Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Oct 9, 2020
    80
    If you loved Crysis once and want to revisit it, but in the best possible conditions, this is a golden opportunity. Possibly one of the best FPS that you will find on consoles if we are talking about games that marked a before and after in its original moment of launch.
  2. 80
    Crysis Remastered is a fine redux of a 2007 game. A little clunky mechanically but otherwise a fun romp.
  3. Oct 1, 2020
    72
    Crysis Remastered has issues like texture pop-ins and getting stuck under jetties. However, its graphical overhaul makes it like a flower with thorns - prickly but beautiful.
  4. Oct 8, 2020
    70
    There is no doubt that Crysis was a landmark game in the history of first person shooters and some gamers had to take a pass at the time due to its high system specs. Much of what made Crysis fun and innovative still holds up, but it is disappointing that the Remaster does little more than selectively improve the visuals and make relatively minor changes to the controls. Crysis was amazing in 2006 and all shooter fans should play it at least once, but Crysis Remastered is hardly an essential purchase for shooter fans in 2020.
  5. Sep 21, 2020
    70
    Crysis Remastered is more of a capsule from a simpler time of the first-person shooting genre. Playing is undoubtedly fun because of the various things that players can do, with the inclusion of tight gunplay and engaging missions. However, I can’t help but wish for a complete remake because the age of this adventure holds it back from being anything more than a way for us to show our kids the terrible mechanics and AI that we used to put up with.
  6. Sep 21, 2020
    70
    Crysis Remastered is available on PlayStation 4 and is still fun. But technically speaking it's not a miracle.
  7. Sep 23, 2020
    67
    Crysis Remastered is a product that fails to fully express its potential, to bring back what is undoubtedly a real legend in the world of video games.
  8. Sep 29, 2020
    65
    Long heralded as the pinnacle of graphical performance, the Remastering of Crysis leaves much to be desired with a style of combat and fidelity that can’t quite match its contemporaries on PlayStation and Xbox.
  9. 60
    While many a fan of the franchise hopes Crysis 2 and 3 rereleases are also on the cards, this particular outing doesn’t inspire much confidence that those two games will receive the love and care they deserve.
  10. 60
    Crysis Remastered is still the same game you remember, but for the most part, this remaster doesn't sufficiently improve the game's visuals enough. The lighting can look good, but dated textures and gameplay, poor AI, and a number of bugs and glitches hold this remaster back. Crysis Remastered is only worth checking out if you haven't experienced the game yet.
  11. Sep 26, 2020
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Oct 5, 2020
    59
    Cost and access aside, having played both this remaster on PS4 Pro and the original on PC, there is not a clearly compelling reason for me to recommend jumping to the remaster. With some patching, perhaps this release could get a nanosuit-like boost in value, but as is, it’s too rough to earnestly recommend.
  13. Sep 19, 2020
    55
    The framerate drops regularly on classic consoles while the Pro versions never reach 60 fps, even in Performance mode.
  14. Sep 24, 2020
    50
    The shooting still feels decent, particularly when playing with a higher framerate, but the time to kill on even basic soldiers feels ludicrously high. And the “stealth” mechanics are miserable to fight with. You can be unmoving and invisible 50 metres from an enemy, and every now and again the game just decides they see you anyways. It’s impossible to actually rely on stealth for anything other than emergencies. Juggling all the powers of your suit as well as energy consumption remains a bright point, though. Do you want to get somewhere faster or in better health? These split-second decisions were great then, and they are still.
  15. Sep 29, 2020
    40
    What could have served as a reminder to how good it once was, Crysis Remastered is instead a broken mess that needed a lot longer in the oven. Terrible AI and awful graphical glitches just suck any semblance of fun out of this.
  16. Sep 27, 2020
    40
    Crysis Remastered is a lackluster update that, while it does manage to do some good for the aging game's graphics, doesn't do anything for the incredibly outdated gameplay, AI and story.
  17. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2020
    30
    If you never got the chance to experience the original when it came to PS3 and want to pick this up out of curiosity, it’s probably best to avoid it – it’s outright damaging to the legacy of Crysis. [Issue#181, p.88]
User Score
4.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 62 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 62
  2. Negative: 35 out of 62
  1. Sep 22, 2020
    1
    The game visually is hard to look at. The hit detection is so bad I can't tell if I'm even hitting my target. stealth doesn't work and theThe game visually is hard to look at. The hit detection is so bad I can't tell if I'm even hitting my target. stealth doesn't work and the frames holy **** the frames are so bad. The original crysis back in the day was far superior. I would not recommend the remastered version of this game. Full Review »
  2. Sep 20, 2020
    4
    Regretful Purchase...

    Only having played a demo of the original Crysis on PC way back in the day, I was excited for this PS4 remaster.
    Regretful Purchase...

    Only having played a demo of the original Crysis on PC way back in the day, I was excited for this PS4 remaster.

    Having played a few hours of the campaign , I’m so disappointed to the point I wish I could get a refund. One of the biggest issues I have with this title on my PS4 console is the frame rate. It’s just all over the place and dips well below 30fps regularly making aiming and lining up shots extremely frustrating . Then there’s the bugs. Constant issues with AI completely pull you out of the experience and there are numerous graphical and technical issues that leave this game feeling completely unpolished . I really hope they can patch this up and make this more playable, because as it stands, this is not worth buying or playing.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2020
    2
    An absolute bag of **** Ray tracing doesn't work, you end up with landscapes flickering with bright red blocks, or the screen displays aAn absolute bag of **** Ray tracing doesn't work, you end up with landscapes flickering with bright red blocks, or the screen displays a blurred image, with a central clear block. Or both! Crashes to main PS4 screen if you attempt to change settings in game. Poor graphics overall. AAnd a complet waste of £25. Full Review »