User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2925 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 18, 2021
    10
    Batman arkham city is amazing in every way the open world is amazing compared to Arkham asylum the plot is great and when your done with the game you can play the amazing side missions this game has a place in my heart
  2. May 5, 2021
    10
    arguably one of the best action adventure games of all time , best batman game , in my opinion best arkham game for sure. great story and just amazing combat system just perfect ten
  3. Apr 15, 2021
    9
    Uma evolução em relação ao primeiro, melhorando tudo o que o primeiro jogo teve de bom! A história é bem melhor que a do primeiro jogo, mais complexa e mais apelativa. A gameplay, apesar de parecida tem aspetos melhorados o que a torna melhor que a do primeiro!
  4. Apr 12, 2021
    10
    Best game i've played untill today and surely best game in Playstation 3. I was shocked and adore this game. Amazing story, gameplay, map, world, riddles, characters, bosses and Joker in this game was the best villain in every game i played before. I LOVE THIS GAME IT WORTH EVERY DOLLAR
  5. Mar 27, 2021
    10
    (ENG)

    Batman: Arkham City is not just an excellent game. It is not only superior to its predecessor. It is a true Masterpiece and probably the best Batman and superhero video game ever created. Few expected better after Rocksteady’s sublime work on Batman: Arkham Asylum. But they did, exceeding all expectations. An exquisite game in all its facets, with one of the best stories
    (ENG)

    Batman: Arkham City is not just an excellent game. It is not only superior to its predecessor. It is a true Masterpiece and probably the best Batman and superhero video game ever created.

    Few expected better after Rocksteady’s sublime work on Batman: Arkham Asylum. But they did, exceeding all expectations.

    An exquisite game in all its facets, with one of the best stories ever made for a video game. With a stratospheric ending that will last forever in the players’ memory.

    An essential for lovers of the genre and the adventures of the batman.

    The perfect Masterpiece.

    (ESP)

    Batman: Arkham City no es solamente un juego excelente. No solamente es superior a su predecesor. Es una auténtica Obra Maestra y, probablemente, el mejor videojuego de Batman y de superhéroes jamás creado.

    Pocos esperaban algo mejor tras el sublime trabajo de Rocksteady en Batman: Arkham Asylum. Pero lo han conseguido, superando todas las expectativas.

    Un juego exquisito en todas sus facetas, con una de las mejores historias jamás realizada para un videojuego. Con un final estratosférico que perdurará para siempre en la retina de los jugadores.

    Un imprescindible para los amantes del género y de las aventuras del hombre murciélago.

    La Obra Maestra perfecta.
    Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2021
    8
    Arkham City just does everything Arkham Asylum did but bigger and better. The scope of the open world and narrative is grander and playing as batman in a wider arena is pure joy. Boss fights also offer a remarkable improvement over the first game.
  7. Mar 15, 2021
    9
    This game is amazing. It has an amazing open world filled with riddle puzzles, side missions, and random thugs to brawl at any time, using the amazing combat system and all the new takedowns they added. The predator is smooth, with knockout smashes solving a big problem with Arkham Asylums' predator, where you would be stuck taking down a henchman while being shot at. The boss fights areThis game is amazing. It has an amazing open world filled with riddle puzzles, side missions, and random thugs to brawl at any time, using the amazing combat system and all the new takedowns they added. The predator is smooth, with knockout smashes solving a big problem with Arkham Asylums' predator, where you would be stuck taking down a henchman while being shot at. The boss fights are amazing and creative, the beat down system is fun, the challenge maps are great, and the story is intriguing. The new gliding mechanics are amazing, with dive-bombing and grapnel boosts. Lots of upgrades to get with your skill points, and you can even play as Catwoman. My only problems with the game are that batman will randomly punch the air sometimes, guns do a crazy amount of damage, and there is a big portion of the map you can only enter via an underground passage, and so while gliding you have to go around it, which can be a hassle. Other then that, combat, predator, street brawls, side content, boss fights and the story are all amazing and fun. Expand
  8. Mar 12, 2021
    6
    BRONZ zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
  9. Mar 3, 2021
    9
    considering the fact that this game was released in 2011 the graphics are great. The story is intriguing. Combat system has it's flaws and compared to Arkham Knight it's not the best but it's still pretty good. Im giving it 9/10 because you need to do all challenges and campaigns to get 100% which is very frustrating. Im glad they changed it in next game
  10. Feb 21, 2021
    9
    The gameplay in this game is probably the best of any freeflow combat to date. The story in this game was so good it literally got me into comics. I was genuinely surprised by the ending, despite it being foreshadowed a ton. The added difficulty of the new game plus, paired with the clever bits of foreshadowing I missed made revisiting the game totally worth it. There is a lot ofThe gameplay in this game is probably the best of any freeflow combat to date. The story in this game was so good it literally got me into comics. I was genuinely surprised by the ending, despite it being foreshadowed a ton. The added difficulty of the new game plus, paired with the clever bits of foreshadowing I missed made revisiting the game totally worth it. There is a lot of suspension of disbelief required, but it's the goddamn Batman. What do you expect? Expand
  11. Feb 6, 2021
    10
    To me, Batman arkham city is in the top 2 games of all time ( along rdr2) the arkham series is also my favorite gaming franchise. It's everything I love about Batman and gaming
  12. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom muito bom Expand
  13. XBA
    Dec 29, 2020
    10
    Amazing Game. Number 1 on my list of my favorite games of all time. Amazing Story and Good Side Quests and the list goes Overall 10/10 partly due to nostalgia and mostly due to it being an amazing game
  14. Dec 9, 2020
    0
    Batman arkham city es una OBRA MAESTRA es uno o el mejor videojuego de superhéroes hasta la fecha con una historia muy buena, unas mecanicas de juegos espectaculares combinando el combate cuerpo a cuerpo y el sigilo de una manera perfecta aparte de esto sus misiones secundarias son bastante buenas por lo que no te aburrirás luego de completar el juego, su banda sonora es muy buena es elBatman arkham city es una OBRA MAESTRA es uno o el mejor videojuego de superhéroes hasta la fecha con una historia muy buena, unas mecanicas de juegos espectaculares combinando el combate cuerpo a cuerpo y el sigilo de una manera perfecta aparte de esto sus misiones secundarias son bastante buenas por lo que no te aburrirás luego de completar el juego, su banda sonora es muy buena es el juego con las mejores boss fights de toda la saga sin duda un juego que debes jugar y que te atrapara completamente en Arkham City

    Resumen: Un juego muy divertido de jugar debido a sus mecanicas de juego acompañado con una historia INCREIBLE y una banda sonora muy buena, un juego digno del caballero oscuro que ninguna persona se debe perder
    Expand
  15. Nov 18, 2020
    9
    OVERALL - 93%

    Gameplay - 9/10
    Graphics (for time) - 8/10
    Story - 7/10
    Game Length - 9/10
    Characters - 9/10
    Level/Area Design - 7/10
    Atmosphere - 9/10
    Sound Effects - 7/10
    Soundtrack - 7/10
    Replay Value - 8/10

    Still arguably the best superhero game.
  16. Nov 14, 2020
    9
    Easily one of, if not the best Batman games ever made. Improves a lot over the first games like the combat seems much more fluid. A way bigger area to explore. Gadgets can be used in way more unique and creative ways. Best shown in the Mr. Freeze fight which still holds up as one of the best boss battles in the Arkham series. We have skins for batman which can be used in the main game.Easily one of, if not the best Batman games ever made. Improves a lot over the first games like the combat seems much more fluid. A way bigger area to explore. Gadgets can be used in way more unique and creative ways. Best shown in the Mr. Freeze fight which still holds up as one of the best boss battles in the Arkham series. We have skins for batman which can be used in the main game.

