• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 13, 2012
Yakuza: Dead Souls Image
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As the story begins, it's business is as usual in Kamurocho. Soon, however, all hell breaks loose as a zombie outbreak turns the area into a quarantine zone, walled off by the Japanese Self Defense Force. This quarantine zone gradually expands as the story progresses. Real-life shops andAs the story begins, it's business is as usual in Kamurocho. Soon, however, all hell breaks loose as a zombie outbreak turns the area into a quarantine zone, walled off by the Japanese Self Defense Force. This quarantine zone gradually expands as the story progresses. Real-life shops and signs from the quarantine zone add a sense of realism to the scene. Added to the sub stories is a new "Buddy" system, where players can recruit and fight alongside local residents, further enhances gameplay. And as for corporate tie-in products and stores - a hallmark of the RYU-GA-GOTOKU series - OF THE END features
    more of them than ever before. Two Kamurochos for you to explore to your heart's content: the blazing neon streets of the red-light district, and the desperate squalor of the quarantine zone.
    Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Yakuza: Dead Souls Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 55
  2. Negative: 1 out of 55
  1. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Apr 9, 2012
    80
    It's the equivalent of a shrapnel grenade rather than single, well-placed sniper bullets. Some bits will miss, others will lodge deep enough to leave a lasting impression. [May 2012, p.106]
  2. Mar 27, 2012
    75
    Going into Yakuza: Dead Souls I had some reservations, but after playing it, I'm happy to say that this works surprisingly well.
  3. Mar 23, 2012
    70
    If you're in need of a zombie fix, you could do better… even if to me it feels more than a little like a crime-themed Shenmue with an undead army.
  4. Mar 17, 2012
    60
    As a third-person zombie action game, it's awkward and clumsy, and therefore, a difficult recommendation for gamers looking for a post-Dead Rising quick fix.
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    60
    A zombie-outbreak in the Yakuza makes for a fresh change of pace. Unfortunately that really says it all, because Dead Souls misses the nuance and class of previous installments. It's not even the presentation or story, but mostly the game mechanics that disappoint. Shooting zombies is what you'll be doing most in Dead souls and by the end of the game you'll long for the 'regular' Yakuza experience.
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    60
    An interesting turn in the series, but its gameplay is terribly designed in some parts, and it lacks ambition and originality as a zombie game. We will pass a lot of time shooting and killing without no additional motivation or extra, repeating the same scheme constantly. Only for hardcore fans of the Yakuza series.
  7. Mar 19, 2012
    42
    I don't feel like Yakuza: Dead Souls is a game that anyone really needs to play, even if you're a pretty hardcore fan of the series. The action is such a departure from the series, and handled so poorly, that it literally turns you off of wanting to do anything but the non-combat side stuff found throughout.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 18
  2. Negative: 2 out of 18
  1. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    This isn't just a Zombie shooter; Bowling, darts, dating sim, fishing, karaoke, poker and a whole lot of other things going on.It's a shooterThis isn't just a Zombie shooter; Bowling, darts, dating sim, fishing, karaoke, poker and a whole lot of other things going on.It's a shooter that actually has some personality, charismatic characters, and a villain that actually has a greater motive than just " kill everyone". Calling Dead Souls just another Zombie shooter is an offence because it's so much more. Expand
  2. Mar 23, 2012
    9
    A great spinoff, all the old Yakuza openness and detail with a straightforward zombie apocalypse story. Even though the engine is showing itsA great spinoff, all the old Yakuza openness and detail with a straightforward zombie apocalypse story. Even though the engine is showing its age, the city still looks as good as ever, even as it's dying. Storyline is simpler than the previous Yakuza games, but that works to its advantage - zombie apocalypses don't need complexity, and the four player characters all play their part in the story well. Controls are fine in the western versions. Effective, even. This isn't a dedicated shooter, and should not play like a dedicated shooter. If you take time to use the controls effectively (some pro reviewers seem not to, others make it clear that they didn't) and you'll easily be able to work your way through the infestation while putting the dead back in their place. Unfortunately, easy tends to become boring, and after repeated trips into the quarantine zone you'll want to just ignore as many as you can. There's plenty of things to do, both zombie-related and traditional Yakuza content, such as sidequests, minigames, underground missions, directives, hostess clubs, a well-done postgame mode... it's a Yakuza game alright, not quite as much content as 4 but it's more than could be expected from a spinoff with a somewhat overdone concept. Unfortunately, that overdone concept and lacking professional reviews means that in the west, this will probably be doomed to bargain prices in no time. If you're played the past Yakuza games, this is as good as you could hope it would be, so support it not because the series needs you but because it's a great game that deserves it. If you haven't played the past games, you might want to try one of the earlier games first so you know what to expect, rather than comparing this to another zombie action game. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2016
    9
    I recommend this game only for YAKUZA's (Ryu Ga Gotoku) series , anyhow its very great game
    the story is amazing and the long of game is
    I recommend this game only for YAKUZA's (Ryu Ga Gotoku) series , anyhow its very great game
    the story is amazing and the long of game is great too and there're many good things to do
    the only bad thing is dropping frams while playing
    Expand
  4. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    I beat this game twice already. The game is huge,you will def get your moneys worth that's for sure. It's a spin off and also the end of theI beat this game twice already. The game is huge,you will def get your moneys worth that's for sure. It's a spin off and also the end of the Tokyo location and game engine..Hence the title "of the end". Part 5 is being developed as we speak with tons of work to be done considering they are making a whole new engine. Now I won't go into heavy detail as I did with my Yakuza 4 review, but give my pros and cons.

