Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 12, 2018
    85
    Blasters of the Universe is an Virtual Reality homage to the almost forgotten shmup genre. It reinvigorates the genre with panache however and the game provides an insane amount of replayability if you're willing to put time and effort into it. And get ready to break a sweat since playing this game on Hell mode will seriously wear you out. A great first title from developer The Secret Location and we want more.
  2. Mar 7, 2018
    82
    Despite the lack of variety, I have to recommend Blasters of the Universe. Its addictive mix of shooting action and immersive gameplay make this a worthy addition to anyone’s VR library.
  3. Apr 9, 2018
    80
    You will see all that Blasters of the Universe has to offer within an hour, but unlike many PSVR shooters there’s tonnes of replayability and it works really well as a party game if you have friends round. You’re going to need more space to play than most PSVR games, and also more stamina, as dodging, ducking, and flinging your arms in all directions really gives you a work out. Like the best arcade games it has a simple but addictive gameplay mechanic and is one of the best PSVR shooters to date.
  4. Mar 20, 2018
    80
    With its fun visuals, finely tuned difficulty, and inherent physicality, Blasters of the Universe stands out in the crowd of VR wave shooters. While a late-game bug was disappointing, I still had a great time and plan on returning to it. Bugs can be patched, and game design this strong doesn’t come knocking every day.
  5. Mar 20, 2018
    80
    Although it’s a bit short with only four levels, two difficulties, a weekly challenge, and an online score attack leaderboard, it’s right in line with what I’ve come to expect from an arcade-style title, and in its favor, it’s a rather refreshing take on the ‘shooting gallery’ genre that is quickly becoming stale among VR offerings.
  6. Mar 7, 2018
    80
    Blasters of the Universe is a diamond in the rough that is worth owning.
  7. Mar 6, 2018
    80
    The crafting; the action; the cheeky dialogue — it’s all wrapped into a package that adds another great piece to the PSVR catalogue.
  8. Feb 27, 2018
    80
    A short running time doesn’t stop Blasters of the Universe from being one of VR’s most delightful wave shooters. The hectic bullet-dodging action hurls you into a deadly ballet that feels fun far more often than it is frustrating. This is a finely-tuned and charming game that stands out from the sea of survival shooters out there right now.
  9. Mar 7, 2018
    75
    At first glance just another shooting gallery, the clever inclusion of bullet hell elements and the weapon smithing make this an interesting, yet short VR action game.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Mar 4, 2018
    10
    Don't let the look of it fool you this is not a gallery shooter, it's on par with games like NexMachina and the top tier bullet hell games butDon't let the look of it fool you this is not a gallery shooter, it's on par with games like NexMachina and the top tier bullet hell games but it's in VR. I think it might be the best tracking currently on PSVR, litterally no issue even when positioning the moves over the the headset. It's a standing game and fairly active so that should be taken into account, it got sweaty for me and had to pause and my face a few times but the was easily over ridden by a desire to keep playing. Weapon modding is a thing too and from the looks of it every aspect of the, i think 7 guns, can be mixed and matched with a **** ton of different ammo, mods, aiming devices and sheilds. The "production value" is incredible, can't believe this released at the price it did, everything feels solid AF and the graphics and 3d effect are top tier. It'll largely come down to whether or not you're willing to do the standing and weaving which can get really hectic even on casual. EDIT after 8-10 hours of gameplay: This has topped rush of blood and any other game of these genres in VR, perhaps even outside of VR, I haven't had this much pure clean fun in a game in years. Absolutely the most under rated game to release this year. Full Review »
  2. Mar 13, 2018
    10
    A bullet hell completely perfect for VR. Amazing graphics, perfect immersion and spetacular gameplay and replayability.
  3. Jun 4, 2018
    10
    Unique and very well made. When I heard it was essentially a VR bullet hell I turned it down immediately but after finally playing it I amUnique and very well made. When I heard it was essentially a VR bullet hell I turned it down immediately but after finally playing it I am upset that I didn't earlier. Dodging and shooting in a 80's sci-fi aesthetic complete with a great soundtrack has been a blast. On the technical side I had no issues with the game at all. I played the game to completion and am currently replaying it. Full Review »