Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. Aug 28, 2019
    70
    Man of Medan doesn’t tell the most unique story, and indeed you’ll probably unravel it long before the characters do. It’s unique in the telling though, and often that’s what counts more.
  2. Aug 28, 2019
    70
    It's not easy to keep everyone alive in Man of Medan, and you won't necessarily want to, especially in 2-player co-op.
  3. Sep 11, 2019
    65
    The second playthrough is better than the first — by then you already know that the story is not scary at all, the dialogue is stale and characters are boring. But still, there is some fun to be had by choosing different options and trying to help the ones you failed to save before.
  4. Sep 11, 2019
    65
    A good candidate for the title of killer of the evening. For more, unfortunately, Urang Medan did not have enough traction.
  5. Aug 28, 2019
    60
    While Man of Medan isn’t the greatest game you’ll play this year, it does a good enough job of setting the Dark Pictures Anthology series out to sea. Unfortunately, the unevenly paced story, the out-of-tone voice lines, and the stiff animations make for a subpar experience that we will hopefully see improved in later iterations of the series.
  6. Aug 28, 2019
    60
    But despite having the same solid mechanics as its big brother, Man of Medan starts the anthology off on a thoroughly “meh” note, thanks its unimpressive, poorly-constructed story.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 28, 2019
    An interactive horror game only works if it scares or surprises you, and Man of Medan does both. But while it makes sense to be unable to save characters in a movie, that can be frustrating in a game in which I’m supposed to have some say in what happens.
  2. It’s a shame, too, that so much of the game takes place on the rusty, pitch black tug, because when the lights are on, it looks fantastic. Items and textures are impressive, and the acting is very solid. I rarely get to play interactive fiction with such strong production values, especially with all the variation and replay value on offer. I’m on board. I enjoyed this one, and if Supermassive Games continue on trend, I’m optimistic for the rest of the series.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 252 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 252
  1. Aug 29, 2019
    4
    I played this on PC, as it's my preferred form of gaming. The first line of dialogue made me break out in laughter. Not because of a wittyI played this on PC, as it's my preferred form of gaming. The first line of dialogue made me break out in laughter. Not because of a witty line cleverly written by the creators, no. I laughed my ass off for 3 minutes because of how horrendous the acting, movements, emotes were. The graphics are up-to-par with any large release game like this but the character animations - good God are they absolutely awful. The controls are frustrating, the (supposed to be) cinematic camera movements are choppy. The story is boring. The characters have no personality traits. This game is one hell of an experience. At one point I quite literally tossed my hat across the room and slapped my forehead into the palm of my hand due to how frustrating this piece of garbage is. Even if this were a regular movie, it would still be trash! The acting, writing, story... It's all so boring and just uninspired. The concept of an interactive horror movie is great, sure, but if I continuously had the urge to browse r/DankMemes during the cut scenes due to boredom, you know it's not good. I wouldn't recommend this to my worst enemy. Full Review »
  2. Aug 29, 2019
    3
    A few hours in and an original idea has yet to present itself. Cliche, trite, and unoriginal.
  3. Aug 29, 2019
    5
    If you enjoy bad horror movies on netflix, you might enjoy this one.

    For hardcore/horror gamers.. don't. Awful jumpscares, extremely
    If you enjoy bad horror movies on netflix, you might enjoy this one.

    For hardcore/horror gamers.. don't. Awful jumpscares, extremely annoying characters and absolutely absurd writing for the dialogues. The game is 4 hours long and feels like 2 of those should be scraped off, bad pacing, bad story. It's just decent graphics and thats it.
    Full Review »