Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    90
    It's not perfect, but we highly recommend this title to all FPS fans looking for something fresh to bide the time.
  2. Play UK
    Sep 16, 2011
    80
    It's not very original, but you'll be hard-pressed to find a similarly priced first-person shooter that offers this much impressive content. [Issue#209, p.99]
  3. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Aug 25, 2011
    80
    Sure, we could complain of minor lapses in visual and audio quality, but Prejudice's high fun-to-price ration make up for its shortcomings. [Oct 2011, p.84]
  4. Aug 4, 2011
    80
    Section 8: Prejudice is a fun PSN title in which every action of the player has a significant effect, be it enhancing the base with defense towers or the choice of weapons and tools. The developers learned from the mistakes of the first part and thus produced a title that everyone interested should have a look at.
  5. Jul 27, 2011
    75
    Section 8: Prejudice explores well-worn territory, but a smart campaign and volatile competitive mode make this shooter rise above its generic aesthetic.
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    70
    Section 8: Prejudice is a mix of a lot of good ideas and some varied results. It looks pretty good (and in the campaign, epic), but it isn't consistent. In all, it is a good package for sci-fi shooter fans looking to experiment and see a new world.
  7. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Sep 5, 2011
    70
    Despite the positives, there's no escaping the fiddly controls and flyaway firearms. [Oct 2011, p.111]
  8. 70
    For what you would spend on one measly map pack in another game you could pick up an entirely new arcade style FPS, with a full campaign and robust multiplayer mode which, simply put, is a fantastic deal.
  9. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Sep 1, 2011
    61
    It's oddly enjoyable in places. [Oct 2011, p.105]
  10. Aug 3, 2011
    60
    Prejudice certainly does a lot – it just doesn't do very much well.
  11. Aug 4, 2011
    33
    Probably the biggest problem with the game is that battles play out almost exactly as you'd expect and it gets old-hat almost immediately.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Aug 5, 2011
    10
    First and foremost. **** IGN. **** all the "professional" reviewers that have a boner for cod. And **** all the reviewers that can't see theFirst and foremost. **** IGN. **** all the "professional" reviewers that have a boner for cod. And **** all the reviewers that can't see the excellence in other FPS. This game isn't perfect but compared to other psn games this is easily a 10. There's nothing that has ever been released on psn or xbox live that is near as good as Section 8 Prejudice, except maybe the Undead Nightmare DLC. I've been playing this game nonstop for the last 6 days and I'm only level 52, about halfway there. Swarm mode is fun as hell with your friends and insane difficulty is challenging but so rewarding when you beat it. I've yet to play much of the campaign because I've been so engrossed in the online and swarm but from who I've been talking to, it's fun. Nothing out of the ordinary but what shooter really has a great campaign nowadays? This is a great value for $60. I wish more full price retail games were as good as this and offered so much. The fact that it's $15 makes it well worth the purchase. It's not just something to pass the time, it's a fantastic FPS and I think that if it was a retail game and got more marketing, it could be the next halo (obviously need a bigger fanbase and more maps but it truly does feel like a better version of Halo). I urge you to buy this game. The fact that I was likely one of the first ps+ subscribers and I likely get the original Section 8 for free (not to mention the Overdrive pack, armour and 60 trophies), I'm so incredibly happy with purchase. Don't trust reviewers. Trust real people. Ask around, you won't find any user disappointed with this game (apart from the special needs child that didn't like this). Possibly a Bungie developer? Full Review »
  2. Jul 26, 2011
    10
    This might go down as the best PSN game to ever be released. I am serious this is a game that should have been released for $60 in stores. ForThis might go down as the best PSN game to ever be released. I am serious this is a game that should have been released for $60 in stores. For a price point of $15 you get the most bang for your buck. Singleplayer lasts anywhere from 5-6 hours and is actually very enjoyable. The online is where the real action is at however. If you are looking for a fresh multiplayer experience this is the game you want to come to. This game plays like a battlefield meets halo and tribes during its 32 player online conquest mode. Also supported is an addicting survival co-op mode that can be played with up to four other players. Overall when its all said and done if your a fan at all of first person shooters pick this game up. Full Review »
  3. Jul 28, 2011
    10
    No other choice than to give this game a 10 for the fact that many retail $59.99 games don't come close to the fun factor of this game andNo other choice than to give this game a 10 for the fact that many retail $59.99 games don't come close to the fun factor of this game and this one still manages to be slightly innovative for $14.99. Not the great graphics of many other games but decent and the fact that it plays well, has dedicated regional servers, and is a bargain price more than make up for any downfalls in the graphics department. This is a must buy for people who like fps titles because for sheer fun not many of the heavys do it as well as this download title. The single player is mostly training for the fun you're going to be having in the multiplayer portions. Honestly for a budget fps title you simply can't go wrong. I've purchased most of all of the fps titles from the playstation network and for this price none of them touch this game. Full Review »