Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. Jun 12, 2019
    97
    The developers have outdone themselves once more and somehow managed to make an already fantastic MMO all the more awesome. The expansion whisks players away to the homeland of the Khajiit. Players must face the dragon threat looming over Elsweyr, though you do not possess the power some players may be used to if they played Skyrim. You are not the Dragonborn, and these dragons are no laughing matter.
  2. Jul 26, 2019
    95
    I thoroughly enjoyed questing through Elsweyr and while I wasn’t looking to start a new class, I am happy I made the Necromancer, as she is certainly the second most fun character to play for me. The class is a blast to heal and DPS on, and I can’t wait to get her into champion level. The addition of dragons was done perfectly, and brings a lot of fun to the game.
  3. Jun 3, 2019
    90
    Elder Scrolls Online Elsweyr is the best expansion for the MMO yet. The new zone is beautiful, the Necromancer class is excellent and the story is engaging. Although the story does take some notes from other popular media.
  4. Jun 14, 2019
    89
    Then of course there are the dragons: Every fight against the monstrous Flutterviecher feels really epic to me.
  5. Jun 17, 2019
    85
    Elsweyr is another great chapter for The Elder Scrolls Online. It doesn’t include anything revolutionary, but with the new Necromancer and the Elsweyr map it’s more than enough to keep ESO’s fans entertained for more than a dozen hours.
  6. Jun 6, 2019
    85
    If you ever wished you could play a necromancer, battle dragons and date a Khajiit, or, why not, all three, Elsweyr delivers on that and then some. Just don't give up because of the flavorless storyline.
  7. Jun 19, 2019
    83
    Elsweyr is a great way to start if you haven’t played TESO yet, but it’s also a great expansion for veterans. Tons of content and relevant additions make TESO one of the best MMO available at the moment.
  8. 82
    The Elder Scrolls Online’s newest expansion give us new information about the lore of the franchise, while introducing an intriguing new class (the Necromancer) and a lot of endgame content.
  9. Jul 9, 2019
    80
    Elsweyr is a great expansion pack with a lot of new contents, dragons and necromancer. If you haven't play The Elder Scrolls Online yet, this is a great way to enjoy the one of the best MMORPG in market. It is funny, addictive and for moments, epic too.
  10. Jun 5, 2019
    80
    Elsweyr isn’t going to shatter your perception of Elder Scrolls Online. If you like the game already, you’ll love this expansion.
  11. Jun 4, 2019
    80
    The outstanding Necromancer class and an excellent helping of side missions in a beautiful world make The Elder Scrolls Online: Elsweyr a great expansion even though its main storyline disappoints.
  12. Jun 4, 2019
    80
    Elsweyr is full of all kinds of wonderful things from the Elder Scrolls series—ranging from dragons and necromancers to Khajiit and assassins—but the main story doesn't pack as much of a punch as what we saw in ESO's previous two expansions. Fortunately, there's still plenty to love about the memorable side quests and the fantastic new Necromancer class.
  13. Jun 4, 2019
    80
    The Elder Scrolls: Online - Elsweyr is another great, suggestive expansion of the main adventure, developed by Bethesda and ZeniMax.
  14. Jun 3, 2019
    80
    There’s nog big changes in TESO Elsweyr, but it does has a nice little walk in the Khajiits’ homeland. The writing is neat and the characters are great, which will fullfil the lore addicts.
  15. Jun 18, 2019
    70
    The dragon's return has not occurred with the same force as expected. Fans will have their ration of TES: Online for a while, but Elsweyr feels less than the previous two expansions.
  16. Jun 4, 2019
    70
    While the environment isn't as impressive as Morrowind or Summerset, Zenimax Online's storytelling is still impressive and entertaining. Unfortunately, the combat mechanics need a little more punch and the addition of dragons ends up be less impactful than advertised. It's a good expansion, but feels like a step down from the previous few.
  17. Jun 4, 2019
    70
    Struggles to do justice to what should be its show-stopper moments, but breathes much-needed life into the Khajiit and their homeland.
  18. Jun 9, 2019
    65
    Its most obvious faults, in addition to a limp writing and quests that are not always interesting, are all found in the problems that have also characterized Summerset: that is, a structured "campaign" to be enjoyed alone, as well as badly integrated with a game world populated by hundreds of people.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Jul 14, 2019
    4
    5 Years later and the game didn't fixed all the performance related issues (fps drops in trials and in cyrodiil) lags in battleground and in5 Years later and the game didn't fixed all the performance related issues (fps drops in trials and in cyrodiil) lags in battleground and in Cyrodiil (big pvp area). I have a 1080 ti and a 8700k and the game runs at 20 fps in trials and in group in cyrodiil.

    Balancing issues, where Sorcerer and Nightblade are the best overall dps and the best classes for pvp. Zenimax devs have no idea how to properly fix skill as they share both pvp and pve.

    Cheaters running in Cyrodiil, using cheat engine. you can find many cheating video on video just type ESO + Cheat.

    Graphic glitches, Issues that had been fixed in previous patchs became bugged again as if there is no QA team under Zenimax.

    Pay to win mechanics where you can buy cash shop item to:
    speed up you horse speed, stamina and carry
    get all skill points (long farm journey through skyshards)
    level up entire skill trees (to level up mage guild tree for example which is super long)

    Loot boxes with the best item drop have like 0.001% chance.

    The expansion is getting smaller and smaller. Elsweyr expansion map is smaller than the Orsinum DLC map, it has also less quests and feel much more empty.

    The game is made by the same ones how made Fallout 76 as Todd Howard said that Zenimax Studio helped them build Fallout 76.

    I've been playing ESO for 4 years now with ESO+ and trying to convince myself that this game will improve with years. That didn't happen.

    One issue that had been since the start of the game is animation cancelling where you hit a light attack and before the animation finish follow up with a skill. Zenimax said they were going to fix it. They cannot and thus this bug turned into a feature.

    I've cancelled my ESO+ subscription long ago and moved to a better mmo with monthly sub. At least i got for my money.

    Unlike ESO where your subscription serves cheaters to play to game for free. So you're paying for them to ruine your game experience.

    Never again, I should have know that the game is bad since it went buy to play model from a monthly subscription model.

    My advice : don't play the game.
    Full Review »