Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 95
    A House Divided leverages streamlined gameplay to yield serious character and plot development. Alongside more technical polish than The Walking Dead has ever seen, this is Telltale's best effort yet.
  2. Mar 16, 2014
    90
    A House Divided manages to build on what the first episode started. It was a strong start, but episode 2 is where the season truly begins. With mystery and intrigue, it feels like no character is exactly who they seem. The coming episodes are going to be very interesting.
  3. Mar 10, 2014
    90
    While it’s still riddled with technical issues on occasion, very rarely does game writing soar this high.
  4. Among the most enjoyable episodes Telltale has released – it just doesn’t let you take ownership of events to the extent previous episodes did. A thrilling two hours rippling with tension, but interactivity is becoming marginalised in favour of an cinematic pacing. You won’t use the pad much – and you won’t care.
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    80
    A lot more tense than the previous episode, with a nice balance between dialogue, action and looting. It's a bit shorter than we're used to, though the decrease in framerate issues more than makes up for it.
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    80
    A House Divided has the player making hard choices that greatly influence the story. Clementine is calling the shots in this episode, which feels good but also was a necessity for the dynamics in the series. The great balance between action and storytelling brings the series back up to its trusted and solid quality level.
  7. Mar 4, 2014
    80
    With A House Divided, season two of The Walking Dead is up and shambling. While the first episode was too perfunctory in how it set the stage and got everything into motion, you can now see both the story and the characters taking shape and evolving. This slow-burn approach should continue to pay dividends as the saga matures in future episodes.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 87
  2. Negative: 6 out of 87
  1. Mar 16, 2014
    7
    Oh telltale I love you but you seem to make me want to hate you. The game is the usual great storytelling but telltales business practices areOh telltale I love you but you seem to make me want to hate you. The game is the usual great storytelling but telltales business practices are being called in to question and rightfully so. Massive delays in the release of this episode and a week delay in Europe and Australia are starting to annoy fans. Also episodes are getting way to short the first season episodes would last a few hours the first two of season two maybe an hour and a half if that. With telltale announcing two new projects fans are becoming increasingly annoyed with telltale's delays and excuses. It hurt's to say this but so am I and it needs to be fixed soon for fans not to grow disinterested in the series.

    The good- The usual great story.
    The bad- FAR TO SHORT.
    The ugly- Massive delays for EU and Australian gamers.

    Verdict 7/10 Pretty good game
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2014
    5
    I sure would love to play this game on Playstation 4... I'm sure this game is awesome, since I'm a fan of the original. I'll have to give it aI sure would love to play this game on Playstation 4... I'm sure this game is awesome, since I'm a fan of the original. I'll have to give it a 5 score for not making it available to gamers who spent their money to upgrade their system. I played the first season on XBOX 360, sold it because I'm sick of Microsoft, and went with Playstation 4 instead of XBOX One... now I'm penalized and unable to play a game I was really looking forward to. Episode 2 already out and I'm left behind... I'll update my grade once I can actually play it. Full Review »
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    10
    Easily one of the best episodes of the entire series just simply amazing writing and intensity. The game (and the TV show) is so much betterEasily one of the best episodes of the entire series just simply amazing writing and intensity. The game (and the TV show) is so much better when the zombies are not focused on and the human drama is really implemented. Michael Madsen does a tremendous job as the villain Carver and the ending is so crazy I easily want to replay it again just to see the different outcomes.

    Any fan of Season 1 or the TV show needs to get the Season 2 pass because this is true entertainment and IMO at times beats out the TV show in terms of writing and character development. Also playing as a 11 year old girl in a zombie apocalypse is just great and Clementine herself is slowly becoming one of my all time video game characters, well done TellTale 10/10.
    Full Review »