    The catwoman DLC is something i want to briefly touch on. Although it's not a bad addition to the game by any means, it isn't that great either. It gives more combat options and ways to traverse around the city which i find pretty neat. And the levels themselves aren't too bad, i don't think it's anything really special. It's a pretty good addition breaking the pacing between the main game just to take a break i guess. But i feel they could've done a lot more with this. What we got was fine, not taking away any points from this or anything. Just feel it could've been a bit better.

    I don't wanna make this too long. So i'll slim this down by saying, some levels are pretty uninspiring and some plain boring. Some boss battles are really underwhelming. Riddler trophies are a damn pain. But altogether, amazing game and a classic.
    Expand
  17. Nov 8, 2020
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The story is great, there are good sidequests, but the combat is where the game shines. The most satisfying combat system in any game. I ran out of sidequests fairly quick and the only thing remaining were the Riddler trophies, but it has great replay value due to the story and great sidequests. Expand
  18. Nov 5, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. o coringa morreu e eu fiquei ce tá doidoooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo Expand
  19. Oct 28, 2020
    8
    This was why I bought PS3, too. joker and batman are in love. maybe? maybe not?
  20. Oct 9, 2020
    10
    Even better than Arkham Asylum. It improves on nearly all levels, has memorable boss fights, one of the best Batman stories and probably the best conclusion in videogame history. It is dark, matured and entertaining. 18 months have passed since the prequel. Quincy Sharp is now mayor of Gotham and has converted parts of Gotham City in a prison enclosure called Arkham City. Bruce Wayne isEven better than Arkham Asylum. It improves on nearly all levels, has memorable boss fights, one of the best Batman stories and probably the best conclusion in videogame history. It is dark, matured and entertaining. 18 months have passed since the prequel. Quincy Sharp is now mayor of Gotham and has converted parts of Gotham City in a prison enclosure called Arkham City. Bruce Wayne is holding a press conference condemning these action as he is arrested live on TV and thrown into Arkham City while Hugo Strange tells him he knows his two identities. This will become one of the hardest and impactful nights Batman will ever experience. I will praise the story and characters. The characters are well interwoven into the story. With each twist it gets better and better. It is a great experience and was never boring. After the final conclusion you will be left as speechless as Batman (the positive way) by this bold, matured and awesome events. There are of cause some side activities and The Riddler has again a lot of trophies for you. Prepare to face a lot of Batmans great rouges and normal criminals. While I am at it: It has many great boss battles but one is better than nearly anything else in videogame history. “Small spoiler” A fight were you have consistently evolve and change your tactics as your opponent is smart and wont let you exploit a weakness twice. “End of spoiler”. The gameplay itself was improved as no mayor changes were needed. You have multiple enemies that could only be taken down in certain ways. The free flow combat works well and you feel the impact of your hits. Batman would not be himself if he had not his gadgets. Again you have powerful tools at your disposal and more options than in the prequel. As before stealth is king and it is also again so satisfying to defeat a room full of enemies one by one without them seeing you. The statement that you become Batman in these games is well deserved. The detective mode is also back by making use of your scanning equipment to solve cases and reconstruct events. It is even pretty useful outside of this. Overall this is the best Batman experience in videogames with one of the best stories and a conclusion that you will never forget. It is basically Arkham Asylum that improves on all levels. Expand
  21. Oct 7, 2020
    10
    Yes, I'm writing this review in 2020. But looking back, this is my single favorite game i've ever played in my life. There is so much passion evident in the world building and character building, and makes for a extremely satisfying game to finish. I hate story games. I've finished this game 5 times. It really is an absolute masterpiece that I can never forget
  22. Sep 30, 2020
    10
    iT rEaLlY mAkEs YoU fEeL lIke BaTmAn

    This is just some extra words to get over the min word count
  23. Sep 3, 2020
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Man I love this every since I was 9 years old getting this game not knowing what to expect it was such a beauty. First the stealth, stealth is one of the of the best qualities of this game the different ways you can takedown your enemies is so unique as well as the combos. It never stops amazing be how different fighting styles batman has learned. The best thing about this game was the story so compelling not knowing what to expect and it continues off Arkham asylum very well. The voice for every character did a fantastic job especially both Batman and Joker, The boss fights are good enough to keep me on my toes. And by far the best boss fight Mr freeze, finding new ways I've never tried taking down a person was so amazing and mr freeze learning of the same tricks makes you adapt to new ideas. Although I do like this game not a fan of the world it seems bland yet its a batman game so its somewhat expected. The introduction to other characters like Robin and catwoman was well executed. The plot twist of the joker dying was such a twist leaving me shocked of what batman ultimately did. 9/10 definitely would recommend this game Expand
  24. Aug 26, 2020
    10
    Pensaba que Batman Arkham Asylum era un juego que no se podía mejorar pero esto es un abuso, este juego es mejor en todos los aspectos, peleas mas fluidas, acertijos inteligentes, una ciudad mas grande que explorar y mas jefes finales, si te gusto el juego anterior de Batman este te volara la mente. Simplemente a mi criterio es "EL MEJOR VIDEO JUEGO DE SUPER HEROES DE TODOS LOS TIEMPOS".
  25. Aug 26, 2020
    9
    Hat super Spaß gemacht!!! Die Story ist sehr packend und nicht zu lang.
  26. Aug 17, 2020
    9
    Batman: Arkham City's somewhat messy story holds it down, but the story's truly impactful moments help it to be memorable and incredible regardless. Paired with an incredible evolution of Arkham Asylum's combat, a more open world to explore, and incredible side content that will keep you preoccupied for dozens of hours, Arkham City stands as a shining example of what open world games should be.
  27. Aug 7, 2020
    10
    Нормально, пушто это битман, поняла а??????????????????????????????????!!!
  28. Jul 30, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uma das melhores, se não a melhor história de todos os games... o plot twist do coringa é algo surreal Expand
  29. Jul 24, 2020
    10
    Amazing story, Nice voice actors, Nice Music, real good combat system, this is one of The Best games of metacritic.com buy Now! :)
  30. Jul 24, 2020
    9
    This is a comic that become a game, this is Batman at its most real and faithful view. Batman: Arkham City offers you the most enjoyable game, with a great combat engine, storytelling and your favorite comic's characters. Batman: Arkham City is a game for everyone who enjoys games, not just comic books fans or Batman fans, as the story develops in a good and understandable pace. Now, youThis is a comic that become a game, this is Batman at its most real and faithful view. Batman: Arkham City offers you the most enjoyable game, with a great combat engine, storytelling and your favorite comic's characters. Batman: Arkham City is a game for everyone who enjoys games, not just comic books fans or Batman fans, as the story develops in a good and understandable pace. Now, you can be THE Batman and beat the crap out of villains with a smile on your face. Expand
  31. Jul 23, 2020
    10
    One of my few 10 out 10 ratings. This was the best game in the Batman Arkham series.
  32. Jul 23, 2020
    7
    Arkham City es el favorito de la gente, aunque a mí no me terminó de convencer, es más, si tengo que hacer un top, lo pondría el último de los Arkham. La jugabilidad es la misma que en el anterior y contamos con más gadgets, más combos y un espacio más abierto que en el anterior. La historia está bien y cuenta con muchas misiones secundarias donde vemos a muchos enemigos del murciélago.Arkham City es el favorito de la gente, aunque a mí no me terminó de convencer, es más, si tengo que hacer un top, lo pondría el último de los Arkham. La jugabilidad es la misma que en el anterior y contamos con más gadgets, más combos y un espacio más abierto que en el anterior. La historia está bien y cuenta con muchas misiones secundarias donde vemos a muchos enemigos del murciélago. Por supuesto, no faltan los coleccionables y los enigmas de Riddler, que esta vez han aumentando mucho. Algo que pierde con el anterior es esa atmósfera claustrofóbica y ciertos puntos de terror por un mundo más abierto por el que planear a nuestro antojo. La BSO sigue estando a buen nivel y gráficamente sigue siendo bueno. Si sois fan, debéis jugarlo. Expand
  33. Apr 9, 2020
    10
    Simplesmente incrível!!! Arkham City é uma experiência imperdível para qualquer gamer.
  34. Jul 19, 2020
    7
    Don’t kill me, it’s a good game, but it’s very repetitive
    The story is good, but just that, good.
    The combat is good, and the characters are fine (some of them, or not catwoman robin, penguin and two face?)
    That’s all what i can say for this game, i think is over rated but it’s the 2nd best superheroe game (to me)
  35. Jul 14, 2020
    10
    Batman Arkham City is without a shadow of a doubt the very best Batman Arkham game ever made. And I don’t think any other superhero game would top this as this game felt like The Dark Knight of all superhero games.
  36. Jul 9, 2020
    8
    It was the first time I entered Super Hero games with Batman Arkham City.The action system really fascinated me.The fighting system was so beautiful and exciting that my hand and foot trembled while I was playing.One of the most successful representatives of its kind.
  37. Jul 3, 2020
    10
    I realize how old this game is at this point, however, that doesn't anything away from this absolute masterpiece! I have been thinking long about this, however, I personally believe this game is perfect, not a single aspect about it was less than amazing, I love this game to bits, it truly is my favorite game I have ever played, and it deserves the crown for the best superhero game ever made.
  38. Jul 2, 2020
    10
    Arkham City expands on Asylum in every way. A near perfect story, coupled with fantastic game play. Exploring the open world was awesome!
  39. Jun 26, 2020
    10
    O melhor jogo de super herói feito até os dias de hoje esse jogo é simplesmente fantástico a história é maravilhosa, o joker aqui esta bi seu melhor sinceramente me faltam paravras para descrever esse jogo, recomendo as versões remasterizadas para quem tem os vídeo games mais recentes que sao xbox one e PlayStation 4 eu no caso jogo a versão de pc mas o jogo é bom em qualquer plataformaO melhor jogo de super herói feito até os dias de hoje esse jogo é simplesmente fantástico a história é maravilhosa, o joker aqui esta bi seu melhor sinceramente me faltam paravras para descrever esse jogo, recomendo as versões remasterizadas para quem tem os vídeo games mais recentes que sao xbox one e PlayStation 4 eu no caso jogo a versão de pc mas o jogo é bom em qualquer plataforma
  40. Jun 24, 2020
    9
    Another Great game in the Arkham series! The only issue I had with this game was the plot felt like it was rushing me. But a very minor issue compared to everything good about the game
  41. Jun 24, 2020
    10
    Best Batman game of all time. It corrected all of strange slow downs that happens randonly during a combat in asylum, the story is better and the cliff hanger ending shows that Rocksteady was writing Arkham Knight since 2011. the two finals plot twists are unexpectable.
    Even following the same story structure of asylum (first problem happens, joker´s free and strange knowing who is
    Best Batman game of all time. It corrected all of strange slow downs that happens randonly during a combat in asylum, the story is better and the cliff hanger ending shows that Rocksteady was writing Arkham Knight since 2011. the two finals plot twists are unexpectable.
    Even following the same story structure of asylum (first problem happens, joker´s free and strange knowing who is batman, a new component or decease is discovered, titan and the joker´s blood, batman had to find the cure and the game progresses around this) but is so well made that it wraps you into the game making you do everything that has to do in the game.
    Expand
  42. Jun 23, 2020
    10
    What can we say? Is without doubt, the best superhero videogame, at least until this year 2020, is almost perfect.
    The story, gameplay, graphics, everything is awesome and a lot better than Asylum.
    unfotunatelly I can´t rate with a 9.7, but that´s the rate I would give to this masterpiece.
  43. Jun 21, 2020
    8
    Arkham Asylum but bigger, with improved gameplay, a more complex story and more content. However the game does lack a bit when compared to it's predecessor, due to the incredible atmosphere in Asylum, which Rocksteady just didn't quite manage to match in the way bigger and open Arkham City prison. Nevertheless, AC succeeds as a sequel and is yet another brilliant Batman game by Rocksteady.
  44. Jun 14, 2020
    9
    As a follow-up to Arkham Asylum, I'm not sure what much else Rocksteady could have pulled off back in 2011. Bigger and bolder and more expansive. More classic villains, and even introducing Cat Woman as a playable character with her own unique moves and abilities for a small part of the game. I will say that although 'Asylum' is still my favourite of these two, for reasons outlined inAs a follow-up to Arkham Asylum, I'm not sure what much else Rocksteady could have pulled off back in 2011. Bigger and bolder and more expansive. More classic villains, and even introducing Cat Woman as a playable character with her own unique moves and abilities for a small part of the game. I will say that although 'Asylum' is still my favourite of these two, for reasons outlined in my Asylum review, this game is exceptional. Some will prefer the bigger scope, though for me, I really like Asylum as a classic example of what a more contained experience can be.

    This time we have side missions introduced, nearly all of which don't feel tacked on to me, and many you can complete naturally during the main mission, or anytime at your leisure post-completion on your way to your Platinum / 100%. I enjoyed some of the mini challenges like the AR Bat-Clawing stuff, and, like Asylum, I respected that the post-game predator and combat challenges really made you 'master' the mechanics. For those going for the platinum achievement on this game, by the end you feel like you've really mastered all facets of this game, and is well worth pursing. If this is your first game of this nature you should now feel a more formidable gamer for other similar titles if you try them. For me, the 'ball-ache' moment this time, at least for a while was the Master Predator campaign. Campaigns were a new mode introduced that combined 3 predator and/or combat challenges into one campaign to complete, and you choose up to 3 modifiers that can make the challenges harder or easier.

    For me, one downside on the base PS4 remaster is this does blue screen 'crash', and unlike Arkham I experienced some fps slow down on occasion, though for me, this happened during the combat challenges aka Riddler's revenge post-game, where we can have many many enemies on screen at once being pummeled. The PS4 just sort of gave up at one point. That said, it was still rare enough not to burn my experience. Bat-clawing around the city was very fun this time, and clearly a fore-bearer to the likes of what Insomniac did to arguably even better effect later on in Marvel's Spider-Man.

    One other down-side is if you didn't enjoy collecting the Riddler trophies in Asylum, you really won't enjoy it here, because there are more of them, and some of them are taxing puzzlers. That said, again, getting them feels rewarding as you get very cool concept art, 3D character trophies, and Arkham lore stories for doing it all, and doing it all is a requirement for the Platinum / 100%. It's time consuming, but for a game like this, doing all this AND having to do a new game plus run I feel the game is one of the harder Platinums, but also that it deserves completing.
    Expand
  45. May 12, 2020
    9
    Story - 9/10
    Gameplay - 9/10
    Graphics - 9/10
    Soundtrack - 9/10
    Levels - 9/10
    Replay value - 9/10
  46. Apr 29, 2020
    10
    Es el mejor juego de super héroes qué exciste, la experiencia siendo batman es única, la Historia es excelente, el apartado gráfico es único, me encanta
  47. Jan 8, 2020
    8
    The technical improvements don't feel very significant, but the most important point is that the game changed those "big" maps into a "sandbox" map. Exploring Arkham City is fun, even though it doesn't have the variety you'd like. I didn't get this new format very well at first, but I adapted over time.

    Its mechanics are almost the same, with slight improvements, although the plot is
    The technical improvements don't feel very significant, but the most important point is that the game changed those "big" maps into a "sandbox" map. Exploring Arkham City is fun, even though it doesn't have the variety you'd like. I didn't get this new format very well at first, but I adapted over time.

    Its mechanics are almost the same, with slight improvements, although the plot is certainly better than its predecessor.
    I love challenges maps (combat) and its extra DLCs skins and characteres too.
    Expand
  48. Oct 15, 2019
    10
    The best videogame of batman ever seen, with one of the most inexpect end of all
  49. Oct 8, 2019
    9
    Стало интереснее, чем Asylum, хороший сюжет, концовка, даже в титрах кусочек сюжета.
    Но все еще проблемы с восприятием мира и ориентацией в нем. Недоработка.
    Еще минус, что есть всякое для дополнения с Кошкой, хотя у тебя может и не быть этого дополнения. Считаю, что лучше бы это доустанавливалось вместе с допом.
    Стало интереснее, чем Asylum, хороший сюжет, концовка, даже в титрах кусочек сюжета.
    Но все еще проблемы с восприятием мира и ориентацией в нем. Недоработка.
    Еще минус, что есть всякое для дополнения с Кошкой, хотя у тебя может и не быть этого дополнения. Считаю, что лучше бы это доустанавливалось вместе с допом.
  50. Oct 2, 2019
    10
    My favorite game of all time. A must play. You are becoming batman story is legendary and side quests are worth playing mysterious and action packed.
  51. Aug 9, 2019
    4
    This game is an overrated mess and I was sorely disappointed from the lack of creativity the world had to offer in Arkham Asylum, Batman moves like a ballerina and I remember in all of the comics, Batman is a tank. All of a sudden he is a ballerina who defies the laws of physics. The story is a disaster and a few days after finishing this game, I don't remember anything about the story.This game is an overrated mess and I was sorely disappointed from the lack of creativity the world had to offer in Arkham Asylum, Batman moves like a ballerina and I remember in all of the comics, Batman is a tank. All of a sudden he is a ballerina who defies the laws of physics. The story is a disaster and a few days after finishing this game, I don't remember anything about the story. The story really started out strong with Bruce Wayne fighting with handcuffs in his suit, now thats what I wanna see. Then **** goes down with penguin and sollomen zombie, I don't know it goes downhill from there. Ok lets talk about the combat, not very good. Most of the combat consists on mashing the square and triangle button, that is it you don't even have to look at the screen, you will win every time. This game has what most open world games have in common, boring, unoriginal, repetitive missions that disrupt the flow of the main campaign. The stealth in this game isn't really creative at all, using some elements from other games, that are in-fact a lot better than this. Credit to videogamedunkey, for some of the points I used in this review. Expand
  52. Jun 14, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved playing this game through the many times I have completed it. Though I loved Arkham Asylum this game improves on everything Asylum did right from combat to gliding and to the story *spoiler alert* I loved the characters from Ra's Al Ghul to the Joker himself and the end is filled with so many twist from clayface being a fake Joker to Talia's death. The DLC was also amazing showing what happened after Joker died and I love that at the end of the game you can though I loved Arkham Asylum this game tops it of by a smidge switch from Batman. Though I loved Arkham Asylum this game Expand
  53. Jun 14, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think Batman: Arkhem City is one of the best superhero's games!!!! You must buy it, becous it is good game. 10/10 Expand
  54. Jun 3, 2019
    10
    Best super hero game ever of all time The story is a masterpiece the gameplay is is so good
  55. May 27, 2019
    7
    Good game but some of the side content, such as augmented reality training, was unnecessarily difficult and frustrating and not very much fun. The controls were on the sloppy side as well.
  56. Apr 26, 2019
    9
    esse batman é muito bom mesmo, foi melhor que o outro arkham, recomendo jogar ele
  57. Apr 18, 2019
    10
    MUST PLAY
    i played arkham asylum and arkham city and arkham origens and this one is the best i wasn't a batman fan but now i am i this game has my best boss fight ever!!!!!!!
    it is dr.Frees boss fight it is great
  58. Mar 29, 2019
    9
    Gotham city is well crafted, the story picks up nicely with a return of most batman's known villains, amazing voice acting, the amazing combat system is here with a well used modifications.
  59. Jan 18, 2019
    10
    El mejor videojuego de Batman jamas creado hasta la fecha, lleno de guiños y de secretos y con la sensación continua de ser Batman.
  60. Jan 17, 2019
    10
    Best super hero game ever made. The story is great, gameplay is awesome, the combat is intense and fun, graphics are great . The ultimate Batman experience
  61. Dec 29, 2018
    9
    Игра шидевр! Просто лучшая игра всех времён и народов. Какая графика, какой графон!
  62. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Fantastic, just an excellent game all the way through. Combat, Voice Acting, STORY, just breathtaking. Props to Paul Dini and Rocksteady.
  63. Nov 15, 2018
    10
    A Masterpiece, loved everything about this game, it is definitely a must play!
  64. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    Rocksteady made the impossible, they created a sequel that surpassed the already excellent original. The story expands on the awesome plot of Arkham Asylum introducing new villains as well as featuring returning ones from Batman's iconic rogue gallery. The scenario is well written and everyone is sure to love it and be hyped. The graphics have been definitely improved over the two yearRocksteady made the impossible, they created a sequel that surpassed the already excellent original. The story expands on the awesome plot of Arkham Asylum introducing new villains as well as featuring returning ones from Batman's iconic rogue gallery. The scenario is well written and everyone is sure to love it and be hyped. The graphics have been definitely improved over the two year break and you really feel the atmosphere of Arkham City. But the greatest thing about this game which contributed to future action games is the gameplay and more precisely the combat. At the begining it should feel easy to learn with helpful tips, but by the time you have mastered it you will think you are in a Batman movie, and look like you are dancing between enemies. Aside from that you will use a number of gadgets. In other words you will be Batman. Just don't leave gaming without playing this masterpiece. Expand
  65. Oct 5, 2018
    10
    É um jogo muito bom, possui uma jogabilidade incrível, gráficos bons e uma história obscura, mas o que eu mais gostei no jogo foi o universo dele, a rocksteady fez um ótimo trabalho respresentando o universo de Batman, com inimigos clássicos dos quadrinhos, e uma Gotham corrupta e domada pelos vilões, se você gosta das HQ's você certamente ira adorar esse jogo, se você não acompanha, seráÉ um jogo muito bom, possui uma jogabilidade incrível, gráficos bons e uma história obscura, mas o que eu mais gostei no jogo foi o universo dele, a rocksteady fez um ótimo trabalho respresentando o universo de Batman, com inimigos clássicos dos quadrinhos, e uma Gotham corrupta e domada pelos vilões, se você gosta das HQ's você certamente ira adorar esse jogo, se você não acompanha, será uma ótima forma de se introduzir nesse universo, e se você simplesmente não gosta, ainda pode se divertir com os combates ou explorando o mapa Expand
  66. Sep 16, 2018
    10
    Awe yeah lets hear it for Batman for making a kick ass game. This game is a phenomenon that it is a sequel that truly out does the original in every department. I believe sequels tend to be better but this one is so good it actually makes Arkham Asylum look like it was a beta to this game. The combat was improved, the stealth was improved, and the story was improved. Rocksteady outdidAwe yeah lets hear it for Batman for making a kick ass game. This game is a phenomenon that it is a sequel that truly out does the original in every department. I believe sequels tend to be better but this one is so good it actually makes Arkham Asylum look like it was a beta to this game. The combat was improved, the stealth was improved, and the story was improved. Rocksteady outdid themselves. The only flaw that anyone can put against this game is that there is too much **** to do in it. That's more of a nitpick than a flaw. Check list; you have a great story with a rouges gallery of characters, you have improved gameplay with over 20 hours of extra content, and incredible voice acting from Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill. You know what I am hearing is that this game is damn near perfect. Honestly the only people who wouldn't like this game would be those people who hate on Batman because he's popular and they would like to feel superior to trash him then to just admit the guy is a badass. In the end if you haven't guessed the rating by now I give this game a BETTER THAN SEX. Expand
  67. Sep 15, 2018
    9
    "City" is the best game in the "Arkham" series. An improvement over the original, it refines and expands on every aspect. This is one of those rare sequels that is both bigger and better. If the first game's model was "Bioshock", than "Grand Theft Auto" is the reference point here. As the title implies, the story takes place in a city and its open-world environment is amazing. If you're a"City" is the best game in the "Arkham" series. An improvement over the original, it refines and expands on every aspect. This is one of those rare sequels that is both bigger and better. If the first game's model was "Bioshock", than "Grand Theft Auto" is the reference point here. As the title implies, the story takes place in a city and its open-world environment is amazing. If you're a Batman fan, then you'll love this game. The story is a classic Dark Knight tale and the action is astounding. This is the greatest comic-book based video game made. I would rate it with a 9.5 out of 10. Expand
  68. Sep 8, 2018
    8
    What Kind of Adventure?

    Its an Action-Adventure game. Was it fun? Yes, this was my favorite of the Arkham series games. Are there any similar games? The combat system is very similar to Shadow of Mordor and also it feels like a more refined and better polished Arkham Asylum. What did you think of the story? The Penguin plays a much larger role in the overall story but
    What Kind of Adventure?

    Its an Action-Adventure game.

    Was it fun?

    Yes, this was my favorite of the Arkham series games.

    Are there any similar games?

    The combat system is very similar to Shadow of Mordor and also it feels like a more refined and better polished Arkham Asylum.

    What did you think of the story?

    The Penguin plays a much larger role in the overall story but unfortunately it revolves around the Joker doing stuff and you have to stop him. Its not a terrible story or anything, I’m just kind of getting sick of Joker always being synonymous with Batman. I get that the Joker is Batman’s most iconic villain but you can make a Batman game without the Joker.

    Favorite Character?

    Right at the start of the game you actually start out as someone other than Batman. You get to play as Catwoman and let me just say that I loved playing as her. Especially in the combat sequences, she just had more mobility so I could get even higher combo strings. Not to mention, I really did like the slow motion “combo ending” cut scenes. But if you were in Gotham, going from point A to Point B, I preferred to be Batman. With him being able to glide around the city, it was just a faster way to move around.

    Would you play it again?

    Out of the 3 Batman Arkham games I have played so far, this has the most replayability but probably no.

    Any Complaints?

    First and foremost, why did they take the time to make Robin (or Nightwing) and only have him in 5 seconds of the story. I was so excited when I first saw him because I thought he would be a playable character but he was only in the story for that 1, 5 second sequence. Now I do know there is DLC with him available but still, it was disappointing and I would have preferred him not to be in the game at all.

    How many hours did you play it?

