Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Watch Now
Buy on
  1. Feb 24, 2017
    85
    Batman: The Telltale Series started strong and ended the same way, and with many characters’ fates left undecided and new characters appearing in the final act, a second season seems inevitable — I look forward to it.
  2. Dec 29, 2016
    80
    Perhaps Batman: The Telltale Series’ greatest flaw is inconsistency; playing each episode separately can make some of the weaknesses of the lesser episodes, like technical issues and poor pacing, more apparent in a way that most other Telltale series do not suffer from. But, for players who can dive into the full series all at once, Telltale’s Batman easily stands strong as one of the Dark Knight’s greatest video game outings, providing a gripping tale that clearly separates itself from a standard Batman affair.
  3. Feb 7, 2017
    70
    With so many Dark Knight adventures in our movies, TV, comics, and video games, you have to do something special to stand out. In the first few episodes, it looked like Batman: The Telltale Series might actually bottle lightning and create something excellent. But as the finale rolls in, it series fails to separate itself from the many Batman outings we’ve already experienced elsewhere.
  4. Jan 17, 2017
    70
    Batman - The Telltale Series is a good game with one of the best Batman stories in a good while. Telltale takes huge risks with the Batman universe, and thus makes the game an engaging and exciting experience.
  5. 70
    One of the most enjoyable romps through Gotham in years.
  6. Jan 9, 2017
    70
    Telltale keeps making the same mistakes as usual, with technical issues that burden the overall experience. Even so, this Batman is interesting enough to keep you playing for the whole five chapters where Bruce Wayne gains the spotlight he didn't have outside comics.
  7. Dec 21, 2016
    70
    Telltale Games’s take on the Dark Knight is a much-needed step forward in terms of placing gamers in Batman’s boots.
  8. Dec 21, 2016
    70
    Fresh, agile action is what Batman, the new series of Telltale game is about. Fantastic OST and Troy Baker as Bruce. Telltale needs to take care of some issues with the coding of their games so they can be perfect.
  9. Dec 16, 2016
    70
    Telltale's Batman is quite an attempt at refreshing this sub-genre - I had fun and was surprised a couple of times. Unfortunately, the thing that was lacking were strong emotions. Also, the technical side leaves a lot to be desired. This Batman has everything in the right places but that doesn't translate into something truly inspired.
  10. Jan 3, 2017
    60
    The bigger a Batman fan you are, the less you’re likely to enjoy Telltale’s take on The Dark Knight. Combined with the obvious age Telltale’s engine is showing, this simply isn’t their best effort.
  11. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 19, 2017
    50
    An underwhelming Batman game, but a great Bruce Wayne one. A satisfying counterpart to Rocksteady's Arkham games, but it won't win over Telltale naysayers. [Feb 2017, p.93]
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 320 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 34 out of 320
  1. Dec 19, 2016
    10
    Really enjoyed it. Was like experiencing a Batman comic through a different narrative.
    Story was interesting, enjoyed the characters, didn't
    Really enjoyed it. Was like experiencing a Batman comic through a different narrative.
    Story was interesting, enjoyed the characters, didn't appreciate telltales unique take on the characters design at first but I have got to admit, It grew on me while playing the game.

    Good game, recommend getting it on sale since it doesn't have much of a replay value.
    Full Review »
  2. Dec 14, 2016
    5
    Simply put I just was not feeling this game. So, I've never been a big Batman fan. I liked him when I was a kid but who didn't? I appreciateSimply put I just was not feeling this game. So, I've never been a big Batman fan. I liked him when I was a kid but who didn't? I appreciate that they put their own spin on the universe instead of retreading what was done before but I couldn't get into it. There was promise here and there with some of the villains (not going to give away who) but I was left feeling disappointed. It just felt like a bland tv show. They tried to do this "detective" mini game where you analyze environmental clues and connect them but they weren't puzzles so much as a way to make you feel like you are piecing it together but really it's just straightforward. Full Review »
  3. Sep 11, 2017
    8
    Batman, the Telltale series is purely based on its vigorous story telling, as you delve deeper into the mind of the masked crusader, you areBatman, the Telltale series is purely based on its vigorous story telling, as you delve deeper into the mind of the masked crusader, you are contrived to make decisions that tailor Bruce Wayne's life, this not only touches his life but it has an overarching effect on the whole Batman story, but also the other characters involved within Gotham City. With its comic book style artwork and its character interaction Batman, the Telltale series provides a fully immersive experience. Full Review »