User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 159 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 159

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2015
    8
    This is a fun game. It is still in early access phase like other reviews have noted, but it is still a multiplayer racing game that is lots of fun. Nothing like getting out and banging some cars around. Some of the current faults the game has is the aggressive AI, and sometimes poor control from the players input. But other than that it is fun. For how slow it's development fun, thereThis is a fun game. It is still in early access phase like other reviews have noted, but it is still a multiplayer racing game that is lots of fun. Nothing like getting out and banging some cars around. Some of the current faults the game has is the aggressive AI, and sometimes poor control from the players input. But other than that it is fun. For how slow it's development fun, there can be times when you don't want to play because you just want the next update fix to come out. But the developers are constantly working to make it better with each update! Expand
  2. Jun 20, 2018
    9
    first of all, this game has some issues, its not ultra polished, its not triple A production value, its not graphically perfect and its career is a bit dry and lacking in interesting content, however...

    This game has delivered some of the best gameplay I have experienced in a long time, ive played mostly online and find the community so far is solid, friendly, fun and laid back. Racing
    first of all, this game has some issues, its not ultra polished, its not triple A production value, its not graphically perfect and its career is a bit dry and lacking in interesting content, however...

    This game has delivered some of the best gameplay I have experienced in a long time, ive played mostly online and find the community so far is solid, friendly, fun and laid back. Racing is often a serious, clean and fair sport where trading paint is almost always as far as it should go but then theres banger racing and this game does banger racing perfect. The damage model is hands down the best in any racing game released so far but they have put thought into the game to ensure you can still race when damaged and continue right until the finish line having fun, lets face it nobody really wants to be out first corner race after race so the game doesn't severely hamper your car or destroy it when taking punishment, you take mechanical damage but really its minor and you can see what the devs are trying to do. the graphics are perfectly fine and at times its often mind blowing when you see the carnage ensue and the game still runs silky smooth, smoother than one would expect! it really is all about that damage and particle system.

    This game manages to produce lots of magical moments that simply cant be reproduced on other more serious games, when you race door to door with 2, 3 or maybe 15 into one corner its a different kind of thrill when you know how this could end, you can hit jumps 3 abreast and come crashing down in a whoile world of carnage but whats I love about the game most when racing is looking into the distance ahead or whats going on behind, when I see a car ahead of me hit a corner all wrong and take to the air in a spin I simply cant help but go wooow! bursting out laughing and then Ill look behind and see the track filled with debris and tyres in the air as battles go on behind, its just so thrilling.

    this game really isn't polished like forza, its cars cant hold a candle to project cars 2, it lacks any real online ranking system which is a real bummer right now but the game excels where all those others simply don't and that's in sheer good old fashioned fun.

    really cant express enough how good this game is, its just a different kind of racing experience and I love it.

    Th
    Expand
  3. Jun 17, 2018
    9
    Great racing game! Absolutely recomend it! This is spiritual heir to Flatout dilogy by Bugbear. Drive and fun, best physics and strong visual. Worth to buy!!!
  4. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    Wreckfest, as of now in early access phase, is already very much fun to drive. Take an plunge to oval multiplayer banger race with 20 human opponents: immersion, havoc.. and fun starts. Cars have already currently quite nice driving model and feel. They also break and deform spectacularly, if you do some "derbying". It's not a fully a hardcore driving simulator, but it's pretty close toWreckfest, as of now in early access phase, is already very much fun to drive. Take an plunge to oval multiplayer banger race with 20 human opponents: immersion, havoc.. and fun starts. Cars have already currently quite nice driving model and feel. They also break and deform spectacularly, if you do some "derbying". It's not a fully a hardcore driving simulator, but it's pretty close to one. In singleplayer there is lot of challenge to beat AI.
    This is already a great game in early access phase, and i bet it must be even greater success, once it's going to be published.
    Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2019
    10
    One of the best racing gameplay ever made. Just one lap and your wrecknotized, already! Great handling and fabulous AI give the game a major kick in the butt of the big companys! Bugbear and THQ Nordic are back on the leader spot and got there first pole position in a long time!!!! BRAVO, love it 10/10 !
  6. Jun 15, 2018
    9
    Great surprise, very fun gameplay, their collision physics are the best I've seen in racing game.
  7. Aug 27, 2019
    0
    a game that distinguishes itself from other games through realistic physicality - aaaaaaaaaaaaaand it is gone.

