Medal of Honor: Vanguard Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the boots of Frank Keegan, Corporal of the 82nd Airborne Division and engage in battles throughout Europe. From Operation Husky on the shores of Sicily to Operation Varsity inside Nazi Germany, you’ll fight behind enemy lines in the epic WWII battles that turned America's firstStep into the boots of Frank Keegan, Corporal of the 82nd Airborne Division and engage in battles throughout Europe. From Operation Husky on the shores of Sicily to Operation Varsity inside Nazi Germany, you’ll fight behind enemy lines in the epic WWII battles that turned America's first paratroopers into heroes of WWII. Featuring spectacular graphics adding to epic combat intensity, Medal of Honor Vanguard makes you the driving force in the struggle to liberate Europe. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Medal of Honor: Vanguard Official Movie 2
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29
  1. AceGamez
    90
    You will love the crisp graphics and refreshingly exciting gameplay. You will love the constant action and atmospheric sound effects. You will grin like a Cheshire cat when manning machine-gun nests and spraying bullets in every direction.
  2. Games Master UK
    79
    Decent. [May 2007, p.80]
  3. 72
    If you’re a Medal of Honor fan, you’ll dig this title...However, if you felt like previous incarnations of this WWII title were getting closer and closer to being dishonorably discharged, Vanguard’s paper-thin story, monotonous maps and upper-level frustration won’t have you saluting this soldier’s latest effort.
  4. This is the poorest Medal of Honor yet, and we truly hope we can expect a vastly superior experience from the upcoming "Airborne."
  5. 60
    There's really nothing here that gamers haven't seen elsewhere, and frankly, if they've never played a Medal of Honor game, they'd be better off picking up the compilation pack that contains much better installments of the series.
  6. A short, bland, and ultimately forgettable experience.
  7. With a next-gen sequel due within the year and Call of Duty 3 providing a comprehensively better experience, why bother wasting your time and money?

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 4 out of 14
  1. Dec 29, 2021
    10
    Lo provato sul emulatore della Playstation 2 e decente come gioco niente da aggiungere altro.
  2. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    G{ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiioooooooooooooiiiiiiiiiiioooooooood game
  3. Aug 12, 2020
    10
    não tenho palavras para esse game, marcou muito a minha infância com o meu Ps2
  4. Apr 9, 2014
    7
    This game is pretty neat. The graphics aren't that bad and it's a pretty good campaign story. My only concerns are that the game is short andThis game is pretty neat. The graphics aren't that bad and it's a pretty good campaign story. My only concerns are that the game is short and there's no online multiplayer. Expand
  5. Jun 23, 2015
    7
    Oh dear :/ vanguard is definitely the weakest classic medal of honor game, average graphics, average story, combined with forgettableOh dear :/ vanguard is definitely the weakest classic medal of honor game, average graphics, average story, combined with forgettable characters and boring gameplay, vanguard just isn't worth your time :/ get its xbox 360 counterpart airborne instead, vanguard is only for die hard fans of the series Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2020
    5
    "Get down, Keegan!"... you hear these words a lot... or at least I did. It was my first time playing a
    Medal of Honor game and I was caught
    "Get down, Keegan!"... you hear these words a lot... or at least I did. It was my first time playing a
    Medal of Honor game and I was caught off guard. I was shocked at the level of difficulty it displayed and it had only been the first mission. I'm reconsidering my options at this point, thinking I should just play something else but I'll give it one more shot... it was easy this time. That's when it hit me. I come to realize that I wasn't the one to blame for those last few times I got stuck on that wall, or couldn't pick up ammo properly or swear I peaked and leaned that one guy on the window with the stupid hat but missed entirely. I was destined to win this next mission but I was going to need a little more than just luck to help me, I needed the game to work as it was intended and for the next 15 minutes, to not bug out.

    Honestly, I don't really have much of a problem with this game. Yeah, it's extremely buggy and weird but once you get passed that, it's almost like playing a FPS built for a Windows 95. Not that there was anything wrong with MS-DOS games but let's just say, time wasn't on their side. It's kinda the same thing happening with Medal of Honor: Vanguard, you just have to accept things won't go your way sometimes. That aside though, I found there were some good aspects about the game, like having the setting be based in World War II or having various character stances, having the missions be memorable and of course giving you the ability to have those 360 no scope moments. Not to mention the vast selections of weapons you get to learn about and use throughout, specifically those involved at the time of World War II.

    This game markets itself as "The Bestselling WWII Franchise" and it's honestly deserving of it's title. While it's not much, I have to say I agree. You didn't have all the options in the world but in the FPS genre, sometimes less is more. You want to just be as efficient as possible without having to think too much, and I can honestly say you will feel that effectiveness when playing. For context, you had all your own grenade options at the touch of a button. There was even specific actions for leaning slightly while in aim mode which got me out of so much trouble. I don't there was ever a time I blamed the controls for something and that means a lot considering I couldn't find a perfect control scheme in something like say, 007: Nightfire which had like 6 or 7 to choose from.

    Frankly, I can get down with this game. That's probably the reason I finished it in it's entirety despite everyone else's wishes. I know it might not be the most well-polished or most accepted in the FPS community but if the game is fun but looks terrible, that's still time well spent in my eyes. Personally, I'm looking forward to my next MoH experience, this was only my first but it definitely won't be my last and if a game can pass that modest test then I think it speaks for itself.

    Almost forgot to mention, If you're one of those people who look to games for finding new bangers to play at your next party... this probably isn't the game for you. After thinking about it, I don't really remember any specific type of tracks that stood out to me besides maybe one during a cutscene. Other than that, this game just comes packed with nothing but gun shots, nade explosion FX, people screaming at you all the time and I mean ALL the time and just about what you'd expect out in your typical warzone battlefield. So just appreciate it for what it is. Also, the character models could use some work.

    Whoever the writer for this game is probably didn't have to do much work considering it's based on a true story and was a staple of common school board World history but that aside, the presentation was great. Not much to say other than you probably deserve some recognition for military representation in video games or something. Perhaps, even something in the field of dramatization or transition scenes used when most appropriate in cutscenes. Anything except things in the field of accuracy cause we all know there weren't just random bazookas lying around in 2 story mansions with 3 carts of ammo ready to be picked up when needed back in those days but I wasn't there so I wouldn't know.
    Expand
  7. SteveH.
    Mar 30, 2007
    1
    Same old-same old... There is so much to say about WW2 and yet Medal of Honor Vanguard sticks to the "take that bridge", "retrieve the Same old-same old... There is so much to say about WW2 and yet Medal of Honor Vanguard sticks to the "take that bridge", "retrieve the documents", "take the AA guns" type of objectives. The only thing new here is the jump: But it's excruciatingly difficult to control and you more or less only land where they tell you to land. So there is no reason to re-play the missions. Who would want to do that since the Germans act like rats trapped in very corridor-like environments anyway. Graphically, I have seen much better PS2 games, but this one is just ok. It's a renter. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

65
16
#16 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2007
6
#6 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2007