• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Mar 23, 2010
The Settlers 7: Paths to a Kingdom Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 223 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Settlers: Paths to a Kingdom is the latest game from the award-winning kingdom building strategy series. Created in 1993, The Settlers franchise is one of the best selling strategy brands with over 500,000 units sold in the US and over 7MM units worldwide LTD. In Paths to a Kingdom, theThe Settlers: Paths to a Kingdom is the latest game from the award-winning kingdom building strategy series. Created in 1993, The Settlers franchise is one of the best selling strategy brands with over 500,000 units sold in the US and over 7MM units worldwide LTD. In Paths to a Kingdom, the military, economic, and research systems are richer than ever. This allows players to play and win the way they want. Beyond the game campaign, fully customizable pre-designed maps, downloadable expansions and anticipated player-generated content will guarantee wide-ranging experiences. The innovation does not stop at the game content. The Settlers: Paths to a Kingdom will integrate the player’s social networks contacts on Facebook and Twitter. By allowing consumers to play the way they want and share their progress with their friends, this is truly the most accessible and innovative Settlers title to date. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. If you're a fan of games like Sim City, Tropico, Caesar or even the earlier Settlers games, this game probably isn't one you want to miss. The changes from the earlier games and from other games in its genre are almost all for the better, and it's just generally a well put-together piece of entertainment - whether you prefer to build sand castles or kick them over.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    86
    Although I lost my Settlers virginity at a fairly old age, growing a functional colony is very, very addictive. The game brings back a load of childhood memories, which is definitely one of the game's strongest sides. There are some minor flaws though. The AI is passive and if you need to handle million things at once, sometimes the game gets quite confusing. [May 2010]
  3. Compared to the recent titles of the series, Paths to a Kingdom is a real step forward, both in terms of bringing back gameplay elements specific to the Settlers series and introducing new options that allow for greater complexity: the Victory Points system, conquering sectors and increasing the productivity of your followers by filling their bellies.
  4. Finally we’ve got ourselves a brand new Settlers adventure that is more than capable to let us forget the last two parts. Thank you Bruce and Blue Byte for the hours that we’ll be spending behind our PC’s for the coming months.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    Original, varied and complex strategy game focuses on logistics. Multiplayer can be compared to playing a great board game. [Issue#190]
  6. The setting is definitely terrific, and multiplayer is handled quite well, but the game just does not go that extra mile and offer something outside the graphics that sets it apart. It is a good game; it just does not go that extra step to becoming a great game.
  7. Constant crashes and a really annoying anti-piracy system hinders The Settlers 7 from growing to the fabulous strategy game it should have been.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 42
  2. Negative: 17 out of 42
  1. JensL
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    To be honest it is absolutely appalling that DRM protection has made people downgrade games. While I do not condone DRM on any level other To be honest it is absolutely appalling that DRM protection has made people downgrade games. While I do not condone DRM on any level other than theoretical, it is downright wrong to rate games badly out of a dislike of an element that is non-related to the game itself. My rating of Settlers 7 would be somewhere between 8 or 9, but as I've seen an increasing tendency towards downranking games with DRM, I'll give it 10. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    10
    All games are going to have DRM some day don't read any of the negative reviews. The game play, graphics, sound and characters are all very well done.
  3. Macca
    Mar 25, 2010
    8
    I have been tracking this game for some time and was a fan of the settlers series up to and including 4, but I lost interest in the gameplay I have been tracking this game for some time and was a fan of the settlers series up to and including 4, but I lost interest in the gameplay at 5 and never played it since. Settlers 7 is an improvement and gameplay is a little retrospective towards its old style and also with some nice new touches and personalization. However, there is a beast of a problem underlying in this game which many gamers will use as an excuse (and probably a justifiable one) not to buy this game, and that is it's DRM. Whilst not as bad as other Ubi games that use this, forcing the user to be online 100% whilst you are on the game isn't everyone's cuppa tea, but at least with Settlers 7, if you do lose your connection it will attempt to reconnect for a short time. So, if your internet goes down due to a spike or some other reason, at least it will attempt to get you back in the game, whereas other games using this platform will just boot you off the game and won't even attempt to save where you were. I would have scored the game a 9 but for it's poor DRM system (my opinion), and I haven't written much about the game and its play, but you can get a good idea from the official reviews around the internet, they all pretty much agree that the game itself has high production values and has been released in a stable version at release with not too many bugs or technical issues - which for a new release on PC these days, is saying something. Expand
  4. Feb 17, 2011
    5
    9 points for the game itself. 1 Point for the DRM. So ... 5/10.
    It remember every others settlers games, maybe sometime a little bit
    9 points for the game itself. 1 Point for the DRM. So ... 5/10.
    It remember every others settlers games, maybe sometime a little bit "previous-version-like".

    1 point for this annoying DRM which prevented us from playing our game for days and days.
    Each time server is offline, or crashed, we can't play the game.
    With this protection, they killed the game.
    Expand
  5. Oct 10, 2011
    4
    For most of the Settlers series these games gave you the freedom and the time to build whatever you wanted but the annoying new "take andFor most of the Settlers series these games gave you the freedom and the time to build whatever you wanted but the annoying new "take and hold" victory points system causes you to build rush an economy to win which in turn shortens the game. Also maps feel a lot more restrictive as they are made up of small sectors with all fortifications ready built and army unit choice is limited. There are still a couple of bugs around one of which meant rolling back graphics drivers to prevent crashing and while I barely experienced any DRM issues the fact remains that it relies too much on both a stable server and a stable connection. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2010
    3
    As a long time Settlers fan I bought this game with high hopes. While nicely polished and offering a fair amount of customisability, it lackisAs a long time Settlers fan I bought this game with high hopes. While nicely polished and offering a fair amount of customisability, it lackis the depth and lasting appeal of earlier games in the series. And thanks to the ridiculous DRM scheme, I have been unable to play it on the weekends on several occasions.. Expand
  7. Jan 26, 2015
    0
    DRM is a threat to us all. It is our right to use these disks as we see fit. Get rid of DRM! Rate this game and others like it a zero to showDRM is a threat to us all. It is our right to use these disks as we see fit. Get rid of DRM! Rate this game and others like it a zero to show that we will not stand for DRM. Expand

See all 42 User Reviews