Vader Immortal: Episode I Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into a galaxy far, far away and experience the first Star Wars story designed exclusively for virtual reality. Descend into Darth Vader's mysterious fortress alongside new allies and encounter fearsome enemies, including the Sith Lord himself. Be at the center of a story in which youStep into a galaxy far, far away and experience the first Star Wars story designed exclusively for virtual reality. Descend into Darth Vader's mysterious fortress alongside new allies and encounter fearsome enemies, including the Sith Lord himself. Be at the center of a story in which you hold the key to the galaxy's salvation... or destruction. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. May 29, 2019
    80
    It’s actually quite hard, and has its own minor unlockables, which further justifies the already perfectly reasonable asking price.
  2. May 21, 2019
    80
    The first episode of Vader Immortal shows all the potential of this VR series: a new way to immerse in the Star Wars universe, perfectly inserted in its narrative canons. The interactive experience is very short but the level of immersion is incredible, far beyond what a simple 360-degree VR movie could ever do.
  3. May 9, 2019
    78
    Outside of an odd tutorial sequence that completely derails the experience for a few minutes, the action and story flow nicely from moment to moment, creating a fun ride into the inner workings of the Dark Side. The lack of involvement you may have as a character is a minor quibble in an otherwise fascinating Star Wars story that puts its iconic villain in the spotlight more than I expected. I can’t wait to see where this series goes next, as the tease at the end implies the Force will be explored in big ways.
  4. May 20, 2019
    78
    It's hard to resist the dark side of the force... even if it's a short one. Vader Immortal Episode 1 last 45 minutes, and always leaves the feeling of being a collection of game mechanics used on other VR games (puzles, climb...). But the immersion and the atmosphere are so good that you probably won't mind.
  5. May 20, 2019
    77
    At the end of the credits all that remains is the regret for a very reduced longevity, which leaves us with the desire to discover more deeply the story drafted by David S. Goyer.
  6. May 9, 2019
    75
    Vader Immortal: A Star Wars VR Story - Episode 1 is mechanically simple, but it does a fine job of letting you bask in Star Wars surroundings and the impressive presence of Darth Vader himself.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 14, 2019
    Despite just offering a taste of what's to come with Vader Immortal, the first episode has me hooked and I want more.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. Mar 27, 2022
    10
    It's a great game!

    Pros: * Star wars theme * Darth Vader looks intimidating * Lightsaber battles feel fun. You can actually block
    It's a great game!

    Pros:
    * Star wars theme

    * Darth Vader looks intimidating

    * Lightsaber battles feel fun. You can actually block attacks + deflect projectiles

    * Great story

    * Holy duck visuals that make you gasp at the larger-than-life world

    * VERY well tested for difficulty. NO difficulty spikes that take you out of the experience. You're always in control and it's an extremely fun casual game.

    Cons:

    * My only complaint about this game is that it's very short. I think I must have finished this in 20-30 mins. And there's no replay value.
    Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2021
    10
    I 100% thought I was using the lightsaber. I would probably cut my hand off if It was real life though...
  3. Feb 20, 2021
    9
    This is worth the money, the star wars VR experience at Cinemark is $30, so this is way worth it. The game left me in awe the whole time andThis is worth the money, the star wars VR experience at Cinemark is $30, so this is way worth it. The game left me in awe the whole time and the dojo is a great challenge. Expand
  4. Oct 28, 2020
    8
    This first episode shows so much promise with the lightsaber controls being a highlight. Plus actually seeing Vader loom over you is such anThis first episode shows so much promise with the lightsaber controls being a highlight. Plus actually seeing Vader loom over you is such an intimidating feeling. Expand
  5. Dec 15, 2020
    7
    It is not a bad game, but it is a demo. The length is about 1h which is short even for a VR game. There was not that much memorable in theIt is not a bad game, but it is a demo. The length is about 1h which is short even for a VR game. There was not that much memorable in the first episode, so I really do have high hopes for episodes II and III to bring some more action. Expand
  6. Aug 25, 2020
    6
    REEEEAAAAALLY short. I'm talking one hour max for the story mode. The plot seems to be interesting so far, though this first episode is reallyREEEEAAAAALLY short. I'm talking one hour max for the story mode. The plot seems to be interesting so far, though this first episode is really just the introduction. The gameplay is a pretty typical for your standard VR experience: A lot of knob-turning, button-pushing, lever-pulling, climbing etc. It's of course also suuuuuuuper-linear and your movement is quite restricted, which feels really awkward if you choose the "normal" movement option with the analog stick instead of teleporting.

    The highlight here is obviously the light-sabre. Activating and swinging it for the first time feels as awesome as you would expect. But there are only three fights in this first episode which, honestly, are pretty boring and easy and the third one goes on for WAY too long without changing anything up, it's always the same attack patterns. I don't even know if you can really die in this "game", I got hit a bunch of times and nothing really happened.

    Graphics are honestly meh for the most part, the sound and music are good.

    All in all, I would recommend this if you're a Star Wars fan and want to swing a light-sabre in VR (and not just in a rhythm game). For everybody else, I guess you can't go too wrong for the small price of 7,99€, but this first episode definitely didn't blow me away and I think VR light-sabre combat has a lot more potential than what is exhibited here.

    One extra point for Maya Rudolph as the voice of ZOE because I love that woman ;)
    Expand
  7. Jan 8, 2022
    4
    Very short. Extremely basic game mechanics. Dull storyline.

    If you're a fan of everything star wars you'll probably love this. If you're
    Very short. Extremely basic game mechanics. Dull storyline.

    If you're a fan of everything star wars you'll probably love this. If you're not, you may find this to be a very basic game that's not worth $8 for 45 minutes, IMO.

    Interactions are basic; Pull a thing and twist it so you can move to the next scene. I love a well-done story-focused game. But there's no depth here whatsoever. Most of the talking is done by your typical star wars sidekick droid character whose likeability is somewhere between Jar Jar Binks and C-3PO. There's not much interesting happening with the plot.

    Combat mechanics are very basic. You will be bored if you don't get excited by light sabers. The final battle seems to go on forever; It's the same baddies respawning four or five times and repeating the same sequence. When the fight does end you'll be surprised it's only 40 minutes in and that's the end.
    Expand

See all 8 User Reviews