Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 10, 2019
    100
    A classic is born. This World War II strategy game is basically perfect and every turn-based general simply must try its comfortable armchair.
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    100
    The basic controls are simple that this still serves as an excellent gateway experience to more complex wargames, but it also contains within it deep mechanics that require mastering and that can transform the game into a more complex experience. If you were a fan of the first game, you'll definitely like this one.
  3. Jan 3, 2020
    95
    Simple controls and tactical complexity merge to achieve the year’s best wargame in Unity of Command II. It’s a game that forces you to optimize each one of your moves, like a classic board game in the style of Risk, but without the randomness. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this game, either to novices or veterans of the genre.
  4. Nov 15, 2019
    91
    Wargames don't see a lot of innovation, but Unity of Command 2 builds new things out of familiar parts.
  5. Jan 6, 2020
    90
    Unity of Command II makes for one of the most tactically engaging and challenging strategy games ever, enhancing an already excellent original with new features such as special attacks, a headquarters system which adds a levelling up system - working with the myriad of side objectives - and a very different type of war found on the western front to the east. It has quite the learning curve and may seem as impenetrable as the Maginot Line, but with a little time you'll come to love exactly how it works.
  6. Nov 12, 2019
    90
    Unity of Command 2 is an excellent evolution of the series that retains, improves, and builds upon the already high quality of its predecessor.
  7. Nov 14, 2019
    85
    Like the prequel, also Unity of Command II is a great example of what a modern wargame must be.
  8. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    Unity of Command 2 is an overall excellent wargame. The early going can be tough as it takes time to acclimatise to some idiosyncratic terms and learn to interpret the raft of poorly-explained icons. Persistence--not to mention some handy community-written guides--does pay off, though. Stick with it, and you'll be rewarded with one of the finest strategy games in recent times.
  9. Nov 26, 2019
    80
    I'm a huge fan of Hexfeld strategy games. Whether it's the Panzer General series, Panzer Tactics HD, or much more complex titles like Strategic Command and Gary Grigsby's War in the West, I've spent several hours of my life playing turn-based strategy games with WWII setting. I liked the Panzer General series and also Panzer Corps the best, because they were quite complex, but with a simple user interface and catchy rules. A similar case is Unity of Command 2, where the logistics gives the usual hex battle an interesting spin.
  10. Nov 22, 2019
    80
    Competent turn based strategy with relevant provisioning, some cool specials via the headquarter, challenging AI and a hint of card tactics.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 15, 2019
    Unity of Command II shows that even in a genre as tried-and-tested as this, where so much has remained the same for so long, that there’s room for change that not only interesting, but exciting.
  2. One of the few criticisms I can level at this close-to-perfect piece of hexiana is that the campaign chapters sometimes don’t dovetail as neatly as they might. [RPS Bestest Bests]
  3. Nov 13, 2019
    An approachable but rewardingly tough wargame gives a fresh take on familiar battles.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37
  1. Dec 14, 2019
    8
    I like to control other people and better when i can hurt people so i love this game alot. The blood visuals of permanent injuries delightsI like to control other people and better when i can hurt people so i love this game alot. The blood visuals of permanent injuries delights me. Usually I'm high when i play. Its not better than sex though Full Review »
  2. Jan 29, 2022
    2
    The second edition and the improved version of one of the most overrated games of all time.
    This isn't a tactical war strategy game; it's all
    The second edition and the improved version of one of the most overrated games of all time.
    This isn't a tactical war strategy game; it's all about supply management which is impossible to do.
    Just don't listen to the other reviewers and the hype. Don't waste your money and time by playing this stupid game like I did. You may try the cracked version if you don't believe me.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2021
    6
    Not realistic enough for me; to have my panzer troop wiped out by a enemy cavalry troop seems impossible, and the same when I try to invade aNot realistic enough for me; to have my panzer troop wiped out by a enemy cavalry troop seems impossible, and the same when I try to invade a city and that the score is 5:0 because I use tanks in place of infantry. So in real life, to invade a occupied city with tanks makes no casualties for the resistance, really ? Full Review »