    10 hours at the most.
    Expand
  69. Sep 5, 2018
    10
    It may not be as complete batman experience as arkham knight is but plot wise it is so much better. At the time, even gameplay wise it seemed like the best thing ever and it still holds up very well.
  70. Jul 24, 2018
    8
    It improves everything that Arkham Asylum had, I do not have much to say, excellent game.
  71. Jul 3, 2018
    10
    Supero en todos los apartados con respecto al Asylum, uno de mis juegos de la infancia y preferidos, tanto que me lo pase 14 veces xD.
  72. May 20, 2018
    10
    The best Batman game ever made. Quite frankly the best superhero game ever made. Still to this day one of the best games Ive ever played.
  73. May 15, 2018
    9
    Everything is improved from the last game, combat, open world, side content, etc. Only thing that is worse is the inconsistent story. Still interesting though.
  74. Apr 28, 2018
    9
    Just when Batman Arkham Asylum was so good, this game blew that game away! They took a huge step forward with this game and it paid off! Best Batman game to date!
  75. Apr 1, 2018
    8
    Batman: Arkham City is a 2011 action-adventure video games developed by Rocksteady Studios and published by Warner Bros.

    + Excellent Presentation + Boss Battles are Better than Asylum + Has all the Good of Arkham Asylum but Now Situated in a Open World - Has The Flaws of Many Open World with Secundary Missions (Sometimes you are in a Critical Situation of the Main Story and Suddenly
    Batman: Arkham City is a 2011 action-adventure video games developed by Rocksteady Studios and published by Warner Bros.

    + Excellent Presentation
    + Boss Battles are Better than Asylum
    + Has all the Good of Arkham Asylum but Now Situated in a Open World
    - Has The Flaws of Many Open World with Secundary Missions (Sometimes you are in a Critical Situation of the Main Story and Suddenly a Secundary objective is Activated)
    - Too Tempting to Play Through the Entire Game in Detective Vision Mode
    - The Riddler Challenges can be Frustrating Specially when you don't have the Gadgets to get it

    My Score: 8/10
    Expand
  76. Mar 30, 2018
    9
    Wasn't expecting to love this as it seemed like just a retread of Asylum with a cheap reason to continue. Oooo boy was I wrong. This game is everything Asylum was and better.
  77. Jan 30, 2018
    10
    This game is a masterpiece. It has incredible fighting and stealth combat. The voice acting in great especially Mark Hamill as the Joker. It has a great story and an excellent twist. There is a lot of open world free roaming with lots of easter eggs. Great side missions. The riddler challenges could have a little bit more explaining but it is a small flaw. Great bass battles. Also there isThis game is a masterpiece. It has incredible fighting and stealth combat. The voice acting in great especially Mark Hamill as the Joker. It has a great story and an excellent twist. There is a lot of open world free roaming with lots of easter eggs. Great side missions. The riddler challenges could have a little bit more explaining but it is a small flaw. Great bass battles. Also there is an awesome DLC where you can play as robin with different gadgets. Expand
  78. Jan 25, 2018
    8
    Tá aí, digna de uma continuação do Asylum. Não tenho muitas memórias dele, portanto não falarei muito
  79. Dec 17, 2017
    8
    Much fun though the bat ears are no height as such saying..the hat of the Dunpeal in D the Vampire Hunter. Batman Arkham City has technological gadgets to beat anything that is criminal in the game world. He can reach heights however the city is dark and might creep something a little too much. Great game other wise, not that found as handful as Vampire Hunter D though.
  80. Dec 15, 2017
    9
    Arkham City is a very fun and challenging game, with compelling story and narrative, top-notch voice acting, stellar graphics, and very well-written characters. It also features one of the best boss fights in video gaming history. The best parts of this game are probably the gameplay and voice acting. In any case I would recommend this version over the remaster.
  81. Dec 9, 2017
    10
    Rocksteady's Batman: Arkham City is a flawless sequel to an amazing game. The story is even better, the characters are even better, and the gameplay is just as great as the previous game. Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill continuously prove to be the true Batman & Joker. I love this amazing game and my rating would be a 10/10
  82. Oct 29, 2017
    9
    Se agradece mucho que hagan estas obras maestras para nuestros héroes favoritos de los cómics, de verdad. Excelente en todos sentidos, el mejor de la saga.
  83. Jun 2, 2017
    10
    Batman Arkham City had a mission that i considered impossible at the time, be better than Arkham Asylum was, and fortunately it was way better and very innovative. Counting with a much bigger map with so many levels to go, subway or up in buildings, the atmosphere in this game is special, you have the felling in this game is great, the street all devastated and fully of prisioners andBatman Arkham City had a mission that i considered impossible at the time, be better than Arkham Asylum was, and fortunately it was way better and very innovative. Counting with a much bigger map with so many levels to go, subway or up in buildings, the atmosphere in this game is special, you have the felling in this game is great, the street all devastated and fully of prisioners and bandits that you need to save the place from.
    Another big additional in the game are the side missions, you have twelve of them, most of them you have a good and short story telling that it's reached by the end of every one, to get there you need to find dead bodies and use the detective mode to get tracks and finally reach the boss.
    The combat are pretty much the same, a few new moves and stuff to use, the stealth battles still awesome with new moves. The characters now, beyond batman and the joker, have more profundity, Thalia, Ras, Harley, Catwoman, Penguin and of course the joker. The Boss fihts in this game are better than the last one, wich was already great, each one is specific, not repetitive at all.
    Now, what make this game a 10, the story is phenomenal, since the beginning until the last second, all what happens let you more curious and thoughtful for what is coming next, the plot is amazing, there is two main line in the story, both are wonderful, with Ras Al Ghul and the Joker, the plot twist in the end is mind blowing, that simple !
    The other game modes, combats and predator stil give a lot of fun and more hours for play, if you enjoy the combats in the game, it will definely be much fun getting combos and use all possible hits that you can, just like in the predator, complete all challenges will took a lot of time from you!
    Batman Arkham City it's a must buy and have one of the most entertained, emotional and inspiring story in games ever made.
    Expand
  84. Feb 23, 2017
    10
    Perfect for Batman fans, Batman Arkham city took the best things from Arkham Asylum and improved them, just the best video game of the saga and the best superhero video game.
  85. Feb 5, 2017
    10
    The best video game based on a comic I have ever played. It maintains all the good elements from Arkham Asylum at the same time it is greatly improved.

    The city is bigger and offers more possibilities, and the story captivates from the very beginning. Even if you do not like superheroes, this is must-have within the adventure/action genre.
  86. Jan 13, 2017
    8
    Awesome. Most fail when it comes to making games of superheroes, but Rocksteady was the exception. I even had fun playing the first part, which everybody complained because it was too plain. Well, that was their first try. But Arkham City brought it to a new whole level. A big city (big enough, there's no need to make huge maps, why?), lots of action (that well, will make you feel you areAwesome. Most fail when it comes to making games of superheroes, but Rocksteady was the exception. I even had fun playing the first part, which everybody complained because it was too plain. Well, that was their first try. But Arkham City brought it to a new whole level. A big city (big enough, there's no need to make huge maps, why?), lots of action (that well, will make you feel you are the best but just pressing one-two buttons), challenges, sidequests, but most importantly a great story. The Unreal engine also makes wonders in a little console like the PS3. The series should have ended here thou, then they started doing more of the same, yet bigger, but turned out to be repetitive, kinda like what happens with Assassin's creed games that, they try to convince you all is new but nothing changed. Expand
  87. Dec 2, 2016
    9
    Almost Perfect! Great story, great combat, smooth gameplay, tons of content especially with all DLCs, great graphics, great audio. More fun than Arkham Asylum in my opinion. Recommended!
  88. Oct 19, 2016
    10
    ¿Qué podría decir de este juego? Es magnífico, es precioso, es buenísimo.
    Batman Arkham City Es el MEJOR juego de la franquicia. Ya que este es un Análisis Extenso lo hare con todos los detalles posibles sin hacerte ningún spoiler por cada uno de sus apartados, empecemos.
    Gráficos: Los gráficos están excelentes para un juego de 2011 y está muy bien optimizado. Las texturas faciales y
    ¿Qué podría decir de este juego? Es magnífico, es precioso, es buenísimo.
    Batman Arkham City Es el MEJOR juego de la franquicia. Ya que este es un Análisis Extenso lo hare con todos los detalles posibles sin hacerte ningún spoiler por cada uno de sus apartados, empecemos.

    Gráficos: Los gráficos están excelentes para un juego de 2011 y está muy bien optimizado. Las texturas faciales y de los personajes están hechas hasta el último detalle para que se note lo más realista posible. Aparte la ciudad nunca lucia tan bien como aquí, que está perfectamente cuidada y decorada para que tengas una idea en realidad en que lugar estas.

    Sonido: Los Soundtracks de este batman son los mejores de la franquicia, desde la música de inicio hasta la de los créditos, veras que son canciones acordes a la situación que esté pasando, aparte de que son muy buenas y agregan un lado épico al título.

    Jugabilidad: En jugabilidad es donde Batman Arkham City falla un poco, ya que, aunque sus controles no son malos en PC, en mando tampoco son muy cómodos. En los dos tiene su fallo. Por ejemplo: En Teclado los controles son muchos, pero muchos, aparte de que usan cosas del mouse que a veces son bastante incomodas (Como usar la bolita del mouse para disparar un Batarang). Ahora, en mando a pesar de que no son muchos. La selección de objetos es demasiada incomoda y no te deja pensar rápido (También ocurre en el disparo rápido). El combate cuerpo a cuerpo, sea en mando o en teclado es muy bueno, ya que nos deja esquivar, golpear, hacer ataques críticos y devolverle el ataque al oponente.

    Historia: Su punto más fuerte del título. Simplemente Genial. Con una idea extraordinaria la de Arkham City, aparte de que descubrirás conspiraciones y viejos conocidos. Tendrás sorpresas muy inesperadas que te dejaran boquiabierta. Aunque no hay mucho enfoque a los villanos y la mayoría se sienten como secundarios. Solo unos pocos de verdad se les da la atención en todo el juego. Y también ocurre con otros personajes aliados. No se les da mucho enfoque. Creo que no hay ninguno que se llegue a comparar a la atención que se le da al villano principal, aparte de Alfred y la Gatubela. (No consideren esto Spoiler ya que Alfred es Alfred, Siempre estará ahí, jijiji).

    Contenido: Batman Arkham City nos deja explorar la ciudad donde habrá misiones secundarias, misterios de Enigma y la campaña principal, esta dura unas 14 horas, pero si le sacamos todo el jugo al juego nos dará perfectamente unas 30 horas.

    En fin, eso es lo que puedo decir. Mis Recomendaciones es que Lo pongan en DIFICIL, ya que el juego es un tantito fácil jjijiij y que se tomen su tiempo para explorar y ver el escenario.
    Expand
  89. Sep 7, 2016
    9
    This game is better than Arkham Asylum in almost all but story, however this game is in my own TOP 5 of videogames: I love its modes and challenges, I love its map and I love its enemies. 9/10
  90. Aug 31, 2016
    10
    batman arkham city is brilliant in all the aspects: story,graphics, combat mode,the mapdetective moments, the variations of batsuits.Maybe the bether game of superheroes in history and mark hamill at the joker its perfect. Probably one of the bests games of all time. this game its a jewel.rocksteady did great with this game. if you dont love batman you have to enjoy this game anyway. PERFECT.
  91. Aug 14, 2016
    10
    This is a perfect game. The story is top notch, the controls are phenomenal, the side quests are varied and interesting, and it has just the right depth into the Batman universe. This game kept me from sleeping many nights, staying up to pass one more story point, get one more upgrade, etc.

    I rarely play the extra content in games once I beat the story, however this game was so fun I
    This is a perfect game. The story is top notch, the controls are phenomenal, the side quests are varied and interesting, and it has just the right depth into the Batman universe. This game kept me from sleeping many nights, staying up to pass one more story point, get one more upgrade, etc.

    I rarely play the extra content in games once I beat the story, however this game was so fun I played through everything.
    Expand
  92. Jul 1, 2016
    7
    The gameplay is made less fun by input lag. The main missions have SOME merit for requiring intelligence, but overall I would rather replay Sleeping Dogs or GTA V. In Arkham City, I didn't feel adventurous, merely just a guy on duty. Pretty entertaining, but don't expect perfection.
  93. Jun 9, 2016
    10
    One of my favourite PS3 games ever. There was so much to do outside of the main story line which was also very good and enticing. Combat system was very engaging and fun. Movement was fluid in most places and there was nothing in this game that frustrated or annoyed me which is rare. Awesome game.
  94. May 18, 2016
    10
    A really great game expanding the area of exploration and concepts from the first game. One of the games I actually could not pull myself away from playing. The Original story for the game based on characters from an originally established universe continues to deliver and not disappoint. Playing as Robin and Nightwing as DLC characters in the extra modes along with Catwoman was a treat asA really great game expanding the area of exploration and concepts from the first game. One of the games I actually could not pull myself away from playing. The Original story for the game based on characters from an originally established universe continues to deliver and not disappoint. Playing as Robin and Nightwing as DLC characters in the extra modes along with Catwoman was a treat as well as the other versions of Batman. Expand
  95. Apr 11, 2016
    9
    If you love Batman, you're gonna love this game. If you don't love Batman, then you'll enjoy the game too, as it doesn't go over the head of a casual fan's head with the story. Simply put BUY THIS GAME!
  96. Apr 4, 2016
    9
    For those that haven't played the first Batman Arkham Asylum, it is not necessary to start there but I highly recommend not passing up the first before you go to the sequel as the first will wet your appetite for this one and you will be amazed at what they did for the follow up in Arkham City. It is not often that you have a sequel that does so well at adding and bringing more that whatFor those that haven't played the first Batman Arkham Asylum, it is not necessary to start there but I highly recommend not passing up the first before you go to the sequel as the first will wet your appetite for this one and you will be amazed at what they did for the follow up in Arkham City. It is not often that you have a sequel that does so well at adding and bringing more that what the first game did. Expand
  97. Feb 22, 2016
    8
    Great game! Overwhelming when it comes to gathering all of the hidden trophies. I love that you can transition between playing as Catwoman and Batman. There was a moment towards the end of the game where I was a bit lost on what I was supposed to be doing. I love the open world feel to the game. It feels as if you can fly around forever and the scenery is amazing. Combat style is easy toGreat game! Overwhelming when it comes to gathering all of the hidden trophies. I love that you can transition between playing as Catwoman and Batman. There was a moment towards the end of the game where I was a bit lost on what I was supposed to be doing. I love the open world feel to the game. It feels as if you can fly around forever and the scenery is amazing. Combat style is easy to get used to and not too difficult. Storyline is entertaining and the game kept me engaged. I recommend this game to everyone. Expand
  98. Feb 18, 2016
    10
    batman woow what a GAME great graphics gameplay driving beating down guys with robin catwoman and... not the best of the batman this game was but 10/10 is just the score
  99. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    Batman: Arkham City improves from Arkham Asylum, it's larger, bigger, but better.

    Not only did it successfully fix and introduced us to a smoother combat system wich was a joy to play, but it added more characters to the story (heroes and villains) a more complex plot, a larger map with tons of side missions, it made the detective mode less overpowered, and better boss battles. The
    Batman: Arkham City improves from Arkham Asylum, it's larger, bigger, but better.

    Not only did it successfully fix and introduced us to a smoother combat system wich was a joy to play, but it added more characters to the story (heroes and villains) a more complex plot, a larger map with tons of side missions, it made the detective mode less overpowered, and better boss battles.

    The story is excellent, it offers much more than Asylum in terms of storytelling. We have, as I said before, more villains that we love but were missing from the previous game. And do I have to talk about the boss battles? They were such an improvement and were extremely fun to play (Mr. Freeze's boss still remains as one of the greatest boss battles ever made). And with a twist that was as unexpected as ever, you'll love this game more.

    Combat and Predator missions are also improved from Asylum, there are more challenges that'll guarantee endless hours of gameplay trying to get 3 stars in al stages.

    I do not have any flaws with this game, and that is something, it is an experience more than a game in wich you enjoy every single moment of it. Also, this is one of the few games were I really recommend getting the GOTY edition. It includes the Catwoman storyline, more challenge missions, more characters and skins, and a new story wich is still fun to play. This game is definitely worth at full price. Any comic book fan, Batman fan, or gamer in general should love this one.
    Expand
  100. Jan 31, 2016
    8
    EDIT: Still think the game is great, but combat, though it works really well, is monotonous and boring.(specially after many hours of playing). Other things remain the same on my opinion.
    8/10 (previous score: 10/10)
  101. Oct 18, 2011
    10
    ok , well i have been playing since midnight eastern time and let me start off by saying WOW. i am feeling like i am in an open world interactive batman comic/cartoon. it is that good. the details are top notch, everything from catwoman's hips to the dive bombing/thrust kicking villains. the graphics are beautiful, and there has been very little frame rate issues whatsoever. the controlsok , well i have been playing since midnight eastern time and let me start off by saying WOW. i am feeling like i am in an open world interactive batman comic/cartoon. it is that good. the details are top notch, everything from catwoman's hips to the dive bombing/thrust kicking villains. the graphics are beautiful, and there has been very little frame rate issues whatsoever. the controls familiar to asylum's mechanics, but more precise counters and great takedown sequences. the game starts off in a way which was very creative, and the story has been steady since pressing start. playing as catwoman is not only a great addition but the way she is seamlessly running parallel to the story, while taking turns from batman to catwoman. the upgrade/skill point is based on combat combo's and tech which gain batman his exp, doing other actions also will give some xp but combat being points plentiful. then can upgrade armor, techniques etc, categories ranging from gadgets to combat, and even catwoman has a small "tree" to upgrade. the villains are not the smartest bunch but instead of feeling like the a.i is pathetic, i feel like there is no match for batman while im playing him. so they give me feelings of being a bad a** who's moves got moves rather than the feeling of just going through the motions. that wasnt/isnt a easy task. i am one w/ batman. and my weapons are not over powered, if anything they are designed for 2 primary reasons. # 1 stunning / confusing the villain or # 2 used to solve puzzles(riddles) , break through walls and create diversions etc. they do not kill. batman has use his muscle to put enemies on the ground. and my fav is the "DIVE BOMB" lol, coasting around finding villains and pressing the right trigger to dive into a mob never gets old. the campaign isnt long if you go from a to b. but solving all the riddles as well as side quests tacks on many hours, fun hours. and im not usually a big fan w/ a ton of side quests but there are exceptions and its usually when i dont want a game to end, batman is an exception. i dont want the game to finish, and thats what tells me that im playing something special. batman has alot to offer. and it offers them on a silver platter. the only faults ive found is the main villains, in my opinion they did not get enough screentime, they just seemed to be an after thought rather than challenging foes. dont get me wrong, the details and voice acting of the joker, penguin etc were top notch but i just wished their presence made a bigger impact , cameo's is a word that describes my feelings on certain villains. and not knowing how many more batmans are to come, just wished that i had more interaction w/ them in this game because this is the one which is truely as close to a superhero to video game translation ive seen to date, and ive been playing games since commodore 64,lol..
    i took a break to share my thoughts as the game is paused in the background and its been about 13 hours of gaming so far and i cant wait to pick the controller back up.
    i must be honest before i go. i had no true desire for this game. almost switched my pre-order to something else. i must say that i would have made a mistake if i did because this is everything i want in a game and more, this is by far oe of the best games i have played in a while. ive played just about everything, check my psn if you wish. this is one which i will replay and one which i wont want to let go of. i dont think a perfect 10 exists but i have to grade a game which is pretty close. i would rate a 9.5 but considering the games that get scores that high and falling way short in comparison well hey im giving it a 10. the music hits all the right notes , the graphics are sweet and the story is one to enjoy. ultimately this game hits all the right notes and is very worthy of goty contention.

    if you a fan of batman or a fan of getting your monies worth in a game, then this is for you.
    if only rocksteady could call clark kent and have him sign a contract to jump in a phone booth and fly to our consoles. that would be nice...
    Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 42 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 42
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 42
  3. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 29, 2011
    89
    Arkham City is the best reflection of the Batman-comic books ever. Not because of the sheer amount of famous enemies that challenge our hero, but thanks to the amazing atmosphere that oozes from every pore of this remarkable action game. [Nov 2011, p.70]
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    95
    All in all, outside of a few minor issues, I couldn't ask for a better Batman experience. If Arkham City was a graphic novel, it would be considered a classic.
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 18, 2011
    100
    Arkham City should be celebrated as a shining achievement for the action-adventure genre for its masterful execution. [Holiday 2011, p.70]