    Pros:

    Storyline- Can never say more than enough for a STELLAR storyline.. you will not find better from any series including cutscenes.
    Characters- The loan Shark,Dragon of Kansai and Majima join Kazuma into gunning hordes of zombies popping heads like it's going out of style. Can't ask for a better team.
    Graphics- Same as 4,same engine..Love it or hate it, it works.
    Mini games- Are all here..Whether you like to bowl, play slots,arcades,cards,mahjong,hostess bars,batting cages,karaoke,massage parlors tell me when to stop..And many many side missions for each character(One example is saving store fronts and reopening businesses).
    When complete you can have the option to travel around a normal town or apocalyptic town with zombies.

    Cons:

    Sadly the controls are a little problematic at first,but as you play you will be popping heads with a hostess in no time.
    Some Framerate issues at times.

    Overall it's a great end to this engine and the Tokyo location. I hope when 5 is complete they bring it to the West. Sadly other reviewers will sway hordes of people from even touching the series. Thank you Sega for supporting your fans.
    Expand
  5. Apr 16, 2014
    8
    I feel the need to defend this game as it seems it has been getting a bad rap. Don't get me wrong its far from perfect I am not claiming itI feel the need to defend this game as it seems it has been getting a bad rap. Don't get me wrong its far from perfect I am not claiming it is. Its my first time playing a yakuza gane and im glad I picked it up. There are 4 playable characters split into chapters for each with a few crossovers. All the characters have unique outlandish personalities that are very different which I love. The game play is pretty straightforward, shoot and kill zombies. There are special types of zombies, boss zombies and your normal run of the mill zombies. The gameplay reminds me of dead rising which is a plus in my books. If you care about graphics you will be disappointed they are solid and take nothing away from the game but aren't superb and that bothers me not one bit. The storyline is great and engaging and isn't just kill everyone done there is more depth than that. There are loads of side missions and mini games which boost the gameplay time a lot. You can upgrade your characters and abilities by using souls which further your arsenal and attacks and things such as inventory space and aim. Theres also exploring to be done ala gta which isn't in depth like gta but done very well. There's manual aim aswell as what I use the most which is strafing which lacks aim but increases kill rate. I will definitely be picking up the other games in the series and petioning them to release yakuza 5 in europe. Cant wait to finish this game and find out the full plot! Expand
  6. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    Had the good fortune of finding a cheap import retailer and I've been waiting to share my opinion. Dead souls does nothing in spectacularHad the good fortune of finding a cheap import retailer and I've been waiting to share my opinion. Dead souls does nothing in spectacular fashion, it belittles the series I have come to know and love, it makes no sense, the concept is basic and bare boned and the design is hardly inspired. That said, there is something about Dead Souls that makes it one of the most enjoyable entries in the series. Should you buy it at full price? Hell no! Trust me when I say this will be in all good bargain bins by the time Winter rolls in, and at a discount or rental price Dead Souls can turn out to be money well invested. Expand
  7. Mar 18, 2012
    1
    This game sucks. My girlfriend asks me "why are the graphics so terrible?""Bad engine I guess, they most probably just concentrated on theThis game sucks. My girlfriend asks me "why are the graphics so terrible?""Bad engine I guess, they most probably just concentrated on the characters and not the backgrounds. The manual aim system is terrible "You look like me trying to play that game"-girlfriend, you every five levels upgrade a single weapon. The slight noises characters make are so annoying and you cannot skip cut scenes, this is a zombie game I do not need to see a montage of pictures of people I met the previous level, I believe I can remember them. Poor camera angles. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME at any price seriously it is terrible unless you like Yakuza 4 or you want to take a trip back in time to when video games where terrible. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews