. The short length combined with the lack of difficulty and any interesting story means that the game will barely leave an impact on you, and there really isn’t any reason to revisit it. And it’s a shame, because it starts out impressive, but then the novelty wears off quickly. While it may still be an okay game overall, there are many other first-person puzzlers worth checking out instead which do a better job of thinking outside the box.
  26. Nov 12, 2019
    50
    Superliminal seems like a great game at first. The perspective mechanics on display make a fantastic first impression, but the game's design falters as it goes on. The weakness of the puzzles and unevenness of the overall game drag it down in the end.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 12, 2019
    This is a puzzling masterclass with a heart as well as a brain. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    Perhaps there’s an angle from which Superliminal is a satisfying, Portal-style thriller, but unfortunately, I wasn’t able to find that angle. And as the game was so fond of reminding me, perception is reality.
  3. It’s an accomplishment, and it’s certainly better and more original than the vast bulk of games in the physics-gimmick subgenre, but I respect it a lot more than I like it.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 52
  2. Negative: 6 out of 52
  1. Nov 17, 2019
    7
    Superliminal starts strong, very strong. Puzzle mechanics are different enough for it to pique interest.
    Unfortunately after the third "wake"
    Superliminal starts strong, very strong. Puzzle mechanics are different enough for it to pique interest.
    Unfortunately after the third "wake" things go dramatically downhill. Puzzle solutions become more mundane less imaginative and the solutions become less intuitive, which is ironic given the idea of the game is looking at things with a different perspective. The game quickly becomes a Stanley Parable walking sim, which as good as that game is, is not something I signed up for by buying Superliminal.
    Although the game is short, it ran out of ideas well before the end point, and I was rather wishing for it all to be over about three quarters of the way through.
    I am sure you can sense my frustration here, because after first half hour I was sure I had stumbled upon a classic game.
    It is not without some charm and interest, and of its genre it is pleasant enough to play through.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 21, 2019
    0
    This would normally get a very high score. Unfortunately, Pillow Castle decided to abuse their copyright and only licensed their product toThis would normally get a very high score. Unfortunately, Pillow Castle decided to abuse their copyright and only licensed their product to Epic Games under an exclusive license. As a result, their game is inaccessible to those opposed to Epic, and their game specifically endorses these immoral business practices. Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2019
    8
    It is pretty good. It doesn't have much of a story, and it isn't real deep. The puzzles are so simple it is more of a walking simulator alongIt is pretty good. It doesn't have much of a story, and it isn't real deep. The puzzles are so simple it is more of a walking simulator along the lines of The Stanley Parable or The Beginner's Guide than something like Portal. It is also pretty pricey at $17 (that includes the 15% launch discount) for a 2-3 hour game. Plus it is only on the Epic store right now, for PC only, and has no controller support.
    But personally I thought it was worth it overall. It was a fun, trippy walking simulator if nothing else. A couple sections were fun enough to play around with even though I knew how to continue on. I've spent that much on 2-hour movies that weren't nearly as entertaining.
    I would much rather waste $17 than 3 hours of my time. I thought this was worth my time. But if money matters to you, there are longer, better, cheaper puzzle games out there.
    Full Review »