Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
Buy On
  1. Dec 28, 2016
    85
    Watch Dogs 2 looks absolutely gorgeous on PC. The game offers a rich sandbox, with plenty of fun missions, things to do and places to see.
  2. Dec 12, 2016
    84
    Even though Watch Dogs 2 is nowhere near to groundbreaking, it is a surprisingly good recommendation, perhaps one of the best that Ubisoft has offered in recent years.
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    80
    Unlike the first game where multiplayer was kind of a mess, the sequel offers a pretty solid multiplayer experience. Playing Watch Dogs 2 co-op is definitely a blast, especially if you're experiencing the game with a friend.
  4. CD-Action
    Jan 13, 2017
    80
    Hacking and stealth elements are so good in Watch Dogs 2 and as a whole the game is so much better than its predecessor that I managed to turn a blind eye to the fact that Dedsec members are annoying as hell. [01/2017, p.32]
  5. Jan 1, 2017
    80
    Over the top hacking action combined with open world exploration, but with a social conscience and a very welcome sense of humor. [Issue#258, p.60]
  6. Dec 6, 2016
    80
    The PC version of Watch Dogs 2 is a very good one, Ubisoft did a good job this time. We can see many superb effects from The Division and it runs perfectly.
  7. Dec 3, 2016
    80
    An endearingly daft sequel that ditches the original's dour action for a brand of subversive play that squeezes the most out of some cracking gadgets and a brilliant map.
  8. Dec 3, 2016
    80
    Watch Dogs 2 finally breaks with the "Ubisoft Formula" to create an open-world game that feels somewhat fresh and interesting. What a relief.
  9. Nov 30, 2016
    78
    Ubisoft once again fails to tell an engaging story, instead mixing a somewhat confused, even boring plot with bland characters. While Watch Dogs 2 is near-perfect PC port with lots of PC-specific options both for graphics as well as controls, the underlying game wastes a lot of potential. The beautiful rendition of San Francisco is a great background for some neat hacking tricks and fun missions, yet, aside from the shift in tone, Watch Dogs 2 isn’t the anticipated step forward for the series.
  10. Mar 8, 2017
    75
    In the end, Watch Dogs 2 feels like an improvement over the previous game in the series. The characters are fun to play as and interact with, all of the hacking elements have a lot more depth and make more sense, and the world feels more alive and rich than ever before, design wise and graphics wise. However the game does suffer from mediocrity in regards to its shooting mechanics and stealth sections. Is it a fun game? Yeah, sure it is. Is it one of my games of the year? Not really.
  11. Dec 12, 2016
    75
    Watch_Dogs 2 is definitely a good game, especially compared to the first one which was a dull game. It’s got a lot of personality, especially in terms of the cast of characters, and humour is always welcome in open world titles. The missions may generally boil down to “go somewhere, sneak past/shoot guards, hack something, get out” but they cover fun subjects and are never less than entertaining. Nevertheless the online side is aggravating as all hell, the controls aren’t quite receptive enough particularly when driving or shooting, and being able to kill loads of people doesn’t really jive with the DedSec ethos.
  12. Dec 5, 2016
    75
    Watch Dogs still has quite a way to go before it becomes a 'must buy' series, but in the short term it's at least on an upswing. With a more likeable protagonist, a city filled with more content to do outside of the main story, and an addicting albeit simplistic co-op system, you may at least want to consider picking up Watch Dogs 2. Especially if you can find it on sale.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 15, 2016
    Watch Dogs 2 doesn’t do much new. Just like it’s predecessor, underneath all that fancy hacking you’ll find a similar experience to other city-based open world games, including Grand Theft Auto. But at least this time, the adventure is a fun one. The new, light-hearted tone and its likable cast of characters are a good fit for this series.
  2. For all of its creative solutions and ideals, Watch Dogs 2 can’t help but see California as an open carry state, and while I’ve enjoyed portions of it enormously, it doesn’t go far enough in stamping its own identity on what is, eventually, another city of crime, cars and firearms.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 566 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    Awesome game, PC version runs well to!! This is a vast improvement over the first game, the writing is much better, the online aspects areAwesome game, PC version runs well to!! This is a vast improvement over the first game, the writing is much better, the online aspects are improved and the new gadgets and such are great to. Pick this up asap, this is the game Watch Dogs 1 should have been. Oh yeah and the game world is wonderful, makes me want to visit San Fran. Full Review »
  2. Nov 29, 2016
    10
    Thank you, Ubisoft. After Mafia 3 and Dishonored 2, Watch Dogs 2 has restored some of my faith in PC versions.

    I will admit: I was mildly
    Thank you, Ubisoft. After Mafia 3 and Dishonored 2, Watch Dogs 2 has restored some of my faith in PC versions.

    I will admit: I was mildly terrified. Putting aside the fact that the original Watch Dogs was disappointing on the cosmic scale, the documents included with the review code made it sound… more than a little demanding. There were mentions of 10-series GeForce cards, and a 20-page PDF detailing all the Nvidia whatsits included within. After Dishonored 2 turned out to be a game that limped rather than ran, I’m not going to lie: I spent 20 minutes of the download time weighing up the value of some very expensive video cards.

    Fortunately, Watch Dogs 2 runs incredibly well. Not quite flawlessly unless I drop the graphics more than I really want to, but well enough that I don’t actually have any complaints.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 29, 2016
    9
    I didn't expect such a quality PC Port coming from Ubisoft especially knowing what they have been giving us over the last few years.I didn't expect such a quality PC Port coming from Ubisoft especially knowing what they have been giving us over the last few years. Dishonored 2 should have been subjected to that kind of treatment. The game is well-optimised. Aside from this (which is still the most important part for a PC game), graphics look really stunning (especially in 4K) every so often, gameplay cunningly evolves and attires itself with pleasant additions that make the overall experience globally well better than before. The map size is honest (twice as big as WD1's), content literally pours, the city's atmosphere is riveting and the storyline, despite being quite formulaic, lets itself get enjoyed thanks to a clever writing as well as charming characters.

    Keep going Ubisoft. 9/10 well-deserved.
    Full Review »