User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 283 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 30 out of 283

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2015
    9
    A great expansion to Rebirth with plenty of interesting content to keep coming back to. There are a decent amount of bugs at the moment but hopefully these will be fixed with patches to come.
  2. Nov 10, 2015
    9
    Great DLC (despite the launch glitch, but I don't mind) containing huge amount of content and great Greed mode. I have yet to complete it and I am 30 hours in.
  3. Nov 24, 2015
    9
    The waiting is over, the Binding of Isaac: afterbirth is finally here! So, was all the waiting worth it? hell yes! With loads of new items, cool new floors, great new music tracks, a new playable char and brand new game mode (greed mode). This DLC has added so much more enjoyment to this already awesome and highly addictive game. One of the best features to be added is daily challenge runsThe waiting is over, the Binding of Isaac: afterbirth is finally here! So, was all the waiting worth it? hell yes! With loads of new items, cool new floors, great new music tracks, a new playable char and brand new game mode (greed mode). This DLC has added so much more enjoyment to this already awesome and highly addictive game. One of the best features to be added is daily challenge runs where you can compete with friends for best score, its loads of fun. Even with a few bugs here and there (hopefully to be fixed soon) I'm very much enjoying this DLC and would recommend it highly. Expand
  4. Apr 12, 2016
    9
    Explicar un juego así es complicado.
    Su belleza recae en su DURA jugabilidad, que no te dejará ni un solo minuto de descanso.
    La dificultad es MUY elevada, haciendo muy complicado que un juego así sea del agrado de mucha gente, ya que siempre se empieza practicamente medio muerto. Pero ahí es donde recae la grandeza de este título. Es cierto que es muy difícil, pero tambien es cierto
    Explicar un juego así es complicado.
    Su belleza recae en su DURA jugabilidad, que no te dejará ni un solo minuto de descanso.
    La dificultad es MUY elevada, haciendo muy complicado que un juego así sea del agrado de mucha gente, ya que siempre se empieza practicamente medio muerto. Pero ahí es donde recae la grandeza de este título.
    Es cierto que es muy difícil, pero tambien es cierto que rejugándolo una y otra vez puedes conseguir una firme base para moverte por el juego.
    El progreso es lento, ya que los personajes están bloqueados o los mejores items están bloqueados tambien. Pero la falta de pistas induce a querer encontrarlo todo...
    Es cierto que recibe un 9 por motivos de dificultad, algo que debería irse incrementando a medida que jugamos y no al revés.
    Pero los items aleatorios dan una gran satisfacción al saber las grandes maravillas que pueden salirte.
    Un gran juego, muy adictivo y muy difícil... Se juega mejor con mando xD
    Expand
  5. Nov 7, 2015
    10
    This is the best DLC that has ever existed. It brings a hole new game mode, more than a hundred new items, new combos, cards, awesome challenges, etc... In one word: AMAZING. If you liked TBOI: Rebirth buy this DLC. It´s just 10,99$
  6. Nov 4, 2015
    10
    The binding of isaac :afterbirth is the best roguilke game for all the time . Games has been great mechanisc game amazing gameplay and unusual climate
  7. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    Именно так и нужно делать DLC. За 150 рублей ты получаешь расширение игры и в ширь (больше всего - врагов, локаций, предметов, героев, режимов игры), так и в глубь (новые механики, челленджи, концовки и секреты). Это не просто 50-100 часов геймплея, это повод снова окунуться в атмосферу безысходности и изучить все закоулки тёмного мира Айзека.Именно так и нужно делать DLC. За 150 рублей ты получаешь расширение игры и в ширь (больше всего - врагов, локаций, предметов, героев, режимов игры), так и в глубь (новые механики, челленджи, концовки и секреты). Это не просто 50-100 часов геймплея, это повод снова окунуться в атмосферу безысходности и изучить все закоулки тёмного мира Айзека.
  8. Nov 21, 2015
    3
    Good for horror and sadists and that's about it. Just pure evil. There is really no reason to create games like this one. No ones head should have such imagery.
  9. Nov 7, 2015
    7
    DLC released with time gated content and major bugs, dev doesn't care and just play with community with hints about "secrets" that didn't released yet. It's a shame that this is the worst The Binding of Isaac installment and probably start of milking franchise since they will announce next dlc soon.
  10. Jan 9, 2016
    7
    Okay, Afterbirth.