    with the release on the consoles bugbeard has released a huge update (8,8gb) and switched the whole physic to arcade. all positive critics were for wreckfest with realistic physic as you can see on the date. all players who bought the game because of the realistic
    a game that distinguishes itself from other games through realistic physicality - aaaaaaaaaaaaaand it is gone.

    with the release on the consoles bugbeard has released a huge update (8,8gb) and switched the whole physic to arcade.

    all positive critics were for wreckfest with realistic physic as you can see on the date.

    all players who bought the game because of the realistic physical and accidents are disappointed.

    there are still the old cars and tracks, but the physical has been completely changed from realistic to arcade.

    a pity
    Expand
  8. Jul 2, 2018
    9
    God f*ck, Bugbear. This game suffers from, not necessarily too little, but, ya, "too late" syndrome. It was in early access too early, for too long. Then finally when its released nobody even knows it's out. There's hardly anyone playing online. This is the biggest sleeper hit of the last few years bar none. So where's IGN's review? They should all be locked up... If this game keepsGod f*ck, Bugbear. This game suffers from, not necessarily too little, but, ya, "too late" syndrome. It was in early access too early, for too long. Then finally when its released nobody even knows it's out. There's hardly anyone playing online. This is the biggest sleeper hit of the last few years bar none. So where's IGN's review? They should all be locked up... If this game keeps getting support it could be one of the greatest racing games ever made... There always has to be something. Why can't we have good things in life? Expand
  9. Jun 27, 2018
    10
    Brilliant, just brilliant! Fantastic physics, a balanced mix of simulation and arcade. Suits for everyone. Best game I have ever played.
  10. Sep 25, 2018
    2
    I was thinking this was like flatout but its only vaguely similar at best, if it was below £10 I would consider it worth it but the game as it is is just far too limited and stops being fun quite quickly with similar looking tracks that dont have shortcuts or any variation along with a limited roster of cars.
  11. Jun 22, 2018
    5
    4 ans d'attente et enfin la voilà ! La voila la suite non officielle de Flat Out... Et apres quelques heures de courses en multijoueur un doute survient : pourquoi ce n'est pas aussi fun qu'avant ?
    Malgré une réalisation excellente notamment au niveau de la physique des caisses et de l'ambiance sonore je ne retrouve pas ce qui m'avait tant plut dans les épisodes précédents : l'interaction
    4 ans d'attente et enfin la voilà ! La voila la suite non officielle de Flat Out... Et apres quelques heures de courses en multijoueur un doute survient : pourquoi ce n'est pas aussi fun qu'avant ?
    Malgré une réalisation excellente notamment au niveau de la physique des caisses et de l'ambiance sonore je ne retrouve pas ce qui m'avait tant plut dans les épisodes précédents : l'interaction avec les éléments destructibles, le génie des tracés des circuits ET la jauge de boost !!!
    Mais ce n'est pas ma seule deception... : qu'est ce que c'est que cette possibilité de foutre des aides à la conduite ?!!? Et pire ! de permettre des courses mixant les joueurs "purs et durs" sans aide à la conduite et les autres ? Comment justifier ce choix et ainsi encourager à prendre des voitures "cheatées" pour ne pas courir avec trop de handicaps qui pourtant font l'interet de la conduite dans Wreckfest. Pourquoi, pourquoi, pourquoi ? toutes ces erreurs au bout de tant d'années de developpement. BUGBEAR a t il cédé à des exigences de pseudo joueurs ?
    L'interet de la compétition est ainsi "tuée" car en plus on ne sait pas le choix des aides fait en début de course de chacun des participants hormis par l'observation du comportement des voitures sur le circuit. Et si vous gagnez en conduite réaliste ben vous ramassez juste plus de crédits ... super ! ...
    ... Déçu.
    Expand
  12. Jun 24, 2015
    7
    This will be great when it's finished I'm certain. As I write this it's still early access and updates are few and far between. In fact several months, and recent promised updates are delayed over and over again. The devs do run a blog and post updates which is nice and provide a good insight into their activities. Cynical me says they are stalling, positive me is looking forward to theThis will be great when it's finished I'm certain. As I write this it's still early access and updates are few and far between. In fact several months, and recent promised updates are delayed over and over again. The devs do run a blog and post updates which is nice and provide a good insight into their activities. Cynical me says they are stalling, positive me is looking forward to the promised update.

