Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. 90
    Twelve Minutes was one of the most interactive and enjoyable games I’ve played in a long while. Even though playing through the same loop again, and again, and again won’t be for everyone, I found the process of changing up my actions each time and moving forward, little by little, to be oddly satisfying, and the sense of accomplishment whenever I made a considerable leap forward was unmatched.
  2. Aug 19, 2021
    90
    Twelve Minutes is a thrill ride through and through, constantly presenting players with new and interesting revelations in the time looping narrative that never fails to keep one guessing. It veers away from stereotypical point-and-click adventure tropes, and challenges players to bend its densely-detailed environments to achieve their goals.
  3. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    Twelve Minutes is bold in its artistic choices in every aspect of the game. From the top-down camera perspective to the deliberate lack of instruction from the very beginning, Twelve Minutes wants you to figure everything out for yourself and see just how deep the rabbit hole goes. There are drawbacks to this, as exemplified by my own shortcomings when it comes to puzzle games, but it’s also elegant in its simplicity and minimalism. Twelve Minutes is a deliberately introspective game that doesn’t waste its breath on unnecessary exposition or dialogue. Wanting to see all it has to offer may take some effort on the player’s part, but it’s well worth the hard work and investment.
  4. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    12 Minutes is a brilliant, complex, dense and very smart point and click adventure, which amazes each time you play it, thanks to its many, many branches. Served by a talented and rightfully toned cast, 12 Minutes is a rare and outstanding experience all the way.
  5. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    12 Minutes is a welcome and delicious experience, inspired in the mystery classics by some of the best masters. It can make us feel the entire spectrum of emotions and making us think on how we deal with the truth, while navigating with equal artisanship through various genres. The small imperfections that you may find are the sign of a limited production team, but they are insignificant and incapable of meddling in this claustrophobically welcoming journey.
  6. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    Twelve Minutes manages to do something much more complicated than it seems: bring an innovative idea to fruition. Its plot, with surprising script twists and told at a very good pace, is actively developed by the player, who has to carefully measure the interactions between objects, the conversations they have and their actions within a time-loop structure based on in the acquisition of knowledge in each attempt. All this in a very accessible game except for some situation that requires an unclear interaction, one of its few black points along with the small technical errors that occur in a fantastic audiovisual section. The first work that Luis Antonio signs as an independent developer is one of those games that have the privilege of staying in our memory.
  7. 90
    12 Minutes is easily one of the best games of the year. I was surprised by how quickly it grabbed me, and it maintained that hold until the end. It feels like nearly every loop ends with an exciting cliffhanger that leaves you rushing to start the cycle over again. It can be a bit difficult to maintain focus when you’re stuck on a puzzle and you find yourself beating your head against the wall in search of a solution, but those breakthrough moments are more than worth the trouble.
  8. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    Warren Spector, director of Deus Ex, has said that he would like to make a game focused entirely on one city block because the small space would allow for unmatched mechanical depth. 12 Minutes reduces Spector's scope further, and finds a rich vein for interaction and storytelling. This game may limit its loop to 12 minutes, but I found myself wishing I could stay for much, much longer.
  9. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    A miniature time loop thriller that will burrow into your frontal lobe and stay there long after you've solved the mystery.
  10. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    Twelve Minutes had me on a rollercoaster ride from start to finish. I started being let down by the game seeming too simple in premise. Then I got frustrated because I got stuck uncovering its hidden complexities. Finally, I can't and don't want to put it down until I'd turned everything over thrice. It executes the time loop mechanic meticulously, its story is twisting and turning constantly, and the excellent voice cast, environmental art, and music work together to create a new type of adventure game. It is not perfect, and you see some cut corners, but what it sacrifices, it makes up for with a satisfying payoff as you delve deeper into its time loop to unravel the mystery at the core.
  11. Aug 18, 2021
    90
    Twelve Minutes is an immaculate construction of narrative that manages to take an extremely compact apartment space and spin an incredibly substantial story in it. Every thread seems to lead to two more, and each one feels satisfying to complete as you head towards the final loop. The voice talents are on point, the gameplay fits remarkably well, and every loop is a new adventure. I implore you to take the time to check this one out, as Twelve Minutes is worth every minute you’ll spend with it.
  12. Aug 18, 2021
    85
    Twelve Minutes' strong narrative and star-studded cast of voice actors make it a solid mystery thriller that is slightly held back by clunky movements and occasionally janky controls.
  13. Aug 18, 2021
    85
    All in all, I really enjoyed the tension Twelve Minutes implemented even with its sometimes wonky animation and frustrating elements. I found myself constantly thinking about it when not playing and trying to come up with new ways and ideas that would allow me to finally get to the crux of what was happening and why. It’s also well worth getting another mind in on the action to help guide the storyline along in angles you haven’t thought about which essentially turns it into a brilliant two-player game and a real talking point.
