• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 28, 2002
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 100
    Like a new year’s line of automobiles, Onimusha 2 has a sleeker look, more bells and whistles, and improved standard features over its predecessor model, "Warlords."
  2. One of the best games of the year. Even before finishing Onimusha 2, I looked forward to playing through it again.
  3. Quite simply, Onimusha 2 is one of the year’s best offerings on the PS2.
  4. GameNow
    91
    Sure, you won't be spending "Final Fantasy X"-calibur time with it, but it's a good way to kill a dozen or so hours. [Sept 2002, p.30]
  5. The camera has been improved a good deal, although there are still a few times when you’ll be racking your brain and craning your neck to see where your character needs to go.
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Visually near-perfect (the opening gave us goose bumps). [27 Sept 2002, p.89]
  7. Thanks to an interesting trading system and the promise of literally hours and hours of extra gameplay-unlocked goodies, an improved system for absorbing and applying souls and perfectly executed graphical and aural treats as so few developers in this industry can really deliver, the game is simply too good to miss.
  8. It’s certainly a great game, but doesn’t break ground in the same way that Onimusha did.
  9. Brutal, bloody and brilliant with a massive body count. Few can match its looks. [GamesMaster]
  10. 89
    Longer, deeper, and more personal than the original, fans of "Warlords," "Resident Evil," and the like have their next great adventure right in front of them.
  11. Game Informer
    88
    Early on, Onimusha 2 showed promise and appeared to be the innovative follow-up that it so desperately needed to be. However, as the game went on, and the entertaining gameplay aspects disappeared, my enthusiasm for the game withered. [Sept 2002, p.77]
  12. netjak
    87
    An enjoyable, but yet again, hack n’ slash fighting type game, but was balanced enough with the way you had to fight a boss that I didn’t mind the hack n’ slash as much.
  13. The graphics have matured to push the bar higher for what a PS2 game should look like and despite flawed localization and some awkward moments in the voice-acting, it delivers the promise of "more, deeper, better."
  14. As is the problem with most games built with pre-rendered backgrounds, there are going to be a lot of times where the game camera is going to leave you open for cheap shots as you move from one angle to another.
  15. 83
    One of the most beautiful games ever to grace the PS2.
  16. Solid gameplay with plenty of new improvements make Onimusha 2: Samurai's Destiny another fine blade.
  17. 80
    In every sense what a gaming sequel should be: bigger, better, and bolder than the previous incarnation in every almost respect imaginable. With huge steps forward in terms of design, graphics, and gameplay, this should equally delight and entertain fans of the original, as well as newcomers to the trilogy.
  18. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    Includes almost everything we loved in the first game and takes it all to the next level. [Sept 2002, p.113]
  19. Onimusha 2 may not be as great as it could have been, but it's clearly improved and worth your attention if the idea of samurai hacking up demons from hell sounds good to you. It sure does to me.
  20. Play Magazine
    80
    Gorgeously drawn and richly stylized, constructed with a mystical flair, Onimusha II is a fantastic sequel to one of the best games of last year. [Aug 2002, p.57]
  21. PSM Magazine
    80
    While a definite step forward in the series, Onimusha 2 doesn't really introduce much that's too remarkably new. [Sept 2002, p.27]
  22. There’s not much here that will entice replayability once the game’s numerous secrets have been uncovered.
  23. 80
    Anyone looking for a great hack-and-slash adventure will be more than satisfied with Onimusha 2. You still have to put up with funky camera angles, but the overall control is more than sufficient to get you though this 10-hour-plus trek.
  24. Part of me is screaming at the lack of analogue support and the frustrating nature of pre-rendered environments. However once you get past that and slaughter your first wave of demons you can’t help but get sucked into the game.
  25. 80
    The production values kick demon ass, it's easier to learn (and yet more difficult to master) than the previous game, and it's almost a constant joy to look at.
  26. Has the same drawbacks as its predecessor, including some frustrating camera angles and a relative short main quest.
  27. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    78
    Dicing up the undead with your oversized Ginsu knife is a helluva lot of fun (if you can live with the occasionally annoying camera angles). [Oct 2002, p.188]
  28. A good sequel... But if you didn’t like the first one, you won’t find much new to like here.

Awards & Rankings

29
27
#27 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
82
#82 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 104
  2. Negative: 4 out of 104
  1. May 23, 2021
    7
    This is one of my favorites of all time, its one of those games I'm always playing frequently because of nostalgia, because i like theThis is one of my favorites of all time, its one of those games I'm always playing frequently because of nostalgia, because i like the gameplay despite being so basic, because i like the bad voice acting and how frustration how some boss fights can be, this is one of the first PS2 games i played but for one reason or another, I have not beat this game despite playing it at least once a year every year.

    The game runs absolutely perfectly on the PS2, there is seldom any hiccupping in the framerate, its very enjoyable in that regard, the combat despite being basic it is very enjoyable and its nice to upgrade your weapons and equipment. I do not like the social interaction and friendship mechanic the game has, that can make easy or harder boss fights where NPCs you meet along the way can come and help you out.

    Im sure ill beat it someday but i have fun whenever i have one of those weekends where i just want to play it from the beginning and see where i can take it in one sitting.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2021
    6
    I don't have so much to say about this game because it plays just like the original just a bit less character all around , What do I mean wellI don't have so much to say about this game because it plays just like the original just a bit less character all around , What do I mean well the main character Jubilee is Wooden boring but Luckily for him the characters that is beside him has some character but he still legs a bit too much , I think the gift-giving and the way that they tried to to make multiple story branges is just kind of a mess and I hate using it , I would say I had a good time with the game but Experiments on gameplay Day Made in this game just not for me Full Review »
  3. Jun 22, 2020
    10
    It is the most masterpiece in the Onimusha series. The main character is a samurai who uses a sword to cut the devil. It is also an action RPGIt is the most masterpiece in the Onimusha series. The main character is a samurai who uses a sword to cut the devil. It is also an action RPG game with strong RPG elements.
    It's very nice of me to be a samurai myself and cut the demons.
    Full Review »