Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Jun 28, 2016
    49
    Its heart is in the right place, and that makes me wish I’d enjoyed it more. But it’s like the pancakes an eager eight-year-old tried to make their dad for Father’s Day: the ingredients are lacking in quality and the skill to assemble them just wasn’t present. All the little reasons The Technomancer is worth experiencing, all the little moments where the vision of a better game shines through, aren’t quite enough to justify choking down its shortcomings.
  2. Jul 4, 2016
    45
    I was disappointed by the clunky combat, dreary color palette, and meh leveling options of 2013’s Mars: War Logs, and I remain doubly so by The Technomancer, a second entry in the Mars RPG universe also from Spiders Studio.
  3. Jun 28, 2016
    45
    The Technomancer is not grossly bad, but it feels cheap and is deeply mediocre. It’s a cheap game, and worse: it’s no longer a cheap price. As I said in the first paragraph, I can’t think of a reason anyone would want to buy it over any other game in existence.
  4. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 12, 2016
    40
    The game with hidden potential, however, only for patient players. To the others the game offers an unsatisfying gameplay, uninspired dialogues and forgettable environment, with only occasional better moments. [Issue#265]
  5. Jul 8, 2016
    40
    I honestly believe that the team at Spiders wanted to deliver the very best game that they are capable of producing, and sadly I think that is exactly what they have done. The Technomancer is not a bad game, but it is devastatingly mediocre.
  6. Jun 28, 2016
    40
    The Technomancer has all the appearances of an epic sci-fi RPG, but it's surface level sheen over a cavalcade of boredom.
  7. Jun 28, 2016
    40
    I keep coming back to the voice acting but a big part of an RPG is the how the story is conveyed and this game falls flat on it’s face here making the story seem drab rather than the colour tale they have crafted. The environments are nice but overall nothing to write home about. The game looked good on paper but unfortunately it has too many pitfalls causing it to feel very lackluster.
  8. Jul 28, 2016
    35
    The writing is predictable and cringe worthy and the combat is boring and dry. Somewhere beneath its surface lies a polished game. Its unfortunate the flaws are so deeply ingrained within the game that they cannot be ignored and it breaks the immersion.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 181 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 181
  2. Negative: 46 out of 181
  1. Jun 30, 2016
    9
    I created this account just for this, because I think this game is beeing unfairly reviewed by critics.

    It's a good game, feels like the
    I created this account just for this, because I think this game is beeing unfairly reviewed by critics.

    It's a good game, feels like the old bioware rpg's, and it is another game that proves that critics doesn't like games anymore, they just want movies to watch.
    Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2016
    9
    A surprisingly good Science Fiction RPG: If you like Alpha Protocol and Divinity DKS, you'll know what to expect in terms of 'lack of polish',A surprisingly good Science Fiction RPG: If you like Alpha Protocol and Divinity DKS, you'll know what to expect in terms of 'lack of polish', but there is real depth here if you're willing to look.

    I really like the world building, factions and combat and don't even get me started on how deep the customisation tree is (Path of Exile type levels). If you're looking for something to tide you over until Andromeda next year, this is the game for you. Spiders has even aped MANY of golden-era BioWare's tricks from Kotor and Jade Empire, so you'll be right at home if you're a fan of those games or Commander Shepard.

    This review is more like an 8.8, but I'll round it up for the PCMR brothers and sisters.

    Sincerely,
    Ivory Samoan.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2016
    8
    Played the game for over an hour now, in my opinion it is a lot like an upgraded version of Mars war logs, which to me isnt a bad thing. ThePlayed the game for over an hour now, in my opinion it is a lot like an upgraded version of Mars war logs, which to me isnt a bad thing. The only real negative thing i have to say about this game so far is that the movement is clunky like TW3 when it was first released. Full Review »