  14. Aug 25, 2021
    84
    Twelve Minutes takes advantage of a time loop to tell us an intricate story, managing to motivate player's creativity in trying to prevent seemingly unavoidable situations. Featuring a breathtaking voiceover, it lacks in credibility when it tries to amaze and horrify at any cost, while successfully managing to blow the audience away. It will give you a fulfilling afternoon, and if you love point and click adventures you shouldn't miss it. You can easily see the first two or three endings, but unlocking them all needs quite an effort.
  15. CD-Action
    Nov 15, 2021
    80
    A test of nerves – the clock is ticking and 12 minutes is a very narrow window to take appropriate actions. It’s kinda hard to rate this game with full conviction, because a lot depends on the player – the more patient and perceptive you are, the better it gets. However, the fact is that it’s one of the most unique adventure games in recent years and that alone makes it worth your time. [11/2021, p.38]
  16. Sep 11, 2021
    80
    Despite its tiny setting and small but robust cast, Twelve Minutes surprisingly grows into a mystery with a lot of depth and intrigue. It does have a few flaws in how it forces you to figure things out on your own and limits how much you can play around with. However, once you do get past those roadblocks and make progress in your search for the truth, you realize those minutes have turned into hours and the disturbing twist at the end was well worth your time.
  17. Sep 9, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes is a welcoming innovation in the video games industry, with a fully fledged all-star cast that does the job masterfully. Sadly it possesses some drawbacks in the form of immense repetitiveness in the later segments, but it shines with its excellently written story and interesting design.
  18. Aug 24, 2021
    80
    12 Minutes is a very unique experience with one of a kind art design, solid story and innovative gameplay, and while the time loop mechanism makes some parts of the gameplay repetitive, the final package still feels new, fresh and entertaining.
  19. Aug 23, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes is a nice little point-and-click adventure game that will leave you stunned. Some points of frustration can make the game longer than it needs to be. Can get tedious at times if you're stuck.
  20. Aug 19, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes features a compelling time loop story with strong performances that will keep players hooked, even when the lack of guidance brings that momentum to a halt. The mysteries of both the plot and gameplay will reward players who are willing to think outside the box, while the intuitive controls ensure that anyone can attempt to help the husband and wife escape their destinies. Fans of adventure games or anyone looking for a memorable story will find plenty to appreciate in the repeating world of Twelve Minutes, and the clock has already begun ticking on the wait for the follow-up to Luis Antonio’s impressive debut title.
  21. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  22. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes is a game of dualities. It is very economic in how it presents itself. The focus is tight on three characters, in a small apartment that houses the few instruments of change at your disposal. This allows each little detail to have a nauseating amount of depth to it, including the fantastic performances of the characters and their backstories. The downside to this is that it can lead players astray, due to the limitless possibilities and comparatively limited guidance. Regardless, Twelve Minutes is a tidy and reasonably well-told pressure-cooker drama with few divots, provided you can follow the path.
  23. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    So with every repeated loop, and every new piece of info that leads to more narrative threads to pull on, Twelve Minutes is certainly fascinating to unravel. Some of it might start to feel a bit clunky, when dialogue starts mashing up against itself and characters move in awkward ways, but on the whole, it’s a puzzle I kept wanting to piece together, both fascinated and afraid of the answers I might find. It keeps the story driving forward, and if some deep, dark character drama set in a time loop sounds appealing, you’ll find what you’re looking for here.
  24. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes ultimately presents a compelling, thrilling experience that feels more than worth the price of entry. It has interesting things to say through its looping core conceit, and it’ll tease your brain more than a few times - sometimes genuinely, sometimes through slightly cheap requirements to progress. I also admit I was less of a fan of where the story went in its later stages - but that doesn’t mean I wasn’t hooked. The journey matters more than the destination, after all - and a gripping journey this is.
  25. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes is a smart take on the time loop concept, reducing both the time and space players operate in to create a pressurised experience. Its puzzles are varied and ingenious, and with all the pieces in front of you from the start, it encourages creative experimentation. There is rough that comes with the smooth, such as some confusing trial and error and tiresome repetition, but even that seems appropriate in the infuriating situation of reliving the same moments again and again.
  26. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes is not the first game to explore the concept of the time loop. Zelda, Ephemeral Fantasia and Returnal have all been there. However, as a stylish, twisted take on movies such as Rear Window, Eyes Wide Shut and Chinatown, it is an engrossing experience that marries noir sensibilities and puzzle gameplay into a dense Freudian nightmare.
  27. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes injects a compelling time-loop mystery into a traditional point-and-click adventure game to create original gameplay that complements its story’s curiosity factor.
  28. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes is ambitious, both in its narrative and gameplay. It restricts players to its brutal rules, and its tragedies truly horrified me. And while its gameplay never let me experiment as much as I wanted it to – I still wish my cup of water plan had worked – I can’t stop thinking about the experience. I don’t want to be trapped in the game’s time loop any longer, but the entire adventure will stick with me. Twelve Minutes is a case study on a game thinking outside the box, playing by its own rules, and it’s a worthwhile experience for that alone.
  29. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes tells a gripping story through a unique, time-jumping point-and-click adventure experience. There’s a sense of thrill working out the narrative based on little clues but, unfortunately, getting this information to the other characters to progress the plot can become a frustrating task of trial-and-error in the last act. Overall, Twelve Minutes is an unforgettable experience that has been worth the wait.
  30. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    Twelve Minutes fully embraces its time loop conceit to amp up tension and provide players with a cleverly directed puzzle to solve. Discovering the whos and whys of the game’s central event in bite-sized increments is just as satisfying as interacting with its simple adventure-style interface. Its A-list casting and unanswered plot elements might distract from the overall package, but at its core, Twelve Minutes is a satisfying thriller that asks some dark and disturbing moral questions.
  31. Aug 18, 2021
    80
    For the majority of its runtime Twelve Minutes is a delight, with its engaging premise and unique gameplay making the player lose track of those never-ending loops, but it does peter out towards the end.
  32. Nov 24, 2021
    75
    Used to atypical games, the publisher Annapurna Interactive surprises us once again with Twelve Minutes. Yes indeed the game has some rigid animations, not really worthy in 2021, game is quite short, and the system of dialogues isn't perfect, but the stifling atmosphere, the atypical staging, the surprising scenario and the puzzles are really worth the detour in our opinion.
  33. Nov 15, 2021
    75
    Twelve Minutes is a niche game that won't suit everyone unless you are in it for finding every single detail. I couldn't explain to you why this game is really good without spoiling it to you. It could get repetitive and it's soundtrack is forgettable, but the cast of actors will make it all worthwhile.
  34. Aug 31, 2021
    75
    Twelve Minutes is an exercise in patience and the thrill of discovery. Many will tap out before discovering all of the endings or the true ending, whatever that is. I tossed in the towel after about six hours because I passed a point-of-no-return that the game alluded to but didn’t make it explicitly clear to me. The idea of having to redo everything I had already done was unthinkable, so I quit. I had gotten a couple of endings at that point, so I was satisfied enough. I imagine this will be a title that enthusiasts will speculate on and theorize over for a long while, while others will pass on it in frustration as it leaves a bad taste in their mouths. Although not totally satisfying, I’m glad I played it, and I think for the right person, this is a rewarding and thought-provoking adventure.
  35. Aug 18, 2021
    75
    12 Minutes is a game that proves to have a great story and an equally valid idea behind it, however the implementation in terms of gameplay does not always work and the freedom given to the player collides many times against an artificial wall, leading to conclusions sometimes illogical. Consequently, the narrative also suffers this backlash, since above all the policeman (and in rare cases also the wife) are bent to the need for the "game over" and are inconsistent or too forced in some of their behaviors. It's a shame, because the twists are certainly not lacking and the evolution of the story is growing, but also thanks to the fact that the events must follow a specific course and the clues are not so clear, the loops accumulate with a lot of frequency.
  36. Sep 17, 2021
    70
    Twelve Minutes has great potential as a high concept thriller with its stellar technical design, critically acclaimed cast and initially organic gameplay, but ultimately its narrative direction and pacing leaves a lot to be desired.
  37. Edge Magazine
    Sep 10, 2021
    70
    Even when it's going wrong, Twelve Minutes exerts an uncommonly firm grip. [Issue#363, p.114]
  38. Sep 2, 2021
    70
    Twelve Minutes is one of the most interesting games of 2021, but it might not be one of the best.
  39. Aug 24, 2021
    70
    While I was intrigued by the narrative, and enjoyed the performances, Twelve Minutes was an experience I’d had enough of by the time I completed it. There are just enough seams, jank, and clunk around that the act of playing the game felt like a task at times. I absolutely applaud the effort though. Twelve Minutes is an audacious first crack at a unique narrative structure, and one that will certainly lead to more refined and robust takes on this style of experience.