    Personally, as a newbie, I bought Afterbirth DLC and Rebirth together. But, yeah. It was fun, but I then thought it wasn't worth it. It's 11,500 KRW (Rebirth is 16,000 KRW), but I personally thought well it's too expensive for an additional package which adds just a few of features (well I personally thought that). Yes. The game is fun, but the price is too expensive
    Okay, Afterbirth.

    Personally, as a newbie, I bought Afterbirth DLC and Rebirth together. But, yeah. It was fun, but I then thought it wasn't worth it. It's 11,500 KRW (Rebirth is 16,000 KRW), but I personally thought well it's too expensive for an additional package which adds just a few of features (well I personally thought that). Yes. The game is fun, but the price is too expensive for its expensive price. If Afterbirth † comes out, I am going to purchase it, as I am a fan of 'The Binding of Isaac'.
    Expand
  11. Dec 26, 2015
    8
    I'm late to the party on Isaac - only played it recently. I can understand the adulation the game gets, as it has very tight controls, very unique visuals and addictive gameplay due to the roguelike nature of it and the varied playstyles.

    It is far from perfect however. The game is repetitive after a few short hours in terms of bosses and enemy gameplay mechanics (the game would benefit
    I'm late to the party on Isaac - only played it recently. I can understand the adulation the game gets, as it has very tight controls, very unique visuals and addictive gameplay due to the roguelike nature of it and the varied playstyles.

    It is far from perfect however. The game is repetitive after a few short hours in terms of bosses and enemy gameplay mechanics (the game would benefit massively from probably double the amount of bosses currently available).

    The second issue I have is with the pickup system - I get that the style has been done deliberately to add something different beyond just "health up", "power up" etc, but so many items have absolutely no explanation as to what they do whatsoever, resulting in a frantic Google search. Yes, you'll learn them through trial and error eventually, but you shouldn't have to do that - there should be an in-game encyclopaedia or a better designed tooltip to give you a heads up.

    For the price point, it's one of the better indie titles and a game you'll regularly go back to when you want a quick 20 minute blast of gaming action. It will be interesting to see if the dev can build on a really solid foundation with this idea further after the Afterbirth expansion and make this a really varied, legendary roguelike twinstick shooter in the future.
    Expand
  12. Nov 26, 2015
    10
    This is the most worth it game of all time Biding of isaac rebirth + DLC = 20€ and I spend 175h on it !
    I really this game, it is a very challenging game !
  13. Feb 17, 2016
    9
    This is what DLC should be like. A lot of new content, and adjustments to pre-existing mechanics make it definitely worth the price if you are a fan of Rebirth.
  14. Nov 9, 2015
    10
    A huge expansion for an already massive game with unending replay value. Not only does the DLC add well over 100 items and a whole new game mode but all of the new mechanic tweaks and items add a whole new level of fun to the game, allowing you to get a much wider range of weapon combos that I think I'll be discovering for years. An essential DLC if you enjoyed Rebirth.
  15. Nov 11, 2015
    9
    It's what you love about rebirth, but more. Not only are there new items, bosses, a character and modes, but also new synergies and touching up on rebirth. For example, quad and triple shot go together to make a shotgun blast of seven tears. It's great, and worth your money and time.
  16. Sep 4, 2016
    6
    I think the producers wrongly believed that the only way to improve their game is to make it harder and harder. I really liked Rebirth and I've spent 100h+ playing time to get the platinum triumph on Vita. And then came the endless nerfs and a boring, punishing DLC, I just can't find any joy in playing anymore. I know this is a hardcore game, but a good gameplay, even for a hardcore game,I think the producers wrongly believed that the only way to improve their game is to make it harder and harder. I really liked Rebirth and I've spent 100h+ playing time to get the platinum triumph on Vita. And then came the endless nerfs and a boring, punishing DLC, I just can't find any joy in playing anymore. I know this is a hardcore game, but a good gameplay, even for a hardcore game, should be much more than purely punishing. Expand
  17. Dec 30, 2015
    10
    New items, new bosses, new mechanics. If the just the game was endless, with this new DLC a huge number of hours have been added to this AWESOME game. I have been 120 hours in this game and I have completed only the 80% of it
  18. Sep 10, 2016
    9
    en steam llevo 365 horas, al menos una 200 en la normal versión, en esta entrega llega un nuevo modo de juego, nuevos items, y nuevas combinaciones, y nuevos pisos opcionales, asta un piso nuevo opcional que es todo un reto, y sin olvidar a los nuevos jefes, e tenido una gran experiencia con este gran juego, tengo muchas ansias de que llege el afterbirth +
  19. Feb 22, 2019
    8
    Любое дополнение к данной игре радует. Так что заслуженная высокая оценка игры оправдана.
  20. Mar 19, 2017
    9
    Fantastic DLC expansion for an already fantastic game. Lilith immediately became my new favorite character. Afterbirth adds a new mode, Greed Mode, which changes up the rules a bit, but is a lot of fun. We get new enemies, items, floor models, room styles, added to the base game as well. A worthy expansion from a great developer.
  21. Oct 5, 2017
    10
    I've put more time into the binding of isaac than almost any other game I can think of. Probably the best roguelike that I will ever play, with almost infinite replayability.
  22. Feb 4, 2019
    9
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------
  23. Jun 28, 2020
    8
    Tolles DLC!
    Gibt viele neue Sachen die das Spielgefühl von Rebirth verändern:
    -Es gibt zwei neue Endings (eins davon gehört zum Greedmodus) -Gibt nun neben Mega Satan einen zweiten ultimativen Boss der sich Hush nennt (im normalen Spiel) -Ultra Greed und Hush passen sich durch Schadenserkennung an, so das der Kampf immer gleich anspruchsvoll bleibt. -Neue Räume (L-Form oder sehr
    Tolles DLC!
    Gibt viele neue Sachen die das Spielgefühl von Rebirth verändern:

    -Es gibt zwei neue Endings (eins davon gehört zum Greedmodus)
    -Gibt nun neben Mega Satan einen zweiten ultimativen Boss der sich Hush nennt (im normalen Spiel)
    -Ultra Greed und Hush passen sich durch Schadenserkennung an, so das der Kampf immer gleich anspruchsvoll bleibt.
    -Neue Räume (L-Form oder sehr klein bzw. schmahler)
    -Neue Items und neue Item combos möglich.
    -Neue Herausforderungen
    -Mega Satan hat nun auch einen Grund besiegt zu werden.

    Allerdings machen die neuen Inhalte das Spiel, meiner Meinung nach, einfacher. Items die in Rebirth noch sehr selten waren (Steven DMG UP, Black Lotus oder God Head) bekommt man jetzt hinterher geschmissen.
    Ich habe mich damals zu tode gesucht nach diesen Items und nun finde ich sie überall wo ich hinlaufen.
    Ich habe einfach das Problem das jeder Run ein guter, ja fast schon OP run ist. Das wird nach ner Zeit langweilig und für das vervollständigen von allem bekommt man viel zu viele Co-OP Babys die wenige benutzen da der Co-OP nur Localspielbar ist. Ich hatte mir von Afterbirth erhofft...

    Mein Fazit ist: Für neue Isaac spieler die von Rebirth schon genug haben eine tolle neue frische, vorallem der Greddmodus, aber für die Real Platinumgods nur ein kleiner zeitvertreib...
    Expand
  24. Jan 9, 2021
    9
    This is a wonderful game, every visit is like a new world, something new all the time. Very interesting I advise. Sometimes texture bugs are possible
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. CD-Action
    Feb 4, 2016
    85
    McMillen’s dungeon is really worth revisiting. Afterbirth does not introduce any spectacular changes but offers tons of new content. [01/2016, p.73]
  2. Dec 29, 2015
    65
    In contrast to the previous expansion, Afterbirth is just a collection of scraps and trimmings that has nothing original to offer.
  3. Nov 23, 2015
    90
    The Binding of Isaac: Rebirth is packed with content and knows like no other 2D game how to turn a gloomy atmosphere down.