Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    93
    I had a wonderful time playing Valdis Story. Time and time again it exceeded my expectations, and it's a privilege that I was able to play and review it. Just when I thought I had seen the greatest boss or most intense challenge, it threw another one at me.
  2. Jan 4, 2014
    90
    It simultaneously succeeds as both an action platformer and a Metroidvania with RPG elements, and it's a must-play for fans of either genre. I'm already excited to play as the other two characters eventually, but I also can't wait to see what the future holds for this franchise long term -- because there's a lot to build on.
  3. Jan 7, 2014
    85
    An amazing "vania" game, and one that should really be more popular considering its qualities. The structure is the one veteran gamers know and love, but it's been improved with a complex combat system and deep leveling and ability trees. Quite the treat, especially considering the low cost. It isn't perfect, but, if this is the level of this team's first project, we can't wait for what's next.
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    A great and hardcore platformer with RPG elements that's been created by just two people. But actually, this information does not matter while playing. The important thing is that Valdis Story is excellent fun for plenty of hours.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 23, 2014
    80
    One can’t really complain about the lack of platformers these days, but when you pick up Valdis, you can be sure of getting the highest quality available. [Issue#238]
  6. Jan 16, 2014
    80
    Reviving the gameplay of classics is dangerous — too often our memories betray us, forgetting the problems that game development has overcome over the years.
  7. Mar 17, 2014
    75
    If you’re a fan of Metroidvania games, or indie games in general, you should definitely check out Valdis Story. With multiple playable characters, an interesting world to explore, and engaging gameplay, there are few reasons not to give this gem a chance. It may not do everything perfectly and it doesn’t tread much new ground, but it delivers a great experience wrapped up inside of a beautiful package for a cheap price. Bust out your PC game pad and take Wyatt on his adventure in the Abyssal City.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 87
  2. Negative: 11 out of 87
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    First thing is first, the other reviews I have read on this giving this game a 1 is utter and total ****

    Let me start by saying I am a
    First thing is first, the other reviews I have read on this giving this game a 1 is utter and total ****

    Let me start by saying I am a metroidvania enthusiast, I live for these games and they are my favorite genre in the fastness of video games. I grew up with super metroid and to this day is my favorite game of all time, the "what the do I do next thing" sold the whole franchise to me. SoTN just nailed it in every way possible. In other words: I've been waiting for Valdis Story: Abyssal City for years.

    On the surface the game is tight, as in the controls and the overall JRPG is there, but its a action RPG. It feels sometimes like a action fighting game, kind of like devil may cry, where the combos are so different depending on what you hit (jump included). The combat focuses on melee, and uses magic as a means of navigation, kind of like metroids' ability's.

    I will admit the crafting interface could be a little easier to do, like maybe check a item you want to farm for, so you can see your progress. The only way i could do that is wright down the mats needed for it, then go off fighting the mobs who drop it.

    The artwork is outstanding, it brings me back to when I was first learning how truly powerful games could really be. All this 1080 HD next gen couldn't make me thing this game looks anything but beautiful. This is hand drawn, and it looks great.

    Overall, I can not recommend this game enough, If you liked SoTN, buy this game.

    I am using a xbox 360 controller and the controls are very good and tight,
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    6
    At first i loved this game. A metroidvania dream. Until i got further. Symphony of the night had a couple of tough acrobatic puzzles. ThisAt first i loved this game. A metroidvania dream. Until i got further. Symphony of the night had a couple of tough acrobatic puzzles. This game consists from it. It's not just hard. It requires you to be absolutely perfect. One mistake and you either dead or running out of time. I like some challenge. But when the challenge is to overcome counterintuitive controls and make 10 perfect moves in 10 seconds it's not fun at all. You just have to repeat over and over, until you master it. It may take 30-100 tries to solve 1 trick or to learn a boss. This is what this game is all about. So don't even think about getting it, unless you prepared sustain some extreme fffffrustration. Full Review »
  3. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    If you've cut your gaming teeth on Mega Man, Castlevania or Metroid, you will feel right at home playing this game. It won't cuddle you likeIf you've cut your gaming teeth on Mega Man, Castlevania or Metroid, you will feel right at home playing this game. It won't cuddle you like modern games that are built to make you feel good by holding your hand while giving you the illusion of challenge and danger. It's a great experience with beautiful art, awesome music, lovely animations and great gameplay. There are 4 playable characters (2 unlocked from the start) that have different powers and combat style giving good replayability to this title. The game punishes foolishness or sloppy gaming, but is very rewarding for being smart in analyzing challenges and using your skills correctly. In a way, it reminds me of Dark Souls for giving a difficult but exciting experience. I'd easily recommend this to anyone that loved the old Mega Man or the Castlevania titles on Nintendo DS Full Review »