  40. Aug 24, 2021
    70
    Twelve Minutes is an engrossing adventure that is more about the journey than the destination. It’s not the most thrilling or thought-provoking story out there, but it still satiates that mystery craving. The star-studded casting elevates the atmosphere, and the involvement of the player is a unique way to take on the classic point-and-click genre. Though you’ll have to suffer through lengthy moments of tedium and irritation, there’s a lot to unpack and discover in this intriguing tale.
  41. Aug 22, 2021
    70
    Combined with a concept that is both seductive and risky, the plot of 12 Minutes easily maintains interest even in its elements of resolution. Also if one feels Luis Antonio's imperfections in terms of technique, his learning from the great thrillers of cinema is just as visible. But the title divides between the frustration that can cause redundant loops and the quite captivating atmosphere of the place. If the game is as accessible in its mechanics as thorny in its timed puzzles, the experience will naturally be smoother for those able to progress by limiting loops.
  42. 70
    At times maddening, but always fascinating, Twelve Minutes is a unique vision worth experiencing. It blends disparate genres and explores a twisting narrative using a terrarium of the mundane.
  43. Aug 18, 2021
    70
    Twelve Minutes represents a videogame experiment born from a series of suggestive intuitions. The choice of setting the title within the confines of a small two-room apartment, combined with the mystery that constantly permeates the work, certainly represents one of the most valuable aspects of the Indie published by Annapurna Interactive. Unfortunately, a scarce malleability, the limited possibilities of interaction and a narrative evolution that makes excessive use of artificial solutions prevent Luis Antonio's work from fully expressing its starting potential.
  44. Aug 18, 2021
    70
    There's a lot to like in Twelve Minutes, but when you start to get into the puzzles at the core of the game, things begin to get bogged down.
  45. 70
    When Twelve Minutes hits, it hits hard. But I feel there’s, at times, such a disconnect between what it wants to do and say that it’s hard to reconcile its moving parts into anything I’d consider truly great. Performances waver as often as they wow, and that’s a result of a very ambitious game. Narratively speaking, it’s got the hallmarks of a Nolan film, and just like any good Nolan film, you’re going to boil the kettle and postulate into the midnight hours.
  46. Aug 18, 2021
    70
    12 Minutes is something unique and experimental, and like any experiment, there are going to be some hiccups. As it turns out, this game’s main fault was that it, by its nature, rips time from its players. But between those moments, it tells a brilliant story, one in which you can go back to any chapter and decide to do a rewrite. 12 Minutes certainly won’t be for everyone, but if you’re looking for a change of pace, the game comes recommended highly.
  47. Aug 22, 2021
    69
    Twelve Minutes is a clever and well written psychological thriller, but in the end it chooses to abandon the logic and forces the player to act in a forced way.
  48. Aug 18, 2021
    68
    Gripping point and click adventure with some unintuitive moments and an unsatisfactory conclusion.
  49. Dec 2, 2021
    66
    Twelve minutes is a puzzle game with the theme of time loop. Although the scenes are rich in details and the art design is attractive, the mediocre gameplay and bad ending ruin everything the game has come before.
  50. Aug 26, 2021
    65
    Twelve Minutes is an indie game that has been eagerly anticipated for years, mainly due to its unique concept. A man is stuck in a twelve-minute time loop and it's up to you to adjust little things and steer events in a different direction. In practice, that idea appears to lend itself less well to a game than hoped.
  51. Aug 20, 2021
    65
    The excellent atmosphere and the cinematographic ambitions of Twelve Minutes are not enough to make it an unforgettable experience. Underneath lies a sloppy point & click game, serving a disjointed plot with far from captivating stakes. As for its time loop concept, it induces too many inconsistencies and repetitions in the course of the adventure to be fully satisfying.
  52. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 30, 2021
    64
    It’s one of those cases where it’s really hard to rate a game. It has a great concept and good plot delivery, but actual gameplay is incredibly frustrating. You’re stuck in the loop along with your character, with no way to fast-forward the events, and you have to meticulously try every possible combination, until find the trigger that will open up a new option. And then you re-check it all over again. [Issue#256, p.44]
  53. Oct 8, 2021
    60
    In cramming a time-looping murder mystery into the confines of a small inner-city studio apartment, Twelve Minutes offers much to appreciate, though the execution suffers somewhat from the limitations such a premise inevitably brings with it.
  54. Aug 31, 2021
    60
    Twelve Minutes starts off strong and pulls you in with an intriguing premise and interesting gameplay loop but is let down by a poorly executed shock twist, finicky controls, and occasionally obtuse puzzle design.
  55. Aug 27, 2021
    60
    These 12 minutes are first intriguing and addictive but the second part of the game feels really repetitive and the plot loses all of its interest and quality.
