Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Heart of the Forest Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Explore the myths and monsters of Europe’s last primeval wilderness. Play as Maia, who arrives at the ancient Białowieża Forest looking to explore her family history. Discover Rage in an adventure game inspired by the experience of the legendary tabletop roleplaying game Werewolf: TheExplore the myths and monsters of Europe’s last primeval wilderness. Play as Maia, who arrives at the ancient Białowieża Forest looking to explore her family history. Discover Rage in an adventure game inspired by the experience of the legendary tabletop roleplaying game Werewolf: The Apocalypse.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Feb 24, 2021
    90
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse – Heart of the Forest is an impeccably written story that dynamically reacts to player input and choice. Though it presents no real challenge, fans of both visual novels and the World of Darkness tabletop game will find it a captivating and highly replayable role-playing experience.
  2. Oct 14, 2020
    85
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Heart of the Forest is a great visual novel when you put more emphasis on the novel aspect. Relatable characters, an excellent representation of marginalized communities, and a real-world setting make this a believable game that doesn't hang its entire worth on the supernatural elements. This game is absolutely worth your time.
  3. Oct 16, 2020
    80
    Different Tales studio - as the name suggests - believes that there are still gamers who want something more from games than just Fortnite skins. Their games based heavily on text, like the ones from 1980, are for those very people. It's both a great thing and a huge weakness - Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Heart of the Forest will probably stay in its dark pit. It's pretty and interesting but won't become a bestseller.
  4. Oct 14, 2020
    80
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse-Heart of the Forest is an easy choice for me as far as text based games go. It ticks the boxes of a setting that I love, a plot that I enjoy, and most importantly I felt like my choices mattered even if some of them seemed more subtle and took a while to pay off. Is it a game for casual World of Darkness fans? Probably not. It’s not difficult by any means, but without the action that draws a lot of gamers this may not be for casual players. You’re probably better off waiting for 2021’s Werewolf: The Apocalypse-Earthblood and Vampire: The Masquerade- Bloodlines 2. But for those who are really finding themselves pulled into this universe, you should definitely check out Heart of the Forest.
  5. Oct 27, 2020
    80
    Werewolf: The Apocalypse - Heart of the Forest doesn’t necessarily reinvent the wheel and I wouldn’t say it’s genre-defining, but it still manages to be unique in some aspects. End game pacing issues aside, the game tells a great story and offers enough choices that I never felt slighted. Even the small option of choosing which werewolf form to shift into was nice. Heart of the Forest is a simple and easy to follow addition to the World of Darkness games but still manages to avoid becoming boring or repetitive. It’s a fun, uncomplicated game and honestly, that’s all I want sometimes.
  6. CD-Action
    Feb 8, 2021
    80
    Heart of the Forest is an instantly gripping, beautifully illustrated visual novel with a nicely branching storyline, difficult choices, and skillfully introduced RPG elements. [13/2020, p.42]
  7. Dec 8, 2020
    60
    Heart of the Forest is a unique game from the creators of the first Witcher. It’s basically a gamebook, which will turn away many, but the much bigger problem is its lacklustre ending. If you, however, crave a dark story in the middle of an ancient forest, this could be the adventure for you.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 6 out of 11
  1. Oct 15, 2020
    10
    Worth waiting so long for this IP. Feels and plays out like a rpg session in a candle-lit basement.
  2. Oct 25, 2020
    10
    the best game i play and the best ost,the game with a beatifful art and the chocies games is good
  3. Apr 29, 2021
    9
    Really nice approach to this smaller brand in the World of Darkness Universe. Slightly better than Shadows & Coteries of New York.
  4. Jan 26, 2021
    4
    This one is a joke. I think the worst japanese VN might be better than Werewolf: The Apocalypse. Bleak story, weak characters (with noThis one is a joke. I think the worst japanese VN might be better than Werewolf: The Apocalypse. Bleak story, weak characters (with no appropriate graphics representation!!!), which are not memorable and player does not give a crap about them... in a freaking Visual Novel! RPG elements exists, but they serve little purpose. A bad joke, unfortunately. Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2020
    0
    This game didn't really keep my interest. Feels way overrated than it should be.
  6. Mar 8, 2021
    0
    It's just really bad, everything about it except some visuals, overrated as ****
  7. Dec 18, 2020
    0
    Meh story, weak animations, it's just whatever. Wouldn't recommend in all honesty. But that's just me and i like quality.

See all 11 User Reviews