    If you pick this up in early access you'll enjoy the content, but it is limited in this current early access state and then you'll get a bit bored and put Wreckfest on the backburner and keep a look out for the faithful day when Steam updates the game and then you'll get stuck in once again.

    As a driving game it's a ton of fun, and the silly physics of crumpled cars flying through the air is quite amusing. It's unrealistic but that's fine, it's about smashing cars and enjoying racing carnage.

    I'm merely rating this game on it's current state, but I'd happily give it a full blown 10 when it's fully released and shows it full potential, and I have a good feeling it will.
    Expand
  13. Jun 22, 2018
    7
    A brilliant mix of racing and carnage, Wreckfest is for the sim racing fan who is tired of the norm and wants to hurt people (virtually, obviously). With good visuals and a cracking soundtrack, if you love driving as much as you do smashing things then you have to try this game.
  14. Jul 23, 2018
    9
    This is my favorite "want to play a fun game for 30-45 minutes" game of the last several years. Online multiplayer is a mixture of frustration and perma-smile fun. It's hard to keep an eye on the track sometimes because I'm fighting tears of laughter.

    The damage physics are great and the races are approachable. There are a few dozen cars, each with performance AND appearance
    This is my favorite "want to play a fun game for 30-45 minutes" game of the last several years. Online multiplayer is a mixture of frustration and perma-smile fun. It's hard to keep an eye on the track sometimes because I'm fighting tears of laughter.

    The damage physics are great and the races are approachable. There are a few dozen cars, each with performance AND appearance modifications to spend your earned in-game "cash" on. You can also tune your cars before each race depending on the course type (percentage of dirt vs tarmac, how many straightaways, it could be an short/long oval track on dirt/tarmac, etc...)

    Super fun game. My only frustrations are that that I didn't want the "career"' to end (too much fun) and I believe they can add so much more to this game. Definitely a genre that has been void and Wreckfest crushes it. Figure 8 race in a station wagon with a modded engine and metal door plating? School bus? Lawn mower? Harvester? Double decker cars? Want a straight up demolition derby in a grass field? A street course filled with hills and turns?

    Yep.
    Expand
  15. Jun 28, 2018
    10
    It's like Dirt Rally and BeamNG had a hillbilly child. Excellent damage model, brilliant wheel handling but fun with gamepad too
  16. Sep 7, 2019
    6
    Wreckfest has identity crisis written all over it. It has no real vision behind it, like the devs couldn't decide what they wanted their game to be.
  17. Oct 12, 2018
    5
    In a nutshell, Wreckfest has one of the greatest arcade racing engines ever made and mostly wastes it in a shallow game with poorly thought-out design. The really high review will generally come from people who have only played the game for a few hours/days.

    The cars look great, the tracks look good and are (mostly) well-designed, and the driving feel is excellent. The crash physics
    In a nutshell, Wreckfest has one of the greatest arcade racing engines ever made and mostly wastes it in a shallow game with poorly thought-out design. The really high review will generally come from people who have only played the game for a few hours/days.

    The cars look great, the tracks look good and are (mostly) well-designed, and the driving feel is excellent. The crash physics are super fun, easily the best created to date.

    Why the 5 then? Because there are a host of design problems that have ultimately led to this game having only short-term play value. I'd highly recommend it if whatever you pay for it is worth a few weeks of fun, but if you need to get more out of it than that you'd likely be making a mistake.

    Wreckfest is ultimately reliant on multiplayer play, as its Career mode and accompanying boring AI is too shallow to serve as anything other than a decent training/practice session to gear up for multiplayer.

    However, less than 6 months after game release, the multiplayer audience is already dying rapidly, to the point where you will often not be able to find a server with a decent crowd of racers. Ultimately, you're left with a game you'd like to play with other racers, but have little opportunity to do so.

    The basic problem lies in the fact that Wreckfest makes wrecking instead of racing fun and easy enough to create an environment in which people who don't want to put in the effort required to drive well to be able to completely destroy races for players who are actually trying to compete. The wrecking is fun, but that experience grows tiresome with repetition, leaving what should have been the meat of the audience stuck usually trying to wade through a mess of new players/trolls driving backwards around tracks, setting up their vehicles as roadblocks, or just piling into the nearest vehicle on every corner. The players that should be carrying the game end up leaving relatively quickly and now the "community" is typically less than 100 players at any given time divided into 3 groups: "Clean" racing with a lot of rules that suck most of the fun out for anyone who isn't in the top 3% of racing ability, "Dirty" racing in which any interest in actual driving will only frustrate you, and once in a while the fun medium that should have carried the game. Unfortunately, that is becoming rare enough that you cannot depend on being available very often with enough player to make for a fun game.

    A few simple better design decisions would have avoided this, but unfortunately Bugbear seems much better at making racing physics than making games. Perhaps future updates will address these issues, but I think THQ's focus is on getting console versions released, not fixing the current audience-killing issues, and the window for saving this game in an online market may have already passed.

    Some simple things that could have really helped:

    Front-end collisions should have been much more damaging to vehicles than side or rear collisions (at least in race modes), this would have limited the ability of non-racers to destroy races simply by full-speed piling into every corner.

    Buses and harvesters should never have been added. The SUV should have been less powerful.

    Car setups should have been saveable and be selectable during multiplayer play to facilitate racing in different classes.
    Expand
  18. Jul 10, 2018
    9
    Wreckfest combines balanced racing handling with complete insanity. the AI is good and makes mistakes like real people do. time flies by as i play this game and i find myself at 3am still playing the game trying to get more cars and upgrades yet it never feels as a grind. this game is pure fun and with a steering wheel it becomes a true thrill to play.
  19. Jun 28, 2018
    9
    Just play in this, if you 18+ y.o. Old school spirit of Flatout inside. Music almost awesome ;>
  20. Jul 6, 2018
    10
    An salute to your inner child - wanting to crush those cars. And as a child Destruction Derby 2 was my all-time favorite of racing games, simply because it was so bloody fun! It did not try to take itself too serious, and the same can be said about Wreckfest. While the handling is fun but also has that "it feels right" attitute to it, the crash physics is so satisfactional. Cars, parts,An salute to your inner child - wanting to crush those cars. And as a child Destruction Derby 2 was my all-time favorite of racing games, simply because it was so bloody fun! It did not try to take itself too serious, and the same can be said about Wreckfest. While the handling is fun but also has that "it feels right" attitute to it, the crash physics is so satisfactional. Cars, parts, debrish fly about in a chaotic **** and it just is what it is - a lot of fun! It is fun offline and online, and when you are tired of that - download mods to have fun! There are excelent track mods such as The Very TrackPack and there are excelent car mods like Online Banger mod. There are about two hundred more mods out there, which all increase the replayability of the game.

    Now, find your inner child, and smash those cars!
    Expand
  21. Nov 30, 2018
    8
    i`m an all time Flatout fan. As a child - mostly because it was more of an arcade than of a race. Maturing made me switch my tastes somewhat so Wreckfest looks like a matured Flatout game to me. Tho it lacs fantastic soundtrack and a tiny bit of a story comparing to FO1/2, so its only 8/10 for me.
    Anyway, Bugbear are moving in the right direction.
  22. Oct 28, 2018
    9
    Best online racing game out there. Very realistic, though the career mode is boring.
  23. Sep 3, 2019
    8
    Fun and well done.
    Perfect for multiplayer. Only drawback it can be repetitive after a while.
  24. Jan 14, 2019
    8
    Finally a game worthy of Flatout 2,extremely fun.Graphics are sometimes amazing and sometimes weirdly outdated.Feels like the next Next Car Game is gonna be perfect.
  25. Sep 8, 2019
    10
    Great game for me 10/10, if you like destruction derby then you must have this game. For me it's a mixture of destruction derby plus motorstororm plus flatout.
  26. Mar 20, 2019
    9
    Rating

    Graphics/Game-World 8.5/10 P.
    Content 7.5/10 P.
    Price/ Quality 7/10 P.
    Pay to Win? 10/10 P.
    Controls 9/10 P.
    Difficulty 8.5/10 P
    Game time/length 8/10 P.
    Story 7/10 P.
    Friends factor/ Multiplayer 9.5/10 P.
  27. Jun 13, 2019
    7
    Uno dei pochi giochi automobilistici che mi piacciono. Il punto forte è senza dubbio la distruttibilità delle mappe e delle auto. Il gameplay e la grafica sono fatti molto bene.
  28. Aug 29, 2019
    0
    So. Big new update changed the gameplay significantly. For the worse.

    They've released a hotfix for rubberbanding issues, fine. It's still baffling how much you can upgrade your car and it not matter in the slightest (even though AI can now utilize upgrades). Also still getting a lot of pink cars that clearly have a texture problem. But as the other most recent review mentioned...
    So. Big new update changed the gameplay significantly. For the worse.

    They've released a hotfix for rubberbanding issues, fine. It's still baffling how much you can upgrade your car and it not matter in the slightest (even though AI can now utilize upgrades). Also still getting a lot of pink cars that clearly have a texture problem.

    But as the other most recent review mentioned... the gameplay is a complete soft arcade feel. The crashes don't have any real weight to them.

    It's changed it from Wreckfest to Spongefest.

    Old gameplay was physical, realistic enough for it to feel good, the cornering made sense. The crashes were meaty, the damage was glorious. (Both in the normal mode, and the realistic damage mode. If you're wondering the difference, "realistic" mode made it so if your front wheel bent, you couldn't drive at all, the normal mode made it so that you could still drive on to finish, but steering would be harder).

    The new gameplay is like trying to drive a soggy book in a pack of overly vindictive AI driving cars that don't make sense except for a 5 year old.

    BugBear need to really focus on the community feedback for this update, and not ignore the many people (check the steam comments as well) who are gutted with these weird changes to things that were the highlight of the game.

    I don't really care about flags now being animated, I care about the core handling, crashes, AI behaviour and sense of physicality. I hope another update will fix these things.

    It used to be a good game.
    Expand
  29. Sep 29, 2019
    10
    Awesome game, there is the best arcade physics of all racing games. This game have all that need racing games: tuning, customization, great physics and cool crashing system. EA games should learn how to do great physics like this one.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 31, 2018
    100
    There is so much fun in Wreckfest. A racing "deathmatch" which originated on the top demolition technology is full of crashes, tension, but also humor and DIY work. [Issue#287]
  2. CD-Action
    Oct 25, 2018
    70
    This technically superb tribute to Destruction Derby could use some more insanity (especially in terms of unimaginative, repetitive arenas and challenges) and a broader color palette. The default driving model (with active assists) is both believable and satisfying and the destruction model is very detailed. [09/2018, p.60]
  3. games(TM)
    Aug 9, 2018
    80
    A fantastic reimagining of arcade racing. [Issue#203, p.83]