  56. Aug 27, 2021
    60
    Twelve Minutes has an intoxicating premise about a man stuck in a time loop, backed by a Hollywood cast of voice actors that immediately presents the game with a veneer of cinematic prestige. But just as it quickly captivates the player with the tantalising promise to unravel all its mysteries, it also loses all that steam just as rapidly with its unbelievable twists and unspeakable violence, resulting in a conclusion that’s as mind-boggling as it’s nauseating. In the end, Twelve Minutes can’t seem to rise above its film influences, as it grinds to an unsatisfying, disconcerting halt.
  57. Aug 18, 2021
    60
    In the end, I enjoyed some of my time with Twelve Minutes. Its story is genuinely gripping, and the cast’s performances are excellent, solidifying the game as a believable world. In many ways, developer Luis Antonio has created something truly remarkable here. But so much of Twelve Minutes is an exercise in frustration and repetition. You’re going to need a lot of patience to keep going, and ultimately, I’m not sure if it’s entirely worth it.
  58. Aug 18, 2021
    60
    Twelve Minutes is a good adventure game, but its puzzle design makes it feel— mature, cinematic presentation aside—like something of a relic. If it was released in 1995, you'd be ringing up the LucasArts hint line for help and getting scolded by your parents for running up a massive phone bill. But it has its charms, and the way the story is gradually peeled back, growing more disturbing with each loop, is effectively done. There's a huge amount of emotion, drama, and conflict squeezed into this tiny, dingy three-room apartment. But also a lot of frustration as you struggle to determine precisely the correct sequence of events to let you move the story forward and finally get some closure.
  59. Nov 19, 2021
    55
    Since 12 Minutes locks us in the confines of a small apartment, one would expect a high level of interactivity and variety, but after a few time loops you realize that you’re given a very limited set of useful actions. The gameplay quickly devolves into repeating the same routine actions with miniscule changes and unskippable dialogue in hopes that you get a new result.
  60. Aug 18, 2021
    53
    A clever time loop setup devolves into frustrating repetition.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Aug 22, 2021
    But those A-listers simply can’t offset the core frustrations. I wanted to know more, was desperate to progress and its story had its hooks into me, but the harsh time restrictions made Twelve Minutes often feel like a chore. If you can stick with it then its story is weird, violent and, at times, pretty shocking, but this is a game I think perfectly sums up how a time loop would actually feel: annoying, frustrating, pressurised, claustrophobic. As a game, it’s just not as entertaining or – ironically – as time conscious as it needs to be to succeed. In the best time-loop games, you have the freedom to experiment with one thing before trying another. Offsetting the repetition is easier. In Twelve Minutes, stuck in those same four walls, those same dozen minutes can feel like as many hours.
  2. Aug 18, 2021
    There's quality within this intriguing time loop, though by the end you're left wondering whether the core idea is a good one after all.
  3. Aug 18, 2021
    As far as I can tell, I made it to the true ending of Twelve Minutes. However, in conversations with co-workers who have also reached that point, we haven’t been able to decipher what it all means or what the game is trying to say. It aspires to grapple with Big Life Questions, and I imagine that many players will find it to be a text ripe for that kind of discussion. For me, Twelve Minutes is more about the journey than the destination — but maybe I’d feel differently if I could wipe my memory and experience it fresh, exploring undiscovered paths to new conclusions.
  4. Twelve Minutes' time loop puzzle is layered and weird, but its short time limit doesn't find the sweet spot between tense and frustrating.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 431 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Aug 20, 2021
    0
    The idea is good. But not executed well. Frustrating loops and some plot holes made it a bad game
  2. Aug 20, 2021
    2
    The game is initially fun. Things logically make sense and you have a good time. Eventually though, you end up "fighting the system". youThe game is initially fun. Things logically make sense and you have a good time. Eventually though, you end up "fighting the system". you "know" what happened and now you are just clicking away trying to figure out how to get your character to say or do what you want. You'll have to try over and over until you fumble across the right combination to make your dude say the line you need. Most people who can't afford to replay it over and over will end up googling a walk though because wasting hours on guess work isn't "fun".

    If you have limited free time this game is a hard pass or wait for it to be on sale and have a walk though standing by. If you have nothing to do, have played all the other new releases, and are looking for something to waste a few hours of time this may be the game for you. I wouldn't recommend it though.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2021
    0
    A BAD STORY DRIVEN GAME. this game struggle with its loops. sometimes you just want to close the game and never come back. i like the idea.A BAD STORY DRIVEN GAME. this game struggle with its loops. sometimes you just want to close the game and never come back. i like the idea. but they couldn't make it